Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 04:50:52
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Rending:
on a wound role of 6 no armour save can be taken. against vehicles an extra d3 for armour pen. correct?
snipers:
they have rending?
Ordance:
how is this different from 'large blast' apart from role 2 dice and pick the higest against vehicles.
Ordnance barrage:
is it just like ordnance but it pins?
thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 05:48:41
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
This might be better in YMDC, but
Rending: Yes. Snipers rend. They rend from S3 (So 3+6+D3 on a rending roll).
Ordnance: Ordnance isn't any kind of blast, without the Large Blast or Blast rule. Ordnance simply lets the result be rolled twice against vehicles, taking the highest.
Ordnance Barrage: It's just like a regular Barrage, but you roll 2d6 choose highest against vehicles.
|
Pit your chainsword against my chainsw- wait that's Heresy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 07:15:10
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
and does a regular barrage pin units?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 09:24:56
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Yes, all barrage weapons are pinning, ordnance or not.
Re. ordnance. I use this summary;
There are three different Ordnance characteristics with attending drawbacks.
A. The ability to roll two dice when penetrating armour and picking the highest, with the drawback of being disallowed to fire any other weapons.
B. Always using the large blast marker.
C. Gaining the option of firing indirectly (with an imposed Pinning Test at -1), with the drawbacks of having to remain stationary and not using BS to reduce scatter if target is out of LOS. Also cover saves is worked out from the center of the blast, not the direction of the firing unit.
"Ordnance" has A.
"Ordnance Blast" has A + B.
"Ordnance Barrage" has A + B + C.
All of this can be modified with specific exceptions.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 14:48:43
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Steelmage99 wrote:Yes, all barrage weapons are pinning, ordnance or not.
Re. ordnance. I use this summary;
There are three different Ordnance characteristics with attending drawbacks.
A. The ability to roll two dice when penetrating armour and picking the highest, with the drawback of being disallowed to fire any other weapons.
B. Always using the large blast marker.
C. Gaining the option of firing indirectly (with an imposed Pinning Test at -1), with the drawbacks of having to remain stationary and not using BS to reduce scatter if target is out of LOS. Also cover saves is worked out from the center of the blast, not the direction of the firing unit.
"Ordnance" has A.
"Ordnance Blast" has A + B.
"Ordnance Barrage" has A + B + C.
All of this can be modified with specific exceptions.
Small addendum to your otherwise great summary:
"B" should have the Caveat "unless otherwise specified".
It only comes up in Apoc of Imperial armour Allowed games, but both of those have some Ordnance weapons with Largwer than Large blasts(7"-10"); the IG Deathstrike missile has a Blast of a Random Radius(8"-12" diameter), it is entirely possible for an Ordnance weapon to specify "Small blast".
In all the above cases, if the rule was a Hard and Fast "always a Large blast marker" then a 10" apoc blast weapon(say a Baneblade's main cannon)would be much less destructive.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 16:42:20
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Also when firing both ordinance and ordinance barrage weapons a vehicle is not allowed to fire any other weapons. Also doesn't the BRB say that unless specified otherwise all ordinance weapons use the large blast?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/22 16:45:29
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 16:57:29
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
TheAvengingKnee wrote:Also doesn't the BRB say that unless specified otherwise all ordinance weapons use the large blast?
No. It says that if an Ordinance weapon uses blast, it is assumed to be the large blast unless otherwise specified.
But, if you just had an Ordinance weapon without blast listed at all, it's just a regular shot like a Lascannon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 17:19:55
Subject: Re:Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Off the top of my head, isn't there only 1 Ordnance non-blast weapon?
The Hellstrike or Hellfury missiles (whatever they're called) on Valkryies.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 18:17:22
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
One of the Leman Russ variants does (or did) have an Ordnance weapon that did not use a blast marker IIRC.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 19:02:36
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Kid_Kyoto
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Steelmage99 wrote:Yes, all barrage weapons are pinning, ordnance or not.
Re. ordnance. I use this summary;
There are three different Ordnance characteristics with attending drawbacks.
A. The ability to roll two dice when penetrating armour and picking the highest, with the drawback of being disallowed to fire any other weapons.
B. Always using the large blast marker.
C. Gaining the option of firing indirectly (with an imposed Pinning Test at -1), with the drawbacks of having to remain stationary and not using BS to reduce scatter if target is out of LOS. Also cover saves is worked out from the center of the blast, not the direction of the firing unit.
"Ordnance" has A.
"Ordnance Blast" has A + B.
"Ordnance Barrage" has A + B + C.
All of this can be modified with specific exceptions.
Small addendum to your otherwise great summary:
"B" should have the Caveat "unless otherwise specified".
It only comes up in Apoc of Imperial armour Allowed games, but both of those have some Ordnance weapons with Largwer than Large blasts(7"-10"); the IG Deathstrike missile has a Blast of a Random Radius(8"-12" diameter), it is entirely possible for an Ordnance weapon to specify "Small blast".
In all the above cases, if the rule was a Hard and Fast "always a Large blast marker" then a 10" apoc blast weapon(say a Baneblade's main cannon)would be much less destructive.
Ordinance Barrage also takes a side armor hit on vehicles.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 20:08:17
Subject: Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
daedalus wrote:Ordinance Barrage also takes a side armor hit on vehicles.
Only on a direct hit does Ordinance Barrage do this. I.E. if the center of the blast marker ends over the vehicles hull.
For Ordinance Barrage shots where the center of the blast marker ends outside the vehicle but part of the marker covers its hull, the vehicle is hit on the side facing the center of the blast marker, regardless of the position of the firer. ( BRB 60)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 20:11:00
Subject: Re:Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Kid_Kyoto
|
Good point, you're right.
I can't think of the last time I even bothered taking a not-direct-hit on a blast seriously though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 20:47:25
Subject: Re:Some rules i want clarified
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
daedalus wrote:Good point, you're right.
I can't think of the last time I even bothered taking a not-direct-hit on a blast seriously though.
It can happen with Str 10 ordnance that scatters off the back of a vehicle and hits rear armor (Or to the side of a chimera cause of AV10 on the side.)
But those situations are few and far between.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|