Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 17:00:51
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This may be a very basic question. In Dawn of War deployment, can Spyders make Scarabs on the turn 1? Or, more generally, can one arrive from reserve, and then immediately create a Scarab base?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 17:20:52
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
They arrive after the start of movement phase. If it says start I movement phase, then no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 17:25:07
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It does say that. So, everything "at the start of the movement phase" does not work after arriving from reserves? Another example would be Monolith's Dimensional Corridor.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 18:39:27
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Yes
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 18:43:20
Subject: Re:Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
And this should be in You make the call.
And no, as its at the start of the movement phase, and they are not on the table then.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 05:38:02
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
This is along the same line of librarian psychic powers wherein he has to use it at the start of his turn. Since he can do that, I think the spyder can. However, isn't there a limit on where the scarab can be (2" from the spyder)?
That might preclude it from making scarabs since the spyder won't be on the tablet yet to measure 2" from.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 05:39:45
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Librarians can't use "start of the turn" powers the turn they arrive from Reserve either. Neither can Farseers.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 06:20:11
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Sigh. Bye bye Null Zone in Outflanking Land Raider. Can I have the page number regarding this "inability" please?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/20 06:20:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 06:23:10
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
40k 5th ed BRB update 1.5 page 8
"Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that
occurs at the start of a turn can they use that ability on
the turn they arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise."
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 07:08:04
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 12:29:44
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
leohart wrote:Sigh. Bye bye Null Zone in Outflanking Land Raider.
Null Zone is cast in the shooting phase, isn't it?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/20 12:29:58
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 12:50:42
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That FAQ mentions start of the turn, not start of the movement phase.
After boiling it down to generic question about reserves, I actually found another thread where it is discussed, and the rough summary there is "it is not defined in any clear way".
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/416248.page
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/20 12:51:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 12:56:31
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
Gnawer wrote:That FAQ mentions start of the turn, not start of the movement phase.
After boiling it down to generic question about reserves, I actually found another thread where it is discussed, and the rough summary there is "it is not defined in any clear way".
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/416248.page
Start of the turn is the start of the movement phase.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 13:02:25
Subject: Canoptek Spyders in Dawn of War deployment
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This argument was also made in the thread I mentioned. Here is the post I found most interesting.
time wizard wrote:How many "starts" or "beginnings" of the Movement phase are there?
Page 94 says that at the start of the movement phase, before moving any unit, you must roll for each unit in reserve. So no option there.
So the first action you have to take is to roll for reserves. You can't bring in a unit througgh the portal because you must first roll for reserves.
Except the dimensional corridor rule says you can use this ability to phase out a unit, even one if reserve, and 'disembark' them from the portal.
The question that needs to be answered is, "Does either phasing out or disembarking from a transport qualify as movement?"
If yes, then neither of these actions can be taken until after all reserves have been rolled for.
After the reserves are rolled for, any that have arrived must be deployed and moved onto the table.
Surely moving onto the table qualifies as movement so we are now no longer "at the start of the Movement phase" because we have now begun moving units.
But the reserve roll goes on to say that after all the arriving units are on the table that "The player may then proceed to move his other units as normal."
What does move the rest as normal mean?
Is this now the "start" of the Movement phase?
How many "starts" is the Movement phase allowed?
This is why I said that a clarification is in order on this issue.
It is confusing to try to figure out which start of the Movement phase is supposed to occur first, or if the occurrence of one action negates the ability to perform the other action.
I really don't think it is as cut and dried as some posters believe.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/20 13:03:04
|
|
 |
 |
|