Switch Theme:

Doomrocket  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I've now had a number of shenanigans tried on me with demented piece of warpcheese. Here's the question: is the doomrocket a "shooting attack?" I'll list some situations where it has come up in games, or where it could matter even if I've never run into it.

1) If the storm banner or chalice of dark rain is in effect, must the skaven player roll a 4+ to fire the doomrocket?
2) May the doomrocket be fired while the bearer is in close combat?
3) May the doomrocket be fired if the bearer has marched or failed a charge or is otherwise prevented from "shooting" (e.g. the Chillwind spell from dark magic?)

And so on. I raised the marching question in a previous thread, and the answer seemed to be nearly unanimous. Does this broaden to other aspects of shooting?

My opinion: As a ranged attack that takes place in the shooting phase, it's a shooting attack.

Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






It is most definitely a shooting attack. The second sentence even begins with "To fire the Doomrocket..."; it is also allowed to be used to Stand and Shoot as per the FAQ.

1. Yes, as per the Storm Banner errata: "Change the start of the third sentence to “All shooting attacks that don’t use BS [...]”."

2. Nope

3. Nope
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





And I thought the cheeziest thing to do with it was skitterleap a naked engineer off to one end of your battleline and fire away, since it would be bound to hit something. But to actually cheat with it?

It's perfectly clear, even without FAQ, in the original book. It is fired, as a shooting attack - not cast, as a spell.

CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: