Switch Theme:

Disembark from a surrounded vehicle  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Vehicle is surrounded by enemy models. The vehicle is then wrecked. Since I am allowed to disembark up to 2" from the vehicle, I can just jump through the enemy and be exactly 1" from them.

Nowhere in the rulebook is disembarking a moving. Is this RAW?
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

From what I understand, as long as you're 2" from the vehicle and 1" away from an enemy, you should be good.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

No, you can't disembark through the enemy models. This is clarified in the Rulebook FAQ.

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The rulebook FAQ also clarifies that disembarking is movement, though that's pretty clear even just with the rulebook.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/13 06:01:07


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




It's easy to mistake the emergency disembarking "If any models cannot disembark because of enemies.." as providing an exception. When all it actually does is let the unit inside disembark without using an access point. So I think the FAQ is helpful.
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





AL

Just for reference, where does it say disembarking is moving?

   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

I don't think it does but page 5 (right column) of Rulebook FAQ answer this. Short answer is: NO, you are dead if the vehicle is Wrecked and you are surrounded.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

JBW wrote:Just for reference, where does it say disembarking is moving?


Well, there's the main rules FAQ:

Q: If a transport vehicle is completely surrounded can a
unit inside disembark by moving through the enemy
models? (p67)
A: No. Models that disembark are still subject to the
normal movement rules regarding moving through
other models as per page 11.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

don_mondo wrote:
JBW wrote:Just for reference, where does it say disembarking is moving?


Well, there's the main rules FAQ:

Q: If a transport vehicle is completely surrounded can a
unit inside disembark by moving through the enemy
models? (p67)
A: No. Models that disembark are still subject to the
normal movement rules regarding moving through
other models as per page 11.


Also, from memory, if you disembarked, don't you count has having moved for shooting (ie. may not use heavy weapons)?

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





AL

Thanks Tommy, I found it in there too.

If the vehicle has not yet moved, then the passengers may disembark and move normally. The vehicle can also then move normally. The disembarked models may shoot (counting as moving), and may assault as normal.

So the Emergency Disembark is more like treating the hull as an access point. Not the models 'jumping' from the top. LOL.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/13 17:16:23


   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Page 67, says that they may disembark and move normally.. The disembarked models may shoot counting as moving.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

JBW wrote:Thanks Tommy, I found it in there too.

If the vehicle has not yet moved, then the passengers may disembark and move normally. The vehicle can also then move normally. The disembarked models may shoot (counting as moving), and may assault as normal.

So the Emergency Disembark is more like treating the hull as an access point. Not the models 'jumping' from the top. LOL.


We should both probably be working.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





AL

puma713 wrote:
JBW wrote:Thanks Tommy, I found it in there too.

If the vehicle has not yet moved, then the passengers may disembark and move normally. The vehicle can also then move normally. The disembarked models may shoot (counting as moving), and may assault as normal.

So the Emergency Disembark is more like treating the hull as an access point. Not the models 'jumping' from the top. LOL.


We should both probably be working.


Yes. Yes we should! LOL.

   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Emergency disembarkation allow you to get out from the hull. A wrecked Stormraven will land thus giving its wings as space for the guys inside to pop out. This is just shenanigan.
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





AL

leohart wrote:Emergency disembarkation allow you to get out from the hull. A wrecked Stormraven will land thus giving its wings as space for the guys inside to pop out. This is just shenanigan.


I was under the impression that the vehicle becomes a wreck after you get out. Wouldn't the surrounded base of a SR be enough?

   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

JBW wrote:
leohart wrote:Emergency disembarkation allow you to get out from the hull. A wrecked Stormraven will land thus giving its wings as space for the guys inside to pop out. This is just shenanigan.


I was under the impression that the vehicle becomes a wreck after you get out. Wouldn't the surrounded base of a SR be enough?


You're right. Disembarking is measured to and from the base. You disembark, then you're a wreck. That's why this works:

Games Workshop wrote:
Q: If a skimmer on a large oval flying base is wrecked,
and its base is completely surrounded by enemy
models, are all embarked models killed? (p71)

A: Yes.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





AL


   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

This is one of those cases when I would love to roll a 5 instead of a 6 on the vehicle damage chart.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: