Switch Theme:

Some necron-related questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Hi all,

Got a few questions about the necron codex that I hope can be answered. I apologize if these have been answered elsewhere - my search function doesn't seem to turn up anything useful.

1) Does Anrakyr's Mind in the Machine power count as a shooting attack? Can he target a different unit than the squad he's with? Example: Anrakyr deep strikes down with a group of tesla immortals and a veiltek, the immortals and veiltek shoot a squad of guardsmen, while Anrakyr takes over a leman russ. It doesn't seem to say anywhere in his power that it’s a shooting attack, only that its used in the shooting phase.

2) If a squad assaulting a stormtek's unit with a lightning field is wiped out by the lightning hits, does the stormtek's unit get a massacre move? Example: Stormtek and 5 immortals are assaulted by Marbo, who is vaporized. My gut says they would not, but not sure.

3) Can a monolith deepstrike in and use its portal to teleport a unit through it in the same turn (whether from reserves or a unit already on the table)?

4) Can a monolith potentially use its portal of exile to suck up a dreadnaught or other walker?

5) Potentially silly one, but it happened recently - In Apocalypse, can the monolith's portal be used to suck up a gargantuan creature or superheavy walker? In a recent Apoc game, a monolith moved beside a hierophant bio-titan and sucked it up after the thing failed a strength check. Hilarious, yes, but not sure if the game organizers made the right call on that one…

6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").

7) When do you roll to see if Imotek can maintain night fight? Beginning of the game turn, or necron player turn?

Any info would be awesome. Sorry for some of the noob questions.

   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Each of these should be a separate thread. If any two of these questions causes any amount of discussion, this thread will quickly become unreadable. I'd answer but this could be a mess.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

NOt sure about most of these as I don't have the necron codex on hand. however for number 7, unless specified to be game turn, turn always means player's turn. If the ability is checked at the beginning of each turn, you would roll on both your turn, and your opponents turn.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Tyr wrote:Hi all,

Got a few questions about the necron codex that I hope can be answered. I apologize if these have been answered elsewhere - my search function doesn't seem to turn up anything useful.

1) Does Anrakyr's Mind in the Machine power count as a shooting attack? Can he target a different unit than the squad he's with? Example: Anrakyr deep strikes down with a group of tesla immortals and a veiltek, the immortals and veiltek shoot a squad of guardsmen, while Anrakyr takes over a leman russ. It doesn't seem to say anywhere in his power that it’s a shooting attack, only that its used in the shooting phase.

2) If a squad assaulting a stormtek's unit with a lightning field is wiped out by the lightning hits, does the stormtek's unit get a massacre move? Example: Stormtek and 5 immortals are assaulted by Marbo, who is vaporized. My gut says they would not, but not sure.

3) Can a monolith deepstrike in and use its portal to teleport a unit through it in the same turn (whether from reserves or a unit already on the table)?

4) Can a monolith potentially use its portal of exile to suck up a dreadnaught or other walker?

5) Potentially silly one, but it happened recently - In Apocalypse, can the monolith's portal be used to suck up a gargantuan creature or superheavy walker? In a recent Apoc game, a monolith moved beside a hierophant bio-titan and sucked it up after the thing failed a strength check. Hilarious, yes, but not sure if the game organizers made the right call on that one…

6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").

7) When do you roll to see if Imotek can maintain night fight? Beginning of the game turn, or necron player turn?

Any info would be awesome. Sorry for some of the noob questions.



1: I would say no, as you do not roll against the BS value, and it doesn't case any damage directly. I could be wrong though.

2) Yes, as they are still wiped out in CC

3) No. The ability is at the start of the movement phase, and you could not use an ability if the unit arrives from reserve in the same phase (somewhere in the FAQ...don't remember where)

4) Yes, as the model as a S value.

5) I think gargantuan creatures and walkers have some sort of defense from remove-from-play attacks. I am sure its not a one hit kill though

6) Yes. It always counts as stationary, even after deepstriking

7) Game turn. Look in the codex under the "Lord of the Storm". It actually says "subsequent game turns"

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


1) There is no reason to assume it is a shooting attack any more than a Big Mek attempting to fix a vehicle. Both are done instead of shooting and neither is actually a shooting attack.


2) No massacre result would occur because the combat is never actually fought. To be clear: Once you finish making all assault moves for the phase (and defender's react moves too) then you go to each combat and actually resolve it. It isn't until you actually pick a combat and resolve it that a 'combat' actually happens. And a combat is the only place where a consolidation move is granted.

So in this case, although the unit was assaulted, the enemy was killed before the combat actually happened, so no consolidation move would be granted.


3) Agree with the above...The Monolith's ability is used at the start of the turn, at which point a Monolith in Reserve is not on the table.


4) Yep!


5) Gargantuan creatures just suffer D3 wounds from attacks that just remove models. Super-Heavy walkers though (like Titans) look to be nice fat loophole though.


6) Agreed. A Monolith always counts as stationary when firing.


7) Answered in the codex (game turn).



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Nemesor Dave wrote:Each of these should be a separate thread. If any two of these questions causes any amount of discussion, this thread will quickly become unreadable. I'd answer but this could be a mess.


I was worried about that, but didn't want to spam the forum with 6-7 separate posts.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Tyr wrote:
1) Does Anrakyr's Mind in the Machine power count as a shooting attack? Can he target a different unit than the squad he's with? Example: Anrakyr deep strikes down with a group of tesla immortals and a veiltek, the immortals and veiltek shoot a squad of guardsmen, while Anrakyr takes over a leman russ. It doesn't seem to say anywhere in his power that it’s a shooting attack, only that its used in the shooting phase.


Not a shooting attack

2) If a squad assaulting a stormtek's unit with a lightning field is wiped out by the lightning hits, does the stormtek's unit get a massacre move? Example: Stormtek and 5 immortals are assaulted by Marbo, who is vaporized. My gut says they would not, but not sure.


Good question. Does lightning field happen before or after assault moves are completed?

3) Can a monolith deepstrike in and use its portal to teleport a unit through it in the same turn (whether from reserves or a unit already on the table)?


No

4) Can a monolith potentially use its portal of exile to suck up a dreadnaught or other walker?


Unless it has any special restrictions against vehicles, then probably not.

5) Potentially silly one, but it happened recently - In Apocalypse, can the monolith's portal be used to suck up a gargantuan creature or superheavy walker? In a recent Apoc game, a monolith moved beside a hierophant bio-titan and sucked it up after the thing failed a strength check. Hilarious, yes, but not sure if the game organizers made the right call on that one…


No idea. Apoc is a complete and utter mess when it comes to rules.

6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").


I believe a vehicle the DS's counts as moving at cruising speed. If so, then you may not fire.

7) When do you roll to see if Imotek can maintain night fight? Beginning of the game turn, or necron player turn?


Unless it specifies otherwise, 'turn' always means 'player turn'.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




yakface wrote:
1) There is no reason to assume it is a shooting attack any more than a Big Mek attempting to fix a vehicle. Both are done instead of shooting and neither is actually a shooting attack.


2) No massacre result would occur because the combat is never actually fought. To be clear: Once you finish making all assault moves for the phase (and defender's react moves too) then you go to each combat and actually resolve it. It isn't until you actually pick a combat and resolve it that a 'combat' actually happens. And a combat is the only place where a consolidation move is granted.

So in this case, although the unit was assaulted, the enemy was killed before the combat actually happened, so no consolidation move would be granted.


3) Agree with the above...The Monolith's ability is used at the start of the turn, at which point a Monolith in Reserve is not on the table.


4) Yep!


5) Gargantuan creatures just suffer D3 wounds from attacks that just remove models. Super-Heavy walkers though (like Titans) look to be nice fat loophole though.


6) Agreed. A Monolith always counts as stationary when firing.


7) Answered in the codex (game turn).




Thanks Yak!
   
Made in us
Ruthless Interrogator





Ann Arbor, MI

yakface wrote:
1) There is no reason to assume it is a shooting attack any more than a Big Mek attempting to fix a vehicle. Both are done instead of shooting and neither is actually a shooting attack.

Minor correction here: MitM is not done in place of shooting. It is simply done at the start of the shooting phase (meaning Anrakyr can potentially MitM and fire off his Tachyon Arrow in the same turn).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/01 17:30:43


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Nungunz wrote:
6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").


I believe a vehicle the DS's counts as moving at cruising speed. If so, then you may not fire.


As this was already answered correctly, twice, above you I must ask you...do you own a necron codex? Because, the monolith has always been counted as stationary when firing even when moving. Oddly enough, the only time it doesn't count as stationary now is when it teleports a unit.
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Kevin949 wrote:
Nungunz wrote:
6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").


I believe a vehicle the DS's counts as moving at cruising speed. If so, then you may not fire.


As this was already answered correctly, twice, above you I must ask you...do you own a necron codex? Because, the monolith has always been counted as stationary when firing even when moving. Oddly enough, the only time it doesn't count as stationary now is when it teleports a unit.


The monolith is Heavy. this allows it to always shoot as if it is stationary, so it may always fire one gun. The particle whip is ordinance, so you cannot fire any other guns at the same time.

You may always fire the particle whip OR the flayer arcs but not both (unless of course they are destroyed).
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Nemesor Dave wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:
Nungunz wrote:
6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").


I believe a vehicle the DS's counts as moving at cruising speed. If so, then you may not fire.


As this was already answered correctly, twice, above you I must ask you...do you own a necron codex? Because, the monolith has always been counted as stationary when firing even when moving. Oddly enough, the only time it doesn't count as stationary now is when it teleports a unit.


The monolith is Heavy. this allows it to always shoot as if it is stationary, so it may always fire one gun. The particle whip is ordinance, so you cannot fire any other guns at the same time.

You may always fire the particle whip OR the flayer arcs but not both (unless of course they are destroyed).


Don't forget that you can fire the flux arcs AND the portal of exile if you're in range.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nemesor Dave wrote:The monolith is Heavy. this allows it to always shoot as if it is stationary, so it may always fire one gun.


Yeah, but the rule pointless as it's restricted to combat speed, the flayer arcs are defensive, and the big gun is ordinance anyway. The "may always fire as being stationary" is a completely redundant and changes absolutely nothing about the Monolith in the first place.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/02 18:01:23


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Unless you take it in context with DS, where the vehicle moves a cruising speed. Then the "may always fire as if stationary" is important.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nungunz wrote:
Nemesor Dave wrote:The monolith is Heavy. this allows it to always shoot as if it is stationary, so it may always fire one gun.


Yeah, but the rule pointless as it's restricted to combat speed, the flayer arcs are defensive, and the big gun is ordinance anyway. The "may always fire as being stationary" is a completely redundant and changes absolutely nothing about the Monolith in the first place.


Until it deepstrikes, when suddenly "Heavy" is quite useful.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

On 5):

Lukas the Trickster's Last laugh was FAQ'd to work on Warlord Titans*, and it also removes from play as a casualty, so i'd say yes it can remove Titans, but not Garg. Creatures for the reasons that yak mentioned.

*Q. Does Lukas the Trickster’s The Last Laugh special rule
affect friendly models? How about vehicles? Or
Warlord-class Titans, for that matter? (p52)
A. Yes in all three cases – it affects any unit in base
contact. Stasis fields are very all-or-nothing affairs!

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Proud Triarch Praetorian





Tyr wrote:1) Does Anrakyr's Mind in the Machine power count as a shooting attack? Can he target a different unit than the squad he's with? Example: Anrakyr deep strikes down with a group of tesla immortals and a veiltek, the immortals and veiltek shoot a squad of guardsmen, while Anrakyr takes over a leman russ. It doesn't seem to say anywhere in his power that it’s a shooting attack, only that its used in the shooting phase.

Yes, as mentioned above its at the start of the phase. If you run an Imotekh/Anrakyr list you roll for the lightening strikes, then the MitM, then you start shooting. Picture this, the squad lands behind the LR and a blob squad. The MitM'd LR takes out half of the blob then the Tek & Immortals kill the rest. Anrakyr then uses the tachyon arrow to destroy the LR on rear armour

2) If a squad assaulting a stormtek's unit with a lightning field is wiped out by the lightning hits, does the stormtek's unit get a massacre move? Example: Stormtek and 5 immortals are assaulted by Marbo, who is vaporized. My gut says they would not, but not sure.

I'd say yes, but others seem to think that you wouldn't, thats a house rule for your game group, that one

3) Can a monolith deepstrike in and use its portal to teleport a unit through it in the same turn (whether from reserves or a unit already on the table)?

No

4) Can a monolith potentially use its portal of exile to suck up a dreadnaught or other walker?

If it has a strength value it can be exiled, same as if it has a toughness value it can be Transdimensionaly Beamed w/ the Transdimensional Beamer

5) Potentially silly one, but it happened recently - In Apocalypse, can the monolith's portal be used to suck up a gargantuan creature or superheavy walker? In a recent Apoc game, a monolith moved beside a hierophant bio-titan and sucked it up after the thing failed a strength check. Hilarious, yes, but not sure if the game organizers made the right call on that one…

I wouldn't know, but someone said D3 wounds, so go with that

6) Can a monolith use its big gun the turn it deep strikes in? (Basic rules question I know - just can't find my rule book right now. I'm like 99% positive the answer is "no").

Yes

7) When do you roll to see if Imotek can maintain night fight? Beginning of the game turn, or necron player turn?

Start of game turn, lightening at start of your shooting phase

Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:Unless you take it in context with DS, where the vehicle moves a cruising speed. Then the "may always fire as if stationary" is important.


Ah, true. My apologies there.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: