Switch Theme:

Necron Royal court in dawn of war  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





ok so the codex says that a court does not take up an hq slot. so can they be deployed in DoW missions? do they count as the 1 hq? what if an hq ic joins them?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

The royal court still counts as an HQ choice, they just don't use a slot. Slots are irrelevant when it comes to Dawn of War.
   
Made in us
Nervous Accuser






Slots are irrelevant when it comes to Dawn of War

Except when it IG platoons.
Otherwise yea, only one "unit".
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

MasterSlowPoke wrote:The royal court still counts as an HQ choice, they just don't use a slot. Slots are irrelevant when it comes to Dawn of War.


Just to be absolutely clear "choices" (as pertaining to the FOC) are irrelevant when it comes to Dawn of War. The only term that is relevant is 'unit'. One unit from the HQ category and two units from the troops category. Special rules concerning multiple units and slots may apply (IG).

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

So let's say I have 5 units of warrior, an RC with 5 lords, and an overlord.My legal choices for DoW deployment include...

2 squads of warriors
2 squads of warriors, each with a lord
2 squads of warriors, each with a lord, plus a squad of 3 lords

correct?

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in nl
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





The Netherlands

foolishmortal wrote:So let's say I have 5 units of warrior, an RC with 5 lords, and an overlord.My legal choices for DoW deployment include...

2 squads of warriors
2 squads of warriors, each with a lord
2 squads of warriors, each with a lord, plus a squad of 3 lords

correct?

Yes, but in addition:
2 squads of warriors with or without lord, with or without Overlord
1 squad of warriors with or without lord, with or without Overlord
1 squad of 0-5 lords
Nothing at all

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/06 11:45:12


 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Nevermind me, I am just being stupid.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/02/08 15:51:24


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

leohart wrote:
Besides, once the lords are deployed, they are IC and thus counted as a unit from HQ. You cannot then deploy two lords.


When the lord is deployed with a warrior unit, it becomes a part of that unit, so the combined unit still counts as a troop choice.

The lord is a character and nothing in the rules ever makes it an independent character, so far.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Thanks time wizard, I was looking up but you ninja-ed corrected me anyway.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: