Switch Theme:

Guard Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Maryland

Couple of issues came up at a tourney this weekend and I wanted to get a concensus...

1. Can artillery w/min range fire at a unit that is both in and out of its min range? In the crude drawing below the A, B & C are a single unit. The Grifonn could not shoot at B or C becuase of Min range, but A is outside of min range. Can he aim at C?

A
B
C



Griffon

2. Does a CCS that orders "Bring it Down" or "Fire on my Target" have to fire at the nominated target that the commander issued an order for? Ex. A commander successfully gives a "Bring it Down" order to a HWS for a vehicle. Is the Commander and his squad obligated to shoot at the same vehicle?

It's a simple question doctor... If the moon were made of spare ribs, would you eat it?

5K 3K 3K 3K 300pts 200pts 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





1. I believe you'd miss if you placed the marker on C - but placing it on A would be fine.

2. I don't think orders count as shooting, so you can shoot whatever you like.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

1. I could be wrong, but you would have to place the blast on A, as B & C are too close.

2. If hte order is given to a different unit (not the CCS) then the CCS can shoot at something else entirely. If the order is given to the HW model in the CCS, then the whole unit has to shoot at the target.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






1. Distance to the unit has nothing to do with it, so it doesn't matter if part of the unit is within the minimum range and part of the unit is outside of it. Place the large blast marker over any enemy model in the target unit, then measure to see if the centre of the marker is between the min/max ranges and go from there (Rulebook, pp30 & 32).

2. No, the commander does not have to fire at the same vehicle. There is no rule to say that he must; after all, it's entirely possible for the CCS to order multiple units to bring down different vehicles.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Maryland

Thanks for the help guys.

It's a simple question doctor... If the moon were made of spare ribs, would you eat it?

5K 3K 3K 3K 300pts 200pts 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: