Switch Theme:

1inch rule, rotate and tank shock.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in is
Guardsman with Flashlight



Reykjavik

The enemy is 1 inch from the tank, which is longer than it is wide, meaning for it to rotate behind the barricade it would touch the enemy. Can the tank rotate and move to tank shock or is it trapped?

This just happened to me in a game, where I wanted to tank shock a single enemy model away from the objective. We couldn't agree on a resolution so just rolled for it, but i'm curious to know what should have happened.

Here's a picture of the scenario.


(bottom of this picture is the table edge)
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Considering you are supposed to pivot on the center point, I'm not entirely sure how you got the tank into that exact position to begin with.

The only way I can imagine is if the objective wasn't impassible and you rolled over it coming from the left of the image.

Regardless, assuming you somehow got there, I can't see how you could pivot the tank to face the enemy without coming into contact with both the building and barricade.

I'd say that what you wanted to do wasn't possible.

---

Now, let's assume that the building and barricade weren't blocking you from performing an actual pivot. The unit 1" away *might* stop you. It depends on what happened before. If the unit had assaulted you in the previous turn, then you could pivot and push them out of the way. (assaulting vehicle rules).

However, if they didn't assault you and instead just stopped 1" away, then the pivot is blocked (normal vehicle movement rules) and the TS can't proceed.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/02/05 02:06:48


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I agree, looks like you're stuck there except to move straight forward. No tank shock for you.
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake





However, pivoting does not count as movement, so that does throw a monkey wrench in there. I doubt that your drawing is to scale, but it looks like you could aim it diagonal to the building and barricade and still not touch the enemy model, and still be 1" away from the enemy modela also, at which point you could declare your tank shock and still be perfectly legal.

Also, just as a side note, unless you and your opponent had declared that vehicles couldn't drive through the barricade, then you would simply take a DT test if you did start your movement within it before the tank shock.

Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs

Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.


And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: