| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/26 04:56:43
Subject: Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi, I just started playing this game with my friends (started cryx) and i have a couple quick questions.
1. I have read that Scaverous can camp with 26 arm using death ward. How is this possible(other special units?)?
2. My friend( who also just started playing legion) hit me with some breath weapon that was damage type fire, my bane thrall was damaged and made a tough roll and then my friend informed me i had to take an additional pow 12 fire hit. Is this how damage types work? i thought damage types just made it so weapons could be ignored by units if they have the immunity. Am i wrong? Also, if a weapon has continuous effects they are not immediate, they occur next turn(maintenance phase) right?
3. One of my friends tried telling me that warjacks keep unused focus, which i believe is wrong, who is correct?
I have many others, but i can't remember what they were lol
Thanks for helping a noob with noob questions
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/26 05:32:52
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Wraith
|
1. Scaverous is base armor 17, +2 for Death Ward upkept for free by Withershadow Combine's Admonia, and camping all seven natural focus. Technically it can go higher with the collection of souls.
2. Page 42. It doesn't take that continuous fire damage until next turn's Maintenance Phase, assuming it doesn't go out. Damage types are just like you said, something that some units have an immunity to.
3. Page 42, very first step of the Maintenance Phase states to remove all focus from your models. It means exactly that, to remove all from all of your models. Later, as the first part of the Control phase, you replenish focus to models with Focus Manipulation (such as your warcaster). As you continue the Control phase you can allocate that regenerated focus back to your Warjacks.
Edit: #3 is why fire damage is so scary to warcasters; they don't get any of their overboosted armor against it. You lose all focus as Step 1 of Maintenance phase. Step 2 resolves continuous effects and applies damage if it doesn't go away. Step 1 of the Control phase gives you the focus (and boosted armor).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/26 05:36:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 18:57:41
Subject: Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Wraith
|
The exception is to removing focus is some of the Ret 'jacks can store focus from turn to turn. This is specifically stated on the card though that they can do this. Jacks that can absorb souls are a similar but different animal and Cryx has alot of those. Those souls are converted to focus or can be used like focus, depending on their rules.
The Ravagore's animus is what you are asking about and yeah, it's scary. More so when it's cast on a Carnivean and Typhon all at the same time and you have their sprays plus the AoE from the Ravagore. Fire is still scary on warlocks for the same reason. They can get focus starved real quick if they're having to transfer off fire damage during upkeep. Continuous Fire is a great way to kill off infantry overall, either by scattering AoE or hitting low def/high arm troops with it. High def infantry is usually dead if they take a hit with or without the CF effect.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/27 18:59:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 19:22:54
Subject: Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Instead of starting a new thread here, I'll just ask my questions since they're all Cryx questions too:
1: Spell Slave lets you cast one of your warcasters spells through the Skarlock Thrall. Is the cost of this spell the activation of the ability (1 focus) or the spell plus activation (1 focus for activation, 3 for the spell for example)?
If it's both, why use this ability when you have arc nodes?
2: Seduction takes control of an enemy non-warcaster, non warlock warrior model, does that mean I can take control of warjacks?
Thanks!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/08 22:09:50
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 20:01:31
Subject: Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce
|
1. you have this slightly wrong. The Skarlock is the model that casts the spell during it's own activation. So the sequence is, activate the Skarlock, advance if you want to then cast one of the warcaster's spells for free as long as it isn't "self" or "control" and costs less than 3 focus. Also the Skarlock can not use an arc node as it is not controlling any warjacks.
2. You've quoted the rule but missed an important word, 'warrior'. Models in this game are counted as warrior, warjack, warbeast, Karchev (and possibly something to do with battle engines/colossal). That key-word 'warrior' means that only infantry (pretty much, I'm sure I'm missing something) can be seduced.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/27 14:29:58
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
In response to your earlier post yastobaal.
Do you have to pay the focus of the spell because scarlock is acting like an arcnode or is the spell free? And what section of the card states that makes the spell free? Just looking to explain it to another play who things that the spell costs whatever the spell is up to 3 focus.
Thank you in advance for your help. I know this is an old thread.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/27 14:47:39
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
Black_Falcon wrote:In response to your earlier post yastobaal.
Do you have to pay the focus of the spell because scarlock is acting like an arcnode or is the spell free? And what section of the card states that makes the spell free? Just looking to explain it to another play who things that the spell costs whatever the spell is up to 3 focus.
Thank you in advance for your help. I know this is an old thread.
The Scarlock is the model casting the spell. As the *Action Spell Slave, it is picking a spell from its controlling waracaster's list that meet the requirements and casting it as its own action. The spell is free since it is entirely being done by the Scarlock Thrall. The part where "the warcaster is considered to have cast this spell" is in past tense. This clause is there for effects on cards which refer to "this model" and upkeeps (as instances of spells cast by a Scarlock count towards instances cast by the warcaster and are upkept by the warcaster in later turns).
Note no where on the card does it say the warcaster spends focus or that the Scarlock spends focus. The Scarlock simply takes a *Action that lets it cast the spell.
And stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/27 14:49:21
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
Black_Falcon wrote:In response to your earlier post yastobaal.
Do you have to pay the focus of the spell because scarlock is acting like an arcnode or is the spell free? And what section of the card states that makes the spell free? Just looking to explain it to another play who things that the spell costs whatever the spell is up to 3 focus.
Thank you in advance for your help. I know this is an old thread.
The spell is "free" because it is the Skarlock that it is casting it as a special action:
Spell Slave (*Action) - This model must be in its warcasterʼs control area to make the Spell Slave special action. When it does,
it casts one of its warcasterʼs spells with a COST of 3 or less. The warcaster is considered to have cast that spell but this model
is its point of origin. When making a magic attack roll, this model uses its warcasterʼs FOCUS. This model cannot cast spells with
a RNG of SELF or CTRL.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/27 22:24:39
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
It should be pointed out that if the spell cast by the Scarlock is an upkeep spell, the warcaster will have to pay to upkeep it exactly as if he had been the one to cast it.
Casting it just requires the Scarlock's action, upkeeping it will still require focus.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/03 15:14:14
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
I was looking at the card on privateer presses app for the Iphone it seems that they changed the wording has anyone else seen that difference?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/03 15:41:44
Subject: Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
I'm not aware of any recent errata to the ability. Posting both to compare might help (I only have War Room, so can't make such a comparison). Regardless, no change would of altered it's resource investments as mentioned. It costs the solo's action and that's it.
And stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/03 16:40:09
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Whenever there is an Errata, the cards change in Warroom to reflect it. Although it is also possible there is a typo, so double check with the actual Errata(PP Forums/Rules Questions/Official Errata sticky)
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/05 16:26:13
Subject: Re:Cryx questions and stuff
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
#2 Damage type Fire does not set people on fire, only Continuous Fire does so
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|