Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/09 01:37:43
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
The Master-Crafted entry in the Space Marine Codex uses the wording: "re-roll one failed roll to hit per player turn.."
Brother Corbulo's Far Seeing Eye from the Blood Angels Codex uses the wording: "Corbulo allows you a single re-roll once per game. This can be any roll you have made, such as for an armor save, a Leadership test, a To Hit Roll, a Scatter roll, or even to seize the initiative."
So does anyone think "Single re-roll" is different from "re-roll one roll"?
It seems pretty unanimous that Master-Crafted allows only one actual dice to be re-rolled. Otherwise the "per player turn" bit would be unnecessary. If there is no difference then that would mean that when re-rolling a Leadership test with Corbulo, you would only be able to re-roll one of the dice. It seems pretty clear though, that their intention was for you to re-roll both dice. In the case of armor saves, would you only get to re-roll for one squad member?
What do you think? Has there been an answer to this already?
Ps: I know the difference between dice and die. I'm just trying to keep it simple as many people aren't familiar with the latter term.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/09 01:39:46
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
If you're rerolling a Leadership test, you must reroll both dice. Page 3 (I think) in the rules under rerolls.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/09 01:43:37
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
The single re-roll would be multiple dice if its a test that requires you to roll multiple dice(like the ones in the example) or a single die for a test that requires only a single die roll(armor save, initiative, invuln save, to hit roll).
For tests that require multiple dice you have to re-roll all or none.
In your armor save one, you could only re-roll for one member for one wound.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/09 01:47:06
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Your right. I don't think this "explicitly states otherwise".
I like TheAvengingKnee's logic. Keeps it simple.
Another example is in Blast Weapons in the rulebook. It clearly states that when re-rolling for scatter, you have to re-roll both the 2d6 and the scatter dice.
Thanks guys!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/09 01:53:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/09 01:50:38
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It allows one failed to hit to be re-rolled. That's one failed to hit roll, not the whole group of failed to hit rolls.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/14 19:14:20
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
|
I've been thinking about Corbulo's reroll in respect to reserve rolls. I have traditionally rolled them one at a time, but have seen some players designate each die per unit like when you roll power weapons along with regular weapons, but use different dice. Well if one of my reserves fails to come it, can I just reroll that one die? Or should I roll each reserve roll one at a time?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/14 19:23:58
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Madrid
|
Kavish wrote:The Master-Crafted entry in the Space Marine Codex uses the wording: "re-roll one failed roll to hit per player turn.."
Brother Corbulo's Far Seeing Eye from the Blood Angels Codex uses the wording: "Corbulo allows you a single re-roll once per game. This can be any roll you have made, such as for an armor save, a Leadership test, a To Hit Roll, a Scatter roll, or even to seize the initiative."
So does anyone think "Single re-roll" is different from "re-roll one roll"?
It seems pretty unanimous that Master-Crafted allows only one actual dice to be re-rolled. Otherwise the "per player turn" bit would be unnecessary. If there is no difference then that would mean that when re-rolling a Leadership test with Corbulo, you would only be able to re-roll one of the dice. It seems pretty clear though, that their intention was for you to re-roll both dice. In the case of armor saves, would you only get to re-roll for one squad member?
What do you think? Has there been an answer to this already?
Ps: I know the difference between dice and die. I'm just trying to keep it simple as many people aren't familiar with the latter term.
I think the key here is that it allows for "a single re-roll" and not "a single die re-roll", so for example, re-rolling a Ld test is 1 re-roll, because you are re-rolling the test, which happens to be of 2d6
|
5.000 2.000
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command, yet you still dare to oppose our will."
Never Forgive, Never Forget |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/14 19:24:59
Subject: "Single re-roll" vs "re-roll one roll". Difference? One dice or all?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
you can roll them all at the same time if you denote different units with different colored dice, or have some other way of marking which die is for which unit. If you decide to use Corbolo's re-roll, you only get to re-roll one units reserve roll, even if you rolled them as a batch, because each unit gets its own roll to arrive from reserve. So as long as it does not cause confusion, you can roll them all at once.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/14 19:26:08
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|