Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 04:28:44
Subject: Overrun question
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
So today in a match against my wife and her Dark Elves, I had the following situation arise:
Eagle 1 charges RXB unit 1
Eagle 2 charges RXB unit 2, which is deployed to my left of RXB unit 1
Dragon Princes+General charge Cold One Knights which are deployed to my left of RXB unit 2.
Dragon Princes destroy COK's in combat, and can overrun into the flank of RXB unit 2.
Dragon Princes and Eagle Break RXB unit 2, RXB's flee from DP's, Eagle pursues straight forward to get out of the way of the DP pursuit.
DP's roll 8 pursuit, RXB's roll 7 flee. DP's are well within range to overrun into RXB unit 1.
DP's and Eagle 1 then break and catch RXB unit 1.
My question is was that played correctly? Am I able to overrun and essentially fight 3 combats in a single turn? The Black Shirt at my GW says yes, as the overruns kept landing into units that were already in combat that hadn't yet been resolved, and thus the DP's would continue to attack.
I hope we played it right, as it was the game winning event for me tonight, and it was glorious. We ended up calling the game 1 turn after that as she saw there was really no recovering from such a loss, even with her hydra and dragon still alive. Sadly my lion chariots didn't get a chance to attack anything this game.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 04:36:19
Subject: Overrun question
|
 |
Skillful Swordmaster
|
As far as I see it you only get to fight another combat that turn of the unit you have just connected with HAS fought already that turn.
|
Damn I cant wait to the GW legal team codex comes out now there is a dex that will conquer all. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 04:36:38
Subject: Re:Overrun question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Unfortunately you played it wrong. The maximum number of combats in a single combat round that a unit can fight is TWO. This is because a unit only gets ONE overrun per player turn so the DPs would never reach the other RBT. After defeating the first RBT the DPs would automatically restrain pursuit, though they could re-form.
You can find this in the rule book on page 58.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 04:58:31
Subject: Overrun question
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
Ty for the clarification.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 12:13:23
Subject: Overrun question
|
 |
Assault Kommando
|
Jubear wrote:As far as I see it you only get to fight another combat that turn of the unit you have just connected with HAS fought already that turn.
This is wrong. You fight again if the contacted unit was previously engaged and has not been resolved. If the unit wasn't engaged or if their fight has been resolved, you will wait until next close combat phase to resolve it. (p.58)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 12:27:10
Subject: Overrun question
|
 |
Skillful Swordmaster
|
Hellstorm wrote:Jubear wrote:As far as I see it you only get to fight another combat that turn of the unit you have just connected with HAS fought already that turn.
This is wrong. You fight again if the contacted unit was previously engaged and has not been resolved. If the unit wasn't engaged or if their fight has been resolved, you will wait until next close combat phase to resolve it. (p.58)
Agreed.
|
Damn I cant wait to the GW legal team codex comes out now there is a dex that will conquer all. |
|
 |
 |
|