Switch Theme:

Assaulting out of a exploded vehicle?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So a eldar waveserpant rams a hammerhead, waveserpent explodes and hammerhead gets immobilised, can the banshees that were in the waveserpent now assault? or are they destroyed? or just placed in the crater? sorry if its obvious, couldnt find anything on it in the brb.
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




How fast did the Wave Serpent move? If it moved over 12", the Banshees are dead as they are killed if the vehicle moved flat out and died.

As per the 40k rulebook FAQ:

Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement
phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to
any embarked models, as passengers may not
disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in
that Movement phase? (p70)

A: They are removed as casualties.

Otherwise, sure, I suppose you can assault (provided you pass your pinning test.)
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Q: Do any upgrades or special rules a vehicle has cease
to work once it is destroyed? (p61)
A: Yes. For example if a Land Raider Crusader is
destroyed by ramming an enemy vehicle, its embarked
passengers would not be able to launch an assault in
the ensuing Assault phase as they would no longer
benefit from its Assault Vehicle special rule.

So if you are in a Wave serpent, and you ram something and the WS is exploded, you can not assault.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/12 02:01:10


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the quick responses.

It had moved 22" so i guess they would have died.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Units that disembark from a moving vehicle (other than open-topped and assault vehicles) may not launch an assault on the same turn, and units that get out of a destroyed vehicle are disembarking (Rulebook, p67). So, if you're forced to disembark after already moving then you cannot launch an assault (this is further reinforced by the FAQ ruling for assault vehicles).

Note that units forced to disembark from an open-topped transport may actually charge. Trukks with Reinforced Rams, Battlewagons, etc. can all ram enemy vehicles and, if destroyed, the occupants can still charge the enemy.

If a fast transport moves flat out and is destroyed in the same turn, then the occupants are destroyed (FAQ). Remember that "turn" always means "player turn" (Rulebook, p9; Rulebook FAQ), so if the transport moved flat out and is destroyed in the enemy's shooting phase then the occupants don't die automatically.

So yes, in your specific situation, the occupants would have died.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/12 05:22:51


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dallas Texas

If the Hammerhead rolled a 3+ , they avoided the wave serpent due to skimmers avoiding skimmers.

And if it turbo boosted the banshees are dead.

5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Smitty0305 wrote:If the Hammerhead rolled a 3+ , they avoided the wave serpent due to skimmers avoiding skimmers[Ram attempts].

And if it turbo boosted the banshees are dead.

Fixed that for you with the orange.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/03/12 05:25:10


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






DeathReaper wrote:
Smitty0305 wrote:If the Hammerhead rolled a 3+ , they avoided the wave serpent due to skimmers avoiding skimmers[Ram attempts].

And if it turbo boosted [moved flat out] the banshees are dead.

Fixed that for you with the orange.

Fixed the other with the red While the rules are similar, Turbo Boosting (for bikes and jetbikes) and moving Flat Out are two separate rules with some fairly important differences.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Skimmers can only dodge non-skimmer tanks. They can't dodge other skimmers.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



Santa Monica, CA

Actually they can assault if your vehicle explodes and the crew inside dont become paste. When a vehicle explodes you PLACE the models in the footprint, they do NOT disembark. RAW they can assault.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Slightly OT, can you use the Star Engines to Ram another vehicle? I know it's used in the Shooting phase, however, it still allows you to move an extra 12".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, fairly certain thats in the latest Eldar FAQ, but its disallowed as it isnt a normal movement
   
Made in sg
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Happyjew wrote:Slightly OT, can you use the Star Engines to Ram another vehicle? I know it's used in the Shooting phase, however, it still allows you to move an extra 12".


It is indeed in the Eldar FAQ:

Q: Can a vehicle with star engines perform a tank
shock or ram in the Shooting phase? (p44)
A: No.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Must have missed that. Thanks.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: