Switch Theme:

Wound Allocation (Not with Multi-wound models)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Minnesota, land of 10,000 Lakes and 10,000,000,000 Mosquitos

This was an issue that came up the last game I played, and I'm not sure who was right. Basically, my Nobz Mob charged into some Death Company (they were down a few men, and already in combat with Killa Kans, so I figured I'd try and finish 'em off). I had charged through cover, so everything was going at Initiative 1. When everything came down to it, there were exactly enough power klaw wounds to kill all 7 of his models, plus a bunch of excess non-power wounds.

So basically, he immediately starts allocating wounds - four power klaw attacks on four models, followed by 3 armor on his others. He then stuck 3 power klaws on the guys that already had power wounds on them, so he only lost 4 models instead of all 7. Here's my question - was that a legal move? All the attacks did go at the same time, but I was under the impression that since all of his guys were outfitted the same, he just rolled the saves and took guys off as they failed, meaning that the seven klaw wounds would have done the trick and killed them all.

This is really just some post-game bitterness, since the surviving Death Company went on to kill an entire squad of Ork Boyz, thus knocking me off an objective or two.

My Armies:
Kal'reia Sept Tau - Farsight Sympathizers
Da Great Looted Waaagh!
The Court of the Wolf Lords

The Dakka Code:
DT:90-S+++G+++MB-IPw40k10#++D++A+++/sWD-R++T(Ot)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




you roll all wounds for the identical models at the same time example
5 marines
1 sargent
1 flamer

you take 8 wounds 3 are power weapon you can allocate 1 normal wound to each the sgt a normal wound, flamer normal then the other 6 on the marines, all saves for the marines are rolled at the same time meaning 2 marines are taking 3 armour saves as three died out right to power weapons. so you can stack the wounds but only if the models are different all rolls for identical models are rolled at the same time. hope that makes since lol
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If all 7 models were identical, then the entire wound group suffers 7 unsaved wounds and thus would all be removed.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Locclo wrote:...but I was under the impression that since all of his guys were outfitted the same, he just rolled the saves and took guys off as they failed,

That's absolutely correct. You only allocate when there are models in the unit that are different to the rest. And even there, saves are rolled for identical groups, not for each individual model.

 
   
Made in us
Legendary Dogfighter




Garden Grove, CA

You got shafted.

As insaniak stated, you can only allocate when there are models whose name/wargear are different from the rest and you also only roll for identical groups.

So those DC shoulda been dust.

"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Of course, it might have been that he was outfitting those guys not the same (some with pistols + bolters other with chainsword + bolters). Some might be the sarg, some might have special weapons.

Next time, make sure you both are on the same page with regard to wargear on each squad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/10 04:56:21


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

xxBlazinGhostxx wrote:As insaniak stated, you can only allocate when there are models whose name/wargear are different from the rest and you also only roll for identical groups.

The Name being different is debated, as the Rules only let you differentiate if they have different rules, wargear, weapons, and characteristics.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/10 05:15:00


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




The Great White North

And we come back to broken rules.... Wound allocation is broke. The ability to dodge a Power Klaw because you have a bolter and chainsword vs pistol and chainsword is silly...

You got shafted this time.....



+ +=

+ = Big Lame Mat Ward Lovefest  
   
Made in gb
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





UK

Yeah either the guy you were playing was knowingly cheating or he just has a misunderstanding of the rules. Either way, it was illegal (assuming the DC were kitted out all the same) and you won that game. Congrats lol

Thousand Sons CSM and Tzeentch Daemons : 2000pts
Imperial Guard Mixed Regiment: 2500pts
Deathwing/Ravenwing 2000pts (WIP)
Space Wolves: 1000pts (WIP)
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

DeathReaper wrote:
xxBlazinGhostxx wrote:As insaniak stated, you can only allocate when there are models whose name/wargear are different from the rest and you also only roll for identical groups.

The Name being different is debated, as the Rules only let you differentiate if they have different rules, wargear, weapons, and characteristics.


It's debated because the rules say you differentiate if they have different equipment or a different "profile of characteristics", and people differ on whether the name is part of the profile. The rules also define that models form a group if they are "identical for gaming purposes. I tend to think a sergeant isn't, even if his statline is the same, because there are rules which hinge on whether a model is a sergeant or not. But as you say, opinions differ.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Minnesota, land of 10,000 Lakes and 10,000,000,000 Mosquitos

Bah. Well that's a bummer. At the very least, the game wound up being a draw, not a total loss - it's just that it would have been a hell of a victory if the Death Company had died outright, since all my troops would have been able to consolidate onto objectives for the last turn of the game (plus, a bunch of extra victory points for me killing them and them not killing my boyz )

And yes, they were all kitted out the same - power weapon, bolt pistol and jump pack. He had Lemartes and Dante in the squad, but neither of them was in the combat (too busy punching out a Killa Kan).

Thanks for all the help. That's a good rule to know. Does anyone have a page reference for that? (Only being able to wound allocate onto differently equipped models?)

My Armies:
Kal'reia Sept Tau - Farsight Sympathizers
Da Great Looted Waaagh!
The Court of the Wolf Lords

The Dakka Code:
DT:90-S+++G+++MB-IPw40k10#++D++A+++/sWD-R++T(Ot)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Locclo wrote:Bah. Well that's a bummer. At the very least, the game wound up being a draw, not a total loss - it's just that it would have been a hell of a victory if the Death Company had died outright, since all my troops would have been able to consolidate onto objectives for the last turn of the game (plus, a bunch of extra victory points for me killing them and them not killing my boyz )

And yes, they were all kitted out the same - power weapon, bolt pistol and jump pack. He had Lemartes and Dante in the squad, but neither of them was in the combat (too busy punching out a Killa Kan).

Thanks for all the help. That's a good rule to know. Does anyone have a page reference for that? (Only being able to wound allocate onto differently equipped models?)

Page 25 'Complex Units'

Also if 'He had Lemartes and Dante in the squad' then your guys would have had to kill them as well, before you got to consolidate away.

Lemartes is not an IC and he is equipped differently so you must roll for his specific wounds separately. (He is a part of the squad and you must distribute wounds evenly amongst the squad in CC, he is not an IC so he can not be singled out, and you must give him a wound before any model in the unit, Excluding IC's, get a second wound.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

What is the toughness of DC's? I figured power claws would cause instant death wounds, which I thought cannot be reallocated on top of one another. Meaning every model takes 1 insta death wound before the same group gets another allocated to it?

----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Aipoch wrote:What is the toughness of DC's? I figured power claws would cause instant death wounds, which I thought cannot be reallocated on top of one another. Meaning every model takes 1 insta death wound before the same group gets another allocated to it?

DC's Toughness is the same as every other rank and file marine.

But you do not allocate wounds that way, you allocate 1 per model, then once every model has one you may allocate a second wound to any given model. The wound allocation rules do not care what type of wounds you put on the models as long as you distribute all wounds evenly.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/12 19:37:10


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

NEVERMIND me. I am being stupid. That is correct. ID or not, players get to choose how the wounds are allocated before taking saves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/12 20:14:46


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

leohart wrote:Actually, it does for Instant Death wound. ID wound cannot be stacked and cannot be used on wounded models if there is another model in that wound group which is whole.

That applies to removing casualties, not to wound allocation.

Wound allocation does not care at all about the strength of the wounds, the AP of the wounds, or any other characteristics that may alter casualty removal.

The only thing that wound allocation cares about is that the number of wounds are allocated evenly.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

ID wound can be stacked to a single model, and if that model has a different statline, or is equipped differently, or has different rules or wargear, then you can roll his saves separately.

E.G. Situation: 5 marines, 3 with bolters, 1 with flamer, and 1 with BP and CCW(Sergeant)

you take 3 meltagun wounds and 8 lasgun wounds from a IG unit.
M will be a melta wound, L will be Lasgun wounds here is how you can distribute

Bolter: L
Bolter: L
Bolter: L
Flamer: M
Sarge: L

Now that you have 1 wound on each marine you can distribute the remaining wounds to already wounded models, but each model must be allocated a 2nd wound before taking a third:

Bolter: L L
Bolter: L L
Bolter: L L
Flamer: M M
Sarge: L L

Now you put the last wound (M) anywhere you want to, since all models have 2 wounds stacked on them.

So you put it on the Flamer.

Bolter: L L
Bolter: L L
Bolter: L L
Flamer: M M M
Sarge: L L

So in our example the Bolter marines would take 6 saves removing a model for each failed save, the Sarge takes 2 saves and dies if he fails either one (As normal Sgt's only have 1 wound on their profile) then the Flamer guy dies as his wounds can not be saved by his armor (And we assume he is not in cover because the situation does not mention cover).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

@insaniak @DeathReaper: hats off to you gentlemen, while I am writing my updates, you ninja-ed in and showed me the light.

Thank you.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




it really comes down to the weapons the unit has. I'm not sure about the DC but for the sake of argument lets say they have 2 different types of weapons.

There are 4 models with gun A
and 3 models with gun B

(pg 25 is your friend)
Now lets say you take 7 PK wounds causing ID, and just 3 normal wounds. You start by allocating 4 ID wounds to group A, 3 normal wounds to group B, then with the 3 remaining ID wounds you assign them to group A again.

Both groups take saves, and lets say group B makes all their saves. No wounds taken.

Now group A fails all of their saves, so they lose all 4 models with the 3 remaining wounds having no affect as they won't go to a different group. Those 3 wounds are also not counted towards CC resolution (pg 39).


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Locclo wrote: I had charged through cover, so everything was going at Initiative 1.


For the record, your initiative is not reduced if the target was already engaged in close combat.

Page 36, "Assaulting through Cover", last paragraph - if the enemy units are engaged in close combat the previous turn then the penalty does not apply. I am sure it would not have mattered but this is commonly over looked.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Anoka County, MN

Shawn, just shoot out the question next time, I was only 2 tables over and as a fellow Ork, I would have argued with you, especially against DC!

Fighting crime in a future time! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: