Switch Theme:

gloom prisms and force weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Do gloom prisms work on force weapons, as its a psychic attack?

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Normal FW - yes, as you are targetting a Necron unit

NFW - technically no, as you are changing their weapon to being an ID causing one and, from memory, you have to target a necron unit to trigger this.
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

nosferatu1001 wrote:Normal FW - yes, as you are targetting a Necron unit

NFW - technically no, as you are changing their weapon to being an ID causing one and, from memory, you have to target a necron unit to trigger this.


ok, thanks.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




nosferatu1001 wrote:Normal FW - yes, as you are targetting a Necron unit

NFW - technically no, as you are changing their weapon to being an ID causing one and, from memory, you have to target a necron unit to trigger this.


Why are the two different? NFW and regular force weapons work in exactly the same way, don't they?

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




NFW is the same as FW, it's the psychic chior rule where they all cast as one and then the unsaved wounds count as ID. That gets iffy. But if an independant character with an NFW uses it, it is the same as a normal force weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/14 21:07:02


 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

nosferatu1001 wrote:

NFW - technically no, as you are changing their weapon to being an ID causing one and, from memory, you have to target a necron unit to trigger this.


Isn't hitting someone in CC the same as targetting though? You have to choose who to hit, make rolls and so on.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






The difference works like this:

Normal Force Weapon: A model suffers an unsaved wound from this weapon. The psyker is then permitted to target the wounded model with the psychic power (inherent to the force weapon) that causes Instant Death.

Nemesis Force Weapons (except when used by ICs): A model in the enemy unit suffers an unsaved wound from one of these weapons in the attacking unit. The entire unit, per Brotherhood of Psykers, then takes a psychic test. All wounds they cause in this phase with Nemesis Force Weapons cause Instant Death, including all wounds they just caused.

In the first scenario, the psyker targets the model that suffered the wound, and inflicts ID on it. In the second scenario, the psyker adds an effect to its weapons, but may only do so if an enemy model suffered an unsaved wound from one such weapon. Slightly different, but by RAW, a gloom prison (or similar effect - like the Aegis) will only work against normal force weapons or NFWs activated by Independent Characters.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Xca|iber wrote:The difference works like this:

Normal Force Weapon: A model suffers an unsaved wound from this weapon. The psyker is then permitted to target the wounded model with the psychic power (inherent to the force weapon) that causes Instant Death.

Nemesis Force Weapons (except when used by ICs): A model in the enemy unit suffers an unsaved wound from one of these weapons in the attacking unit. The entire unit, per Brotherhood of Psykers, then takes a psychic test. All wounds they cause in this phase with Nemesis Force Weapons cause Instant Death, including all wounds they just caused.

In the first scenario, the psyker targets the model that suffered the wound, and inflicts ID on it. In the second scenario, the psyker adds an effect to its weapons, but may only do so if an enemy model suffered an unsaved wound from one such weapon. Slightly different, but by RAW, a gloom prison (or similar effect - like the Aegis) will only work against normal force weapons or NFWs activated by Independent Characters.


Oh I see. Well, that's a bit buggy.
OK, what about Jaws of the Wolf? Does that target, or is it a line?

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The FAQ states that the first unit touched is the target for Jaws

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

rigeld2 wrote:The FAQ states that the first unit touched is the target for Jaws


what about subsequent hits?

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

They are affected without being targeted.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Shepherd





JoWW is treated like a line template like blood lance.

The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

BeRzErKeR wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Normal FW - yes, as you are targetting a Necron unit

NFW - technically no, as you are changing their weapon to being an ID causing one and, from memory, you have to target a necron unit to trigger this.


Why are the two different? NFW and regular force weapons work in exactly the same way, don't they?


no, they are completely different.


Force Weapons work by making a SINGLE attack cause Instant Death.

Nemisis Force Weapons work by making the entire unit's attacks cause ID.



And the Force Weapon psychic power in both cases is targeting the model with the Force Weapon. It isn't directly effecting the model getting hit by the attacks.

Its just like if a Psychic power gave them +1Str(like Hammerhand), you couldn't use the Gloom Prism there, Force Weapon psychic activation isn't any different.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Draigo wrote:JoWW is treated like a line template attack that has nothing to do with templates, like blood lance.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
Grey Templar wrote:And the Force Weapon psychic power in both cases is targeting the model with the Force Weapon. It isn't directly effecting the model getting hit by the attacks.
No.

"The psyker may then take a Psychic test to use the weapon's power against any one opponent that suffered a wound"

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/14 22:26:29


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: