Switch Theme:

Dawn of War deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

I'm confused, do transports count towards the two troops one HQ limit, are not?
I just had a game with DoW deployment, and the guy said it doesn't.
Can someone please clarify?

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Dedicate Transports count for DoW as choices for the limit (The example on page 93 also stated this). IG can field an entire Infantry Platoon as 1 of their troop choices. There has been debate whether or not Chimeras taken for the platoon count as part of the platoon or not.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It states Units, and therefore ANY unit would count towards the limit. THe exception are IG because theyre special, with platoons.
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

nosferatu1001 wrote:It states Units, and therefore ANY unit would count towards the limit. THe exception are IG because theyre special, with platoons.


Ok, so do transport + infantry = 2 unit then?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/04 22:36:11


What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





I would argue that they do not, RAW. This is my logical test:

1. All troops can hold objectives unless stated otherwise.
2. Empty transports cannot hold objectives by default.
3. Therefore, transports must not be troops.

However, I've always played that that RAI, if the unit begins the game embarked in their dedicated transport, then this counts as troops specifically and only for the purposes of deployment.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

azazel the cat wrote:II would argue that they do not, RAW. This is my logical test:

1. All troops can hold objectives unless stated otherwise.
2. Empty transports cannot hold objectives by default.
3. Therefore, transports must not be troops.

However, I've always played that that RAI, if the unit begins the game embarked in their dedicated transport, then this counts as troops specifically and only for the purposes of deployment..


Dedicated Transports do not use a slot in the FOC, however they are a unit type of the unit that purchases them. Therefore, if an Elite choice buys a DT, it's an Elite Unit, etc.
Troop choices that are vehicles can never be a scoring unit. They are still Troop units however. DT have a stipulation that if a scoring unit is embarked, they count as scoring.
DoW says you can deploy two Troop UNITS, if it was 2 Troop CHOICES, then DT's would not count towards the limit.
Finally, as I pointed out, the example given in the BRB, states that DT's count as one of your 2 Troop limit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/04 22:50:41


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






azazel the cat wrote:I would argue that they do not, RAW. This is my logical test:

1. All troops can hold objectives unless stated otherwise.
2. Empty transports cannot hold objectives by default.
3. Therefore, transports must not be troops.

However, I've always played that that RAI, if the unit begins the game embarked in their dedicated transport, then this counts as troops specifically and only for the purposes of deployment.

You'd be incorrect.

"...dedicated transport vehicles count as being from the same force organisation category as the unit they were bought for. For example, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (Troops) counts as a unit of Troops..." (Rulebook, p87)

It's also worth reading the actual example given in the rulebook for a Dawn of War deployment:

"In his half of the table, player B then deploys a unit of Troops, already embarked into their dedicated transport (which is his second unit of Troops)." (Rulebook, p93)

It's very clear that dedicated transports DO take up one of your Troop unit deployments.

In addition, one of the requirements for being a scoring unit is to be a non-vehicle Troops unit; to say that being a scoring unit is therefore a requirement for being a Troops unit is a logical fallacy. Apples are fruit, but not all fruit are apples, that sort of thing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/04 22:49:30


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As Cheexsta has noted, the rules are actually very clear about this.

The only complicating factor is that the new IG FAQ gives them an exception, allowing an entire Platoon to deploy in place of a single Troops unit.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Cheexsta wrote:

"...dedicated transport vehicles count as being from the same force organisation category as the unit they were bought for. For example, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (Troops) counts as a unit of Troops..." (Rulebook, p87)

It's also worth reading the actual example given in the rulebook for a Dawn of War deployment:

"In his half of the table, player B then deploys a unit of Troops, already embarked into their dedicated transport (which is his second unit of Troops)." (Rulebook, p93)

It's very clear that dedicated transports DO take up one of your Troop unit deployments.

In addition, one of the requirements for being a scoring unit is to be a non-vehicle Troops unit; to say that being a scoring unit is therefore a requirement for being a Troops unit is a logical fallacy. Apples are fruit, but not all fruit are apples, that sort of thing.


Ah, thank you! I was wondering where that entry was. Yes, this answers my question.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Well then since the transports are bought as part of the platoon wouldn't they be deployed with it? If that one force is given the exception wouldn't everything you get as part of it.

3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Dang it White Ninja, I was hoping to keep away from that point. It's been argued before, and hopefully, a MOD will lock this thread before it can start up again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/04 22:56:08


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Check for earlier threads. It went around and around.

For reference, the INAT FAQ ruled that all dedicated transports bought for units in a platoon are indeed part of that platoon.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Happyjew wrote:
azazel the cat wrote:II would argue that they do not, RAW. This is my logical test:

1. All troops can hold objectives unless stated otherwise.
2. Empty transports cannot hold objectives by default.
3. Therefore, transports must not be troops.

However, I've always played that that RAI, if the unit begins the game embarked in their dedicated transport, then this counts as troops specifically and only for the purposes of deployment..


Dedicated Transports do not use a slot in the FOC, however they are a unit type of the unit that purchases them. Therefore, if an Elite choice buys a DT, it's an Elite Unit, etc.
Troop choices that are vehicles can never be a scoring unit. They are still Troop units however. DT have a stipulation that if a scoring unit is embarked, they count as scoring.
DoW says you can deploy two Troop UNITS, if it was 2 Troop CHOICES, then DT's would not count towards the limit.
Finally, as I pointed out, the example given in the BRB, states that DT's count as one of your 2 Troop limit.

Well, that's what I get for playing 40k with an army that never had any dedicated transports when I was learning how to play.

Makes sense to me. Thanks for the clarification.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: