Switch Theme:

Ymgarl Genestealer madness!!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Baal Fortress Monastery

So I have a few questions about how Ymgarl Genestealers work.

When they come out of terrain the entire squad (all models) must be within the Area Terrain correct?

If that's the case then rereading the entry in the Tyranid Codex I'm confused about when models are destroyed. It says models are destroyed if they cannot be placed within the terrain, impassable terrain, or as it says "If enemy within 1 inch"

What confuses me is what is meant by the enemy within one inch. Are the models destroyed if an enemy is within 1 inch of the squad or one inch of the area terrain? The wording is incredibly confusing. I'm not sure if I were to keep my units within one inch of the Terrain piece, would I destroy the entire squad since its within one inch of the terrain?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/23 17:15:25


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





If you can't place the model inside area terrain, outside of impassable terrain, and outside of 1" of an enemy model, the model is destroyed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Tampa, FL

Rigeld, that doesn't answer the question. The question is can the Ymgarls pop out from a terrain piece that has an enemy model within 1" of it. The wording to me says that the unit is destroyed.

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Oniwaban





Fayetteville

The 1" restriction is the same normal "you can't move within 1" of an enemy model" rule. The Ymargls have to be placed in terrain. The models that can't fit inside the terrain while also being 1" away from any enemy models also in the terrain are destroyed. So if the enemy guesses correctly which terrain piece the ymargls are dormant in he can fill up that piece of area terrain and cause the ymargls to be destroyed.

The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





AresX8 wrote:Rigeld, that doesn't answer the question. The question is can the Ymgarls pop out from a terrain piece that has an enemy model within 1" of it. The wording to me says that the unit is destroyed.

It absolutely did answer the question.

Page 61 Tyranid codex wrote:If any models cannot be placed inside this terrain due to impassable terrain or enemy within 1", they are destroyed

That's the wording. Tell me where you see the word unit.

And there's not even anything saying you can't have enemy models within the terrain - just not within 1" of where you're going to put the Ymgarls.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

"So if the enemy guesses correctly which terrain piece the ymargls are dormant in he can fill up that piece of area terrain and cause the ymargls to be destroyed."

Usually the best guess is the piece of terrain that has the objective and the blob unit covering it. You would be surprised how many Bug Players don't understand or know how Yummy-Girls actually work...until they lose that unit the 1st time.

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Baal Fortress Monastery

I guess my interpretation of the sentence was wrong. Thanks for the clarification everyone.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: