Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:07:11
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Illinois
|
Ok i have to ask this because if it's true I'm adding a ton more scarabs to my list.
The rule states
"Any model that suffers one or more unsaved wounds from a weapon or model with this special rule immediately loses its armor save for the remainder of the battle (effectively altering its armor save to '-'). For each hit a vehicle squadron suffers from a weapon or model with this special rule, roll a D6. For each result of 4+, it immediately loses 1 point of Armour Value from all facings. If a vehicle reduced to Armour 0 on any facing, it is immediately wrecked."
Also for any inquirires with the FAQ i have these from it:
Q: Do you roll to see if a hit with the Entropic Strike
special rule reduces a vehicle’s armour before rolling for
armour penetration? As all attacks at the same Initiative
are simultaneous, does this mean that other models
with the same Initiative will also roll to penetrate
against the reduced armour value? (p29)
A: Yes to both questions.
Q: How do you resolve the Entropic Strike special rule
against a vehicle squadron? (p29)
A: Roll a number of D6 equal to the number of hits.
Split the successes equally between all member of the
squadron with any excess allocated by the squadrons
controlling player. Then roll to penetrate as normal.
From Games workshop website :http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170012a_Necron_FAQ_Version_2_0_January_2012.pdf
So does this mean lets say i have 5 scarabs. They charge lets say a Land raider. They get 4 attacks each plus 1 for charging meaning 5 attacks each, making 25 attacks. Lets say by some chance the tank did not move last turn so all hits are automatic. Would that mean i immediately role 25 D6's and every role of a 4+ reduces all armor faces by 1? meaning odds are that the tank is gone (unless your absolutely the worst dice roller in the history of mankind.)
Am i reading this right?
|
Have:
2250
Working on:
2250
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:12:40
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Yep, but if your opponent didn't move his land raider, he was quite foolish.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:13:32
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
Yes. In addition, you also roll all 25 Strength 3 hits against the reduced armor value of said land raider, should it survive the entropic strikes, as the scarab's attacks still haven't finished resolving.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/25 14:14:09
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:15:29
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Illinois
|
foolishmortal wrote:Yep, but if your opponent didn't move his land raider, he was quite foolish.
Yes i realize the odds are my opponent would move his land raider but i mean still even with the need to hit on a 4+ and then another 4+ thats some strong damage to the tank
|
Have:
2250
Working on:
2250
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:17:22
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
As it is a land raider and thus has PotMS, it will likely be moving 12" and still firing while simultaneously requiring your scarabs to roll a 6 to hit it, only reducing its armor value to 12 or so.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:20:14
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Deadshot Weapon Moderati
|
totentanzen wrote:Ok i have to ask this because if it's true I'm adding a ton more scarabs to my list.
The rule states
"Any model that suffers one or more unsaved wounds from a weapon or model with this special rule immediately loses its armor save for the remainder of the battle (effectively altering its armor save to '-'). For each hit a vehicle squadron suffers from a weapon or model with this special rule, roll a D6. For each result of 4+, it immediately loses 1 point of Armour Value from all facings. If a vehicle reduced to Armour 0 on any facing, it is immediately wrecked."
Also for any inquirires with the FAQ i have these from it:
Q: Do you roll to see if a hit with the Entropic Strike
special rule reduces a vehicle’s armour before rolling for
armour penetration? As all attacks at the same Initiative
are simultaneous, does this mean that other models
with the same Initiative will also roll to penetrate
against the reduced armour value? (p29)
A: Yes to both questions.
Q: How do you resolve the Entropic Strike special rule
against a vehicle squadron? (p29)
A: Roll a number of D6 equal to the number of hits.
Split the successes equally between all member of the
squadron with any excess allocated by the squadrons
controlling player. Then roll to penetrate as normal.
From Games workshop website :http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170012a_Necron_FAQ_Version_2_0_January_2012.pdf
So does this mean lets say i have 5 scarabs. They charge lets say a Land raider. They get 4 attacks each plus 1 for charging meaning 5 attacks each, making 25 attacks. Lets say by some chance the tank did not move last turn so all hits are automatic. Would that mean i immediately role 25 D6's and every role of a 4+ reduces all armor faces by 1? meaning odds are that the tank is gone (unless your absolutely the worst dice roller in the history of mankind.)
Am i reading this right?
I run 7 scarabs for this reason perfect land raider killer. Only problem is that most tanks have blast weapons which cause double wounds on swarms so your treading a fine line with them. They are beasts with +1 cover save so if you hop through terrain its perfect.
|
"Innocence Proves Nothing... Except That You've Done Nothing Wrong"
Welcome to the Daemonhunters, the ranks of the exalted Ordo Malleus and their cannon fod....er, I mean, loyal allies. Remember...the only ones who need fear the righteous might of the Ordo Malleus are the Daemonic.
quote: Dashofpepper: ...sad rivulet of demon prince tears. He ponders for a moment, then lashes the demon hunters into him. He assaults them, kills a terminator or two....and then demon hunters being demon hunters....they proceed to wtfpwn him. Second player leaves the table... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:33:53
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Illinois
|
Kitzz wrote:As it is a land raider and thus has PotMS, it will likely be moving 12" and still firing while simultaneously requiring your scarabs to roll a 6 to hit it, only reducing its armor value to 12 or so.
well i was just using it as an example  just saying its pretty sweet of an idea
|
Have:
2250
Working on:
2250
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 16:05:28
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
totentanzen wrote:foolishmortal wrote:Yep, but if your opponent didn't move his land raider, he was quite foolish.
Yes i realize the odds are my opponent would move his land raider but i mean still even with the need to hit on a 4+ and then another 4+ thats some strong damage to the tank
I fielded the 2 groups of four scarabs and was moving them up to charge a land raider, on my previous turn Imotekhs lightning hit the land raider and stunned it so it didn't move it's next turn and didn't kill the scarabs before they got to it, so it is quite possible to assault a land raider that hasn't moved without your opponent being foolish.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 21:11:17
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Illinois
|
TheAvengingKnee wrote:totentanzen wrote:foolishmortal wrote:Yep, but if your opponent didn't move his land raider, he was quite foolish.
Yes i realize the odds are my opponent would move his land raider but i mean still even with the need to hit on a 4+ and then another 4+ thats some strong damage to the tank
I fielded the 2 groups of four scarabs and was moving them up to charge a land raider, on my previous turn Imotekhs lightning hit the land raider and stunned it so it didn't move it's next turn and didn't kill the scarabs before they got to it, so it is quite possible to assault a land raider that hasn't moved without your opponent being foolish.
Thank you =)
|
Have:
2250
Working on:
2250
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 21:48:44
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Not putting extra armor on the LR is foolish enough to begin with...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/26 02:26:12
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
copper.talos wrote:Not putting extra armor on the LR is foolish enough to begin with...
Taking a Landraider at all is foolish to begin with.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/26 02:26:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/26 02:28:44
Subject: Necron specail Rule "Entropic strike"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
So is playing any flavor of Space Marine. AMIDOINITRITE?!
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|