Switch Theme:

Can effects that prevent charging stop trample?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






Just need some clarification, but also some advice on how to defend against tramples.

I have been running Kaelyssa lately with a full unit of sentinels+UA out front. I thought her feat would protect them, but the last game I played my opponent trampled into them. He said tramples don't target units, just locations and proceeded to work out the trample damage after moving. I don't have the mkii rulebook in front of me, but I though effects that prevent charges could stop trample.


 
   
Made in us
Wraith





You are correct according to p55, WM.

As Medium and large bases stop trample as does not giving space behind the potential trample target.
   
Made in us
Master Tormentor





St. Louis


I have been running Kaelyssa lately with a full unit of sentinels+UA out front. I thought her feat would protect them, but the last game I played my opponent trampled into them. He said tramples don't target units, just locations and proceeded to work out the trample damage after moving. I don't have the mkii rulebook in front of me, but I though effects that prevent charges could stop trample.

Your opponent was correct. Trample does not target a specific model. While effects that prevent the trampling model from charging do prevent it from trampling, effects that prevent a model from being charged don't help.
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Did your opponent trample into them, or over them?

He can't trample unless there's enough space or the model at the end.

(as was mentioned earlier in this thread)

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






Thank you for the replies.

Did your opponent trample into them, or over them?


He declared a trample then moved right up to them as there was not enough room for him to trample through and place his model.



 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







A trampling model must cross a model's base in order to make
attacks. I think that's an errata.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Has there been a purple ruling on where p.55 says effects that prevent charging prevent trample not effecting this? TBH, I see the argument on both sides but just curious if something purple is out there on it.
   
Made in gb
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce





Oxford, Great Britain

If the effect is on the model wanting to trample then I would agree, no trample. In the case of Kaelyssa the feat states that friendly faction models may not be charged. Because of this a warjack can trample as you don't target a model with it. So 12thRonin, I don't recall a ruling similar to what you are talking about but i'll check later and report back.
   
Made in us
Wraith





That's true. It's not an effect directly on the model so I can see it.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







"cannot be charged" does not prevent trampling or being trampled.

http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?61558-Trampleing-a-model-that-cannot-be-charged&p=842836&viewfull=1#post842836
If a spell or effects prevents the attacking model, itself, from charging, then it cannot make a trample power attack.

If a spell of effect prevents the attacking model from charging another model, it does not prevent the attacking model from actually charging, it cannot just charge that other model. This does not prevent the attacking model from making a trample power attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 01:07:59


 
   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





Malfred wrote:A trampling model must cross a model's base in order to make
attacks. I think that's an errata.


That ruling was for people trampling 0" and getting free attacks against everyone in b2b.

You can still trample forward for the extra movement, but you do not get any initial attacks at the end of the movement. Meaning he might be in melee range now, but he has to buy attacks to do anything.

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Mattman154 wrote:
Malfred wrote:A trampling model must cross a model's base in order to make
attacks. I think that's an errata.


That ruling was for people trampling 0" and getting free attacks against everyone in b2b.

You can still trample forward for the extra movement, but you do not get any initial attacks at the end of the movement. Meaning he might be in melee range now, but he has to buy attacks to do anything.


Right. He was saying he used the trample to do damage to models. However,
from the description, he didn't cross their bases.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: