Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 08:06:03
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Are mystics psykers?
Technically it says it in the description that they are "minor psykers" but I was wondering if they each counted as a seperate psyker for potentially having a bus of them for a Culexus assasin's shooting profile modification purpose.
Daemonhost - if you have a group of more than 1, do you have to roll for them seperately or just as a group?
Is the daemonhost ever considered a psychic? (I know the codex daemons specifically says"there attacks are not psychic powers) but does this extend to the daemonhost?
For the space monkies, if you roll for a combined greater than a 6 score, it counts as as 6 right? I think that's what the FAQ meant but just wanted to double check i.e. I have 2 monkies, and I roll a 6, that automaticaly gives me a 6 I'm assuming so then I'd go on to roll for the rest.
If I get the bonus to range, does that make it so my multi-melta is now 36' range with 2d6 pen at 18' and similarly for regular melta guys in the squad too?
The increased range has no effect on rapid fire though right? Still 12'?
The Shrouding for the librarian's 6' effect would affect everything measured from each end of the hull of a vehicle correct? So if he was in a land raider, would the radius actually be pretty large? How about if he was in a storm raven? Measure from where and how do you deal with the vertical component?
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 10:03:05
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Assault Kommando
|
sudojoe wrote:Are mystics psykers?
Technically it says it in the description that they are "minor psykers" but I was wondering if they each counted as a seperate psyker for potentially having a bus of them for a Culexus assasin's shooting profile modification purpose.
No they do not have the psyker rule or any psychic powers.
sudojoe wrote:Daemonhost - if you have a group of more than 1, do you have to roll for them seperately or just as a group?
Together, I believe that this is stated in the codex.
sudojoe wrote:Is the daemonhost ever considered a psychic? (I know the codex daemons specifically says"there attacks are not psychic powers) but does this extend to the daemonhost?
No again see above statement.
sudojoe wrote:For the space monkies, if you roll for a combined greater than a 6 score, it counts as as 6 right? I think that's what the FAQ meant but just wanted to double check i.e. I have 2 monkies, and I roll a 6, that automaticaly gives me a 6 I'm assuming so then I'd go on to roll for the rest.
it would count as an 8 but the rule for roll again twice says 6+ as total. If on the two extra rolls you get a 4 or more on the dice nothing happens.
sudojoe wrote:If I get the bonus to range, does that make it so my multi-melta is now 36' range with 2d6 pen at 18' and similarly for regular melta guys in the squad too?
The increased range has no effect on rapid fire though right? Still 12'?
Yes this is correct
sudojoe wrote:The Shrouding for the librarian's 6' effect would affect everything measured from each end of the hull of a vehicle correct? So if he was in a land raider, would the radius actually be pretty large? How about if he was in a storm raven? Measure from where and how do you deal with the vertical component?
This is also correct. For the stormraven, it is measured as if it were in 2D space (no vertical component); just measure 6" out from the wings and it applies to everything below that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 10:22:16
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
sudojoe wrote:Are mystics psykers?
Technically it says it in the description that they are "minor psykers" but I was wondering if they each counted as a seperate psyker for potentially having a bus of them for a Culexus assasin's shooting profile modification purpose.
Nothing in the rules says that they are considered psykers, so I'd be inclined to say no. I know there's the precedent set for plasma weapons bent defined by fluff in the FAQ, though, so I'd be happy to play either way.
Daemonhost - if you have a group of more than 1, do you have to roll for them seperately or just as a group?
You roll a single D6 for the effects of all Daemonhosts in the unit.
Is the daemonhost ever considered a psychic? (I know the codex daemons specifically says"there attacks are not psychic powers) but does this extend to the daemonhost?
You shouldn't need to refer to C:CD to interpret a rule in C: GK, but there are no rules saying that they are psykers. I'd say they are definitely not psykers.
For the space monkies, if you roll for a combined greater than a 6 score, it counts as as 6 right? I think that's what the FAQ meant but just wanted to double check i.e. I have 2 monkies, and I roll a 6, that automaticaly gives me a 6 I'm assuming so then I'd go on to roll for the rest.
I don't understand the question, are you asking whether rolling higher than a 6 is the same as rolling a 6? The answer to that is yes, as the chart goes up to "6+"; therefore, if you roll a 6 or more after bonuses, then you get to roll twice again on the chart. The FAQ is only saying that having too many monkeys will result in the rolls having no effect.
If I get the bonus to range, does that make it so my multi-melta is now 36' range with 2d6 pen at 18' and similarly for regular melta guys in the squad too?
The increased range has no effect on rapid fire though right? Still 12'?
Yes, the multimeta range increases to 36" so the half range for the melta rule will be increased appropriately. Rapid fire weapons do not increase the range for two shots, though, as that is a set distance rather than being in any way related to the weapon's max range. It's the same reason why Firewarrior pulse weapons do not shoot twice at 15".
The Shrouding for the librarian's 6' effect would affect everything measured from each end of the hull of a vehicle correct? So if he was in a land raider, would the radius actually be pretty large? How about if he was in a storm raven? Measure from where and how do you deal with the vertical component?
Measure from the hull of the vehicle to the base of the target. For skimmers, you ignore the base except for assaults (and dis-/embarking, in the case of Stormravens), so still measure from the hull. Yes, this means that you should measure downwards frm the hull (there's another thread with a discussion on this sort of thing).
Hope that helps.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/27 10:26:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 10:48:22
Subject: Re:Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
ahh thanks for the quick replies. I was kind of getting ideas actually from reading the FAQ since so many things I didn't know even counted as plasma weapons were counted as plasma apparently so I started looking for ways to see how the rules are actually interperated.
Since Mystics said they were minor psykers I thought it'd count as well.
The storm raven base is some 5' high, so I'd have to measure from the bottom of the wing to the top of the model or to the base of the model?
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 11:53:34
Subject: Re:Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
sudojoe wrote:
The storm raven base is some 5' high, so I'd have to measure from the bottom of the wing to the top of the model or to the base of the model?
Base of the model, by RAW. From what I've seen, most people just measure out on a 2D plane, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 12:54:51
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
All measurements to models with bases are, by default, to the base of the model. So you measure to the base of the model from anywhere on the hull of the vehicle, and if they are within 6" they are affected by Shrouding.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 13:38:25
Subject: Re:Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Thanks for the clarifications all, I guess I'm just back to the drawing board as I really wanted to make the culuxus assasin work somehow. The mystics idea getting shot down pretty much ruined the whole thing lol Oh well back to random brainstorming.
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 13:56:55
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Why not use Psykers ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 13:59:24
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Magpie wrote:Why not use Psykers ?
cause they still just count as 1 even if you had 10 of them in a can right behind the assasin. "For the purposes of psychic tests, etc..." That Etc in there pretty much made sure they can't be considered as anything but 1 for trying to buff the culuxus.
Really wished the assasin's power worked like mindshackle scarabs XD Shoot themselves if fail!
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 14:05:26
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
No they only count as one if they are acting together to shoot etc. The rule for the Assassin just says every Psyker within 12"
So you have a warband of 12 Psykers + a Psyker upgraded Inquisitor and maybe the libby standing by and that is 14 shots!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 15:49:35
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Or in a friendly 2v2 game (or apocalypse) with Eldar as your partner: 2 Fareer each with 10 Warlocks, plus 1 Warlock with 6 groups of Guardians, and possibly 1 warlock with 3 groups of wraithguard, we're looking at up to 31 psykers strategically placed within 12" of the assassin. That's gonna cause what, 32 shots?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/27 21:57:36
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Magpie wrote:No they only count as one if they are acting together to shoot etc. The rule for the Assassin just says every Psyker within 12"
So you have a warband of 12 Psykers + a Psyker upgraded Inquisitor and maybe the libby standing by and that is 14 shots!
The psyker squads have the same verbage as the brotherhood of psykers or at least close enough that so far no one else has agreed that they count as individual psykers. The one unit counts as just one due to the vague etc. word in there to make it apply to any and all situations. I'd love it if it was true however as I have the model and love the fluff but can't find a good use for the guy/gal.
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 03:29:45
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
No sorry no way am I ever going to overrule "every Psyker within 12" with "etc."
The Brotherhood of Psykers says "the unit counts as a single psyker" without qualification where the Psyker band says all psykers in the "unit are treated as a single psyker for the purposes of psychic tests etc."
So that looks to me that they are a only a single psyker for certain situations otherwise I would have thought the rule would say "all psykers in the unit count as a single psyker " without qualification in a similar manner to the brotherhood rule.
Interesting to note too that the more restrictive ruling for the Brotherhood,i.e. they are always one psyker doesn't mean they share perils of the warp but the other guys do.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:Or in a friendly 2v2 game (or apocalypse) with Eldar as your partner: 2 Fareer each with 10 Warlocks, plus 1 Warlock with 6 groups of Guardians, and possibly 1 warlock with 3 groups of wraithguard, we're looking at up to 31 psykers strategically placed within 12" of the assassin. That's gonna cause what, 32 shots?
Thing is too if the enemy is silly enough to have his psykers within range .... +++++
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/28 03:35:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 06:06:58
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
"unit are treated as a single psyker for the purposes of psychic tests etc."
Etc. is going to mean for all other purposes not specifically excepted.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 07:11:13
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Actually etcetera means "continuing in the same way" or "more of the same" which when given a single instance to define the way is pretty open ended.
The only thing you can draw from it is that they act as a single psyker for tests against their stats.
Would you say that if you shot one of them with a Condemner Crossbow they'd all cop it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 07:50:02
Subject: Re:Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Would you say that if you shot one of them with a Condemner Crossbow they'd all cop it?
actually yes, a perils suffered for any reason kill perils the whole group. Wierdly enough if you get lucky with space monkey shield rolling, some may survive it XD
That brings me to another question. Does the Jokoro increase in range apply to psyker shooting attacks too?
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 08:06:27
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Still think the group psyker only applies to the Psychic Barrage as that is the special rule under which all this is grouped.
As for Jokero I think his range increase only applies to weapons and psychic powers aren't weapons as such
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 10:33:52
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
From memory they dont actually HAVE the psyker rule - the only time they permission to be a psyker is when they only count as a single psyker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 10:43:10
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, despite being called Psykers, the Psyker henchmen lack the "Psyker" special rule, so the only thing that would give the Culexis an extra shot would be their group psyker rule, otherwise they wouldn't actually BE psykers.
So One shot per henchman squad containing a psyker.
As to the psychic shooting attack range question, the rule for the Joakero specifies "non template shooting weapons", so yeah, it wouldn't effect it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 10:43:52
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Now I have heard everything a unit called a Psyker isn't a psyker.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 10:50:46
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Magpie wrote:Now I have heard everything a unit called a Psyker isn't a psyker.
Ah, so Heavy Flamers are Heavy, 1 yes?
Oh no, they're Assault weapons.
Apparently the name of a unit doesnt define its' special rules
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 11:06:10
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Your trying to tell me they are called Psykers, they have a psychic power and they suffer perils of the warp but they are not a psyker ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 11:15:42
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I'm trying to point out that, just because you call something "Psyker", or "Heavy", or "Assault" does not mean it has to have those special rules.
INDIVIDUALLY they are NOT psykers. COLLECTIVELY they are a SINGLE psyker
If you wish to continue down this path please find the "psyker" special rule in their entry. When you cannot find it, come back and indicate you now understand the point
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 11:42:23
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
So the Grey Knights themselves aren't Psykers either?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 12:52:59
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Read their rules.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 13:16:13
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Magpie wrote:So the Grey Knights themselves aren't Psykers either?
Ooooh look - they have the BoP rule, whcih tells you HOW you are psykers. Shock.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 13:41:29
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Magpie wrote:So the Grey Knights themselves aren't Psykers either?
Ooooh look - they have the BoP rule, whcih tells you HOW you are psykers. Shock.
Really helpful, posts like that mate
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/28 15:49:30
Subject: Random Henchmen questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Given you didnt appear to be reading the units special rules, it was entirely appropriate.
Non-Mastery Level GKs are not, individually, psykers. The entire book was written to not have lots and lots and individual psykers around, to stop the culexus having an assault 30 weapon
|
|
 |
 |
|