| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 18:52:49
Subject: Pit of Shades Casting Restrictions.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It's a direct damage spell, which by default have to be cast in your front arc. However, the spell text, after explaining the direct damage bit, also tells us "place the small round template ANYWHERE within 24 inches." Does the spell text override the general casting restrictions on direct damage spells, or do both rules apply?
|
Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/22 20:35:22
Subject: Pit of Shades Casting Restrictions.
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
I would think both would apply because the two clauses are not contradictory.
|
Beakie Space Marine P&M Blog
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/745028.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/23 02:52:49
Subject: Re:Pit of Shades Casting Restrictions.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
yes, both apply so it can be placed anywhere within 24" and in your Front Arc.
It also targets the units it hits because it is a Direct Damage spell, so anything that effects spells that target something will activate.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/23 04:17:32
Subject: Pit of Shades Casting Restrictions.
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Basically, if it has a defined spell type, those casting restrictions apply. So front arc, in range, no line of sight required for Direct Damage (and by extension, Pit of Shades).
This might help too.
Q: Do ranged direct damage spells that use a template have to
target an enemy unit? (p31)
A: Yes, the template must be placed over the target enemy unit.
and
Q: When targeting a unit with a small or large round template,
must the whole template be within the maximum range of the spell?
(p31)
A: No, the hole in the centre of the template must be within
range.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|