Switch Theme:

Search lights and power of the machine spirit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I want to hear your opinion. We had a tournament and night fight was in effect, a player with a storm raven used its search light and claimed that he could search light two units because the storm raven could use potms to target two units. i was under the impression that you had to choose a target with the search light and just the single search lighted target is lit up.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Discussed here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/433342.page

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Navigator





I only have the SW codex at the moment, so if it's different elsewhere, I apologize. That said:

Power of the Machine Spirit: "A Land Raider can fire one more weapon than would normally be permitted. In addition, this weapon can be fired at a different target unit to any other weapons, subject to the normal rules for shooting."(C:SW pg44)

Searchlight: "If a vehicle has a searchlight it must still use the Night Fighting rules to pick a target but, having acquired a target, will illuminate it with the searchlight."(C:SW pg63)

The searchlight rules specify that it's used when a target is chosen while Night Fighting is in effect. If a unit with a searchlight chooses two targets, it has satisfied the requirements stated in the searchlight rule. I would say yes. In fact, I would argue that, given the wording of the rule, he may never NOT illuminate a target he is firing at.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/12 00:30:31


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Searchlights light up on a successful target. PotMS allows you to aquire a second target.

that would tell me that you can light up 2 targets.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Navigator





rigeld2 wrote:Searchlights light up on a successful target. PotMS allows you to aquire a second target.

that would tell me that you can light up 2 targets.


Just came to that conclusion myself, and got ninja'd!

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Agreed. You're forced to use your searchlight whenever you spot a target during Nightfighting.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





The searchlight rules refer to one target. You have one searchlight.

Fluff wise, 1 target only makes sense.

RAW, it only mentions one target so 1 target only makes sense.

Not sure where you guys are getting the idea that a single searchlight can be spotting in two places at once.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It was hashed out fairly thoroughly in the thread Happyjew linked to. And which you participated in...

 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





insaniak wrote:It was hashed out fairly thoroughly in the thread Happyjew linked to. And which you participated in...


Yes and someone claimed that the SM codex said 'targets' and referred to the plural but they never gave an actual quote. The above quote proves that the SM codex is the same as the BA codex and a searchlight may be used to illuminate "a target" not multiple targets.

"A searchlight" illuminates "it's target". Not its targets.

You may have multiple targets, but you can not illuminate more than one.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





ND the searchlight wording is for normal situations - normally you can only target one unit. PotMS gives an exception to that.
Searchlights light up what you target.

Where's the confusion?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Nemesor Dave wrote:Yes and someone claimed that the SM codex said 'targets' and referred to the plural but they never gave an actual quote. The above quote proves that the SM codex is the same as the BA codex and a searchlight may be used to illuminate "a target" not multiple targets.

It's nothing to do with whether or not the word 'target; is singular.

If a target is acquired, the searchlight illuminates it.

So I'll ask the same question I asked in the other thread: When you acquire your second target, has the target been acquired?

If the answer is yes (which it clearly is) then that target has been illuminated.


That process will work whether the vehicle fires at a single target, 2 targets, or everything on the board.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: