Switch Theme:

Abbadon's Daemon Weapon  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




So my friend and I just finished playing our first Zone Mortalis game, purely for fun and to try out some rules.
My friend decided to run Abbadon since he hadn't for a while, and we are just now discovering a number of rules we never noticed before.
The one thing we couldn't figure an answer to is concerning Abbadon's Daemon weapon.

First part of this question is, does Abbadon still make the rest of his close combat attacks if he dies from the wounds suffered, or do you treat them like regular wounds suffered in close combat and roll your saves for them at the end of combat?
Secondly, since he gets to reroll failed to-hit rolls, does this include any 1's he rolled? Does he have to roll a 1 on a die twice before he suffers the wound?

I don't own the CSM codex, and really haven't had a chance to read through it, I only knew about this rule because I read a reference to it here on the forum, and questioned my friend about it, at which point we started playing with it.
It really does make Abbadon become much less of a threat. I didn't lay a single shot on him, his own weapon did all the work. (my friend was rolling terribly, I killed an obliterator with a single volley of bolt pistols )

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/17 05:55:48


 
   
Made in us
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores






Abbadon doesn't get to re-roll hits in close combat, only to wound.
His daemon weapon allows him to gain extra attacks, and become str8. He gets to roll to see how many extra attacks he gets before he swings. On a roll of a 1 (for the extra attack roll) he suffers a wound and does not get to make any more attacks that round of combat. If he dies from his own weapon, then he just dies. No more attacks are made from him.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




So should he be rolling his attacks one by one and stop as soon as he rolls a one?
Maybe that's our problem, he rolls them all at once, and I treated it the same way as a plasma weapon shooting, where the second shot still goes off even if the first one kills the target.
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

you make a roll before rolling to attack with abadons weapon to see what bonuses/penalties the weapon give for the round, on a 1 he stabs himself and does not make any attack rolls. This happens before abadon makes any attack rolls.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores






No. It goes like this.
It's Abbadons turn to attack. He has a daemon weapon, so he rolls 1 dice to see how many extra attacks he can make, in addition to his profile number of attacks. If he rolls a 1 to see how many extra attacks he gets, then he suffers the wound. On a roll of 2-6, he gets that many additional attacks, being 2,3,4,5, or 6 more attacks.
You do however have to roll this "extra number of attacks dice" in every subsequent round of combat.
avangingknee has it right as well

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/17 06:39:49


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Daemons weapons give you +D6 extra attacks per round, but on a roll of a "1" for these extra attacks you take a wound (no armour saves, but you can take Inv saves) and DO NOT attack AT ALL, nothing, for that round of combat
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Since I do have a Chaos codex, I see that the daemon weapon rules state he may not make any attacks once the weapon has failed. And a roll of a 1 would be a failed roll to hit, so he'd be re-rollong that.
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





North Carolina

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Since I do have a Chaos codex, I see that the daemon weapon rules state he may not make any attacks once the weapon has failed. And a roll of a 1 would be a failed roll to hit, so he'd be re-rollong that.

Not sure what you were referring to, but the bottom post here has it nailed for how it works.

Lolcanoe wrote:No. It goes like this.
It's Abbadons turn to attack. He has a daemon weapon, so he rolls 1 dice to see how many extra attacks he can make, in addition to his profile number of attacks. If he rolls a 1 to see how many extra attacks he gets, then he suffers the wound. On a roll of 2-6, he gets that many additional attacks, being 2,3,4,5, or 6 more attacks.
You do however have to roll this "extra number of attacks dice" in every subsequent round of combat.
avangingknee has it right as well

   
Made in es
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Madrid

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Since I do have a Chaos codex, I see that the daemon weapon rules state he may not make any attacks once the weapon has failed. And a roll of a 1 would be a failed roll to hit, so he'd be re-rollong that.


But he is not rolling to hit, he is rolling for extra attacks

5.000 2.000

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command, yet you still dare to oppose our will."

Never Forgive, Never Forget
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Since I do have a Chaos codex, I see that the daemon weapon rules state he may not make any attacks once the weapon has failed. And a roll of a 1 would be a failed roll to hit, so he'd be re-rollong that.


No, you're confused.

A daemon weapon works like so:

1. When it's the model's turn to attack, you roll a d6 to see how many extra attacks he gets (in addition to those on his profile and the charging bonus if applicable).
2. If THAT roll is a 1, instead of getting 1 extra attack, he does not attack AT ALL that round, and instead suffers a wound from his own weapon, against which he can make an invulnerable save.
3. If the bonus attack roll is NOT a 1, he just gets the number rolled as bonus attacks and suffers no other penalties that round of combat.

Abaddon's weapon, in addition, may re-roll failed rolls TO WOUND. Not to hit.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Right - the rolling of a one on the extra attacks roll has nothing to do with to-hit or to-wound. It's an entirely separate roll.

Rolling ones to-hit or to-wound have no special effect.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok, my mistake, I skimmed over the comments last night as I was half asleep haha, I didn't realize that it's only when he rolls a one for the extra attacks, a happy medium.
Thank you all.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: