Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:30:57
Subject: Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
Does pivoting count as moving "over" the enemy model for the purposes of a sweep attack? For example, I move my barge 24", but when I land facing the enemy table edge, I land within 1" of the enemy. If I instead land facing one of the short table edges and pivot 180 degrees to face the second table edge, I will remain 1" away from the enemy unit, but only by pivoting will I be capable of moving "over" the enemy unit.
At the Indy GT, the above was ruled on in my first game, but because it's fairly easy to do this first turn, most of my opponents were not prepared for the tactic. The Indy GT ruled against the pivot, but it would have been relevant in 5/6 of my games, and as necrons are on the rise, I feel it is becoming more and more important to answer this question, especially since in most games armies start almost exactly 24" apart more often than not.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:58:08
Subject: Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
I would say no, as it smacks of shenanigans to me, but then i feel the same way about the pivot trick for extra movement.
Possibly allowable, RAW legal asshattery.
It's be up to the TO at a tournament, and it'd not be something i'd try to claim in a friendly game.
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 22:12:02
Subject: Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I thought if you moved flat out you could not pivot after the move anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 22:15:09
Subject: Re:Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
So, basically, you want to move into a space where you're only capable of being there if you pivot after the move is complete?
If you can do it without having to move off the table edge, you're fine (as long as you're a skimmer). There's no issue with this at all.
And, you can certainly pivot if you move flat out. The only time you can't pivot is if you tank shock/ram.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 21:51:31
Subject: Re:Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
My only issue with the sweep attack is that I have had someone attempt to move half way over my model and then move it back to claim the sweep attack.
I had a stormraven 20in away from his barge. He moved 21in to get over my stormraven then moved it back 3in to claim the sweep attack. I questioned if he was able to do that because the he didn't move fully over my SR. The TO ruled that he couldn't move over and back to get the sweep attack. I don't know the rules on it so i left it up to the TO and the other guy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 22:28:37
Subject: Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I believe you can do the forward and back sweep. Models are perfectly capable of moving in curves and arcs.
I'm not 100% on the original question. Given that pivoting alone does not count as movement per the rulebook, I'm not sure whether pivoting over an enemy unit would count as moving over it.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 22:42:13
Subject: Sweep Attacks and Pivots
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Pivoting only doesn't count as movement if that's all you do. If you move, then pivot at the end to sweep a unit, I'd say that counts.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|