Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 12:29:27
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
So had a stituation come up last night in a game
My opponent basically wanted to do this,
I argued that you can't do step 1, because the razorback has to intially drive onto the board (before it can pivot) so there's no way for the razorback to gets it's side edge 6" from the board without intially driving on further than 6". Just wanted people's thoughts
|
Armies: Crimson Fists, Orks, Eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 12:38:38
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
You can't move before you are on the table. So this isn't legal.
edit: After reading "arriving from reserves" I am not so sure of the above.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 13:11:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:00:53
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Turning by pivoting is part of movement, it just doesn't reduce your movement. And you move onto the board from reserve. So it's certainly legal by one interpretation of RAW.
Of course I would argue all the pivoting is pointless as the vehicle could just move sideways. Which means you can two never ending arguments about the RAW of how vehicles move at once. Yay?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:05:49
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
You can't move sideways. The proper procedure is to pivot towards the direction you want to move, move forward, pivot again if you need to change direction, and so on until you complete your move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:23:43
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
copper.talos wrote:You can't move sideways.
Page reference?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:30:08
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
"This means that a vehicle may combine forward and reverse movement in the same turn..."
No mentioning of sideways, diagonal etc movement. BRB pg 57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:47:11
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
copper.talos wrote:"This means that a vehicle may combine forward and reverse movement in the same turn..."
No mentioning of sideways, diagonal etc movement. BRB pg 57
And yet that's not a restriction to only forwards and backwards movement either.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:48:57
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Hmmm, so no definite answer yet then?
The forwards and backwards would imply no sideways movement but then we get into a permissive vs. non-permissive rules debaite.
|
Armies: Crimson Fists, Orks, Eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 13:56:40
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Just because the vehicle may combine forwards and backwards movement does not mean that those are the only movement options available. Models move like infantry unless otherwise stated. If there is no mention of moving sideways, then when choosing to move sideways they must move sideways like infantry do.
I pivot and only move forwards and backwards with my vehicles, because I believe that is the RAI. But I'll happily allow my opponent to move vehicles sideways because I believe that is the RAW.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 13:57:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 14:06:40
Subject: Re:Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
No way, you can't pivot while off the board to stick the end of your vehicle further onto the board. You measure from the board edge, not from the hull of the vehicle off the board edge.
This is definitely not legal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 14:17:00
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
"edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal."
So this hypothetical off board move has many ways in which it could have resulted in the vehicle being parallel to the board edge. Then measure from the board edge and move. And guess what is part of moving for vehicles.......
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 14:43:40
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
kmdl1066 wrote:"edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal."
So this hypothetical off board move has many ways in which it could have resulted in the vehicle being parallel to the board edge. Then measure from the board edge and move. And guess what is part of moving for vehicles.......
It still doesn't say measure from the hull of the vehicle which is what is required for this pivot to work. You simply measure from the edge of the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 15:35:04
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Hulking Hunter-class Warmech
|
Nemesor Dave wrote:kmdl1066 wrote:"edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal."
So this hypothetical off board move has many ways in which it could have resulted in the vehicle being parallel to the board edge. Then measure from the board edge and move. And guess what is part of moving for vehicles.......
It still doesn't say measure from the hull of the vehicle which is what is required for this pivot to work. You simply measure from the edge of the board.
I was the other player in this game. Having done some research today and reading everyone's opinions, I agree with Nemesor Dave. The extra positioning from the pivot can't be achieved because the pivot would happen off board. I was wrong!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 16:01:53
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Nemesor Dave wrote:kmdl1066 wrote:"edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal."
So this hypothetical off board move has many ways in which it could have resulted in the vehicle being parallel to the board edge. Then measure from the board edge and move. And guess what is part of moving for vehicles.......
It still doesn't say measure from the hull of the vehicle which is what is required for this pivot to work. You simply measure from the edge of the board.
That has nothing to with it though. You measure from the edge of the board to the hull of where the vehicle ends up after moving (and before any final pivot depending on your pivoting while moving point of view.)
But I'm changing my opinion so you get to be right even if we disagree on why you are right.
I got out a model and did it and you get to the point in the pivot where part of the model that is on the table has to move off table. And that is clearly not allowed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 16:07:43
Subject: Re:Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Even if you say that vehicles cannot move sideways (they clearly can by RAW, but from a fluff perspective, that's somewhat silly), you can still do this move.
You start by positioning the vehicle as shown in Step 1, but 0.00000001 degrees at an angle. You then move 0.0000000001 inches. This puts a miniscule amount of your vehicle on the board and effectively parallel to the board edge. At this point, you are free to pivot, move 5.999999999 inches forward and pivot again, ending slightly less (but effectively equal) to the final position in the diagram.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 16:35:45
Subject: Pivoting Vehicles & Dawn of War
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except if you are 0.0000000001 inches onto the board, and can not move off the board, which is what the pivot will be doing, as a part of the vehicle will be moving off the board.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|