Switch Theme:

Combat Squads + Reserves/Outflank  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

if a unit is using combat squads, are they split into 2 units while in reserve? Or do they just make 1 reserve roll and then split after?

And if so how does this work with outflanking?

Scenario A
10 man uniit using combat squads while in reserves, rolls 2D6 to see if they come in, one for each squad. They both succeed, now they each roll a separate outflank roll to see on which side of the table they show up in.

Scenario B
10 man unit rolls for resrve, comes in. Rolls for 1D6 for oulflank side gets a 5/6. Owning player decides to combat squad one unit to the left and another to the right.

Scenario C? (if none of the above apply)



The way i understand it to be is Scenario B...someone asked me this question at the store and i answered by saying they dont combat squad until physically hitting the table thus outflanking must be made alltogether including arriving on same edge on a roll of 1-4.

However the player wanted a second opinion and other guy said their rolls are separate when using combat squads.

This benefited the guy's intention so he went with the other guy's interpretation. So I wanted to clear this up perhaps im wrong or if not where can i point to next time this comes up so that it's unquestionable.

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

One reserves roll, split after, scenario B.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


As the combat squads are split when you deploy them (i.e. when you actually move them onto the board) I personally feel that the roll for outflanking and decision as to which board edge to bring the unit on is made before the unit splits into two squads.

So while you can bring the squads on in different parts of the board edge you choose, I believe they do have to both come on the same board edge when outflanking.

But it is most certainly not a clear-cut issue by any means.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: