Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 00:20:20
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Perth, Australia
|
If I have a Veteran squad with 3x meltas in a Chimera, do I have to fire them both at the same time during the Shooting Phase? I know they can shoot at different targets, but can for example, the chimera shoots at a target, then I go to my Leman Russ to shoot then I come back to shoot the veterans in the Chimera.
Is this allowed? Some guy at my store says you have to do them together as they are the same unit.
Also, how do searchlights work, do you have to shoot to be able to searchlight?
|
"If it was a miracle, it was a Kantrael short-pattern nineteen-megathule Lasrifle miracle. And a bayonet, with some guts behind it."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 00:44:40
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Jereziah wrote:If I have a Veteran squad with 3x meltas in a Chimera, do I have to fire them both at the same time during the Shooting Phase? I know they can shoot at different targets, but can for example, the chimera shoots at a target, then I go to my Leman Russ to shoot then I come back to shoot the veterans in the Chimera.
Is this allowed? Some guy at my store says you have to do them together as they are the same unit.
Also, how do searchlights work, do you have to shoot to be able to searchlight?
If they were the same unit, they'd have to shoot at the same target. I'm pretty sure the FAQ points out that they can shoot at separate targets because they AREN'T the same unit, so they can also shoot at different times.
Searchlights are used after you acquire but before you fire. As you have to be able to fire to be allowed to acquire a target, you have to be able to fire to use searchlights.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 00:50:56
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Jereziah wrote:If I have a Veteran squad with 3x meltas in a Chimera, do I have to fire them both at the same time during the Shooting Phase? I know they can shoot at different targets, but can for example, the chimera shoots at a target, then I go to my Leman Russ to shoot then I come back to shoot the veterans in the Chimera. Is this allowed? Some guy at my store says you have to do them together as they are the same unit. They are 2 separate units, and can therefore fire at different times. If anybody tells you otherwise, (politely) ask them how the Chimera embarks upon itself as if it is part of the unit, it must embark with the rest of the unit. Also, how do searchlights work, do you have to shoot to be able to searchlight?
Pick a target to shoot (this is the only way you are allowed to "choose a target" for searchlights contrary to what others might say.) Roll for night fighting. If successful, the unit is lit up and anyone shooting at that unit does not need to roll for night-fighting. If the roll fails, the searchlight does nothing. Edit: Ninja'd for taking too long...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/08 00:51:28
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 00:54:21
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The only time you are allowed to target a unit is when you are shooting weapons at them.(Or Rules that specifically say to target a unit) The searchlight does not allow you to target anything without using the night fighting rules to pick a target. So you can not use a searchlight unless you are shooting. "If a vehicle has a searchlight it must still use the night fighting rules to pick a target" So we check Night fighting and it says: "After selecting a target, but before a unit fires..." So you need to select a target, and you can not select a target if you are not capable of shooting.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/08 00:54:46
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 11:39:45
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Happyjew wrote:Jereziah wrote: Some guy at my store says you have to do them together as they are the same unit.
They are 2 separate units, and can therefore fire at different times. If anybody tells you otherwise, (politely) ask them how the Chimera embarks upon itself as if it is part of the unit, it must embark with the rest of the unit.
At the same time ask what the use of a transport is since all models in a unit move at the speed of the slowest. Those Deldar raiders and Ork trukks sure are scary hurtling at you 6" every round.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 12:49:26
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The rules are perfectly clear, in the definition of units and most particularly in the section titled "Multiple Unit Choices", on page 92, that they are always separate units.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 14:08:03
Subject: Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Happyjew wrote:They are 2 separate units, and can therefore fire at different times. If anybody tells you otherwise, (politely) ask them how the Chimera embarks upon itself as if it is part of the unit, it must embark with the rest of the unit.
Great... now I have *that image* in my mind!
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/08 14:08:15
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 09:38:20
Subject: Re:Do units embarked in transports have to act at the same time?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Perth, Australia
|
Thanks for the help all!
|
"If it was a miracle, it was a Kantrael short-pattern nineteen-megathule Lasrifle miracle. And a bayonet, with some guts behind it."
|
|
 |
 |
|