Switch Theme:

Empire Sword of Justice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Wizard with SoJ may reroll wounds on spells
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight




Heard something about Empire wizards carrying the Sword of Justice being able to reroll wounds on all oftheir spells. RAW supports this technically (item description simply says "Model may reroll failed wounds", not "Model may reroll failed hits in close combat"), but it just doesn't seem right to me. I don't want to use it, and have people argue with me down the road and waste 20 pts on it.

Also would this work with hex spells that trigger damage later in the game (net of amontyk, flame cage)?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/06 04:25:23







 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut





Wow....sounds legit, if a bit unintended. I personally wouldn't use it as I think a few peeps might argue about it and even if you won they'd be thinking TFG in the back of their minds. I wouldn't mind playing you with it though...nice loophole anyways.

Don't believe what everone says, I am really a Brainboy who survived the weed wipeout and now I go on secret missions for Tzeench I can also control your mind. (jokes)

Quote by Puma713:
Just because I'd like to make termagants doesn't give me permission to.

You could have a unit of 9 tacticals that are flipping off the enemy with both hands, they still have a bolt pistol and bolt gun.  
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer






Jeeze this would make a lvl 1 of fire pretty sweet, Earthing rod, Sword of Justice.

3000
4000 Deamons - Mainly a fantasy army now.
Tomb Kings-2500 Escalation League for 2012

href="http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/311987.page ">Painting and Modeling Blog
 
   
Made in gb
Powerful Chaos Warrior



Reading, UK

i voted no because thats just cheesy, even if it is justified!

ULTRAMARINES LIVE LONGER WITH CALGAR!

Blood Angels-2000pts
Tau-1000pts
Empre: 2400pts
Warriors of Chaos: 2000pts

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I've heard of a bunch of empire generals who do this. Nothing in the rules or faq says that you can't, but that doesn't mean that you should. RAW vs. RAI in it's purest form.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Technically: Yes

However in a tournament I'd rule that they couldnt, following the intent of the errata in the WoC army book:

Page 113 – Rending Sword
Change to “The bearer may re-roll failed To Wound rolls in close combat.”
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced Inquisitorial Acolyte




Rudra34 wrote:I've heard of a bunch of empire generals who do this. Nothing in the rules or faq says that you can't, but that doesn't mean that you should. RAW vs. RAI in it's purest form.


interesting thought....

the RAI argument is a very grey area/personal interpretation way of debating.... i can easily argue they intended to allow this for example....


the empire book has had several huge updates in the erratas, to the point that you kind of HAVE to use it or the book does not play as it should in current fantasy....

despite updating the WoC errata to alter this, gw decided not to update the empire one...





i voted yes because the rules allow it


   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: