Switch Theme:

onslaught and deep striking trygons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard






uk

In the rules for the onslaught psychic power for tervigons, it says that units hit by it may run and then shoot in the shooting phase. It may not assault unless it has fleet.

I've looked at the faq and couldn't see anything pertaining to it, so my question is thus: If I use onslaught on a trygon that has come in that turn via deepstrike, can it now move, shoot and assault as if I had used onslaught at any other time?

Masochist: Hit me!
Sadist: No.

Hive Fleet Kronos 3500pts
Craftworld {Insert eldar name} 3000 pts
1000pts and growing fast
P+M blog http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/338826.page

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You still do not have permission to assault as you still need permission to assault after deep striking.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Oakland, CA

Even as a nid player Id say no. If you read onslaughts entry it doesn't state that it adds the ability to fleet units to assault, just allows it as they would normally be allowed. So I think the default deepstrike rule of no assaulting would take precedance.

"To crush your opponents, see their figures removed from the table and to hear the lamentations of TFG." -Zathras 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard






uk

Well, I'd read the part " A unit under the effect of onslaught may not assault unless it also has the fleet ability " as ambiguous, in that it implies if you do have fleet (which a trygon does) then it may assault. Any implications about previous restrictions aren't mentioned, but whether this overides them or is subsumed by them is up for grabs.

That point aside, what about the moving and shooting after DS?

Masochist: Hit me!
Sadist: No.

Hive Fleet Kronos 3500pts
Craftworld {Insert eldar name} 3000 pts
1000pts and growing fast
P+M blog http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/338826.page

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Oakland, CA

Onslaught only lets you run AND shoot, both of which are allowed by DS. So if you cast onslaught on a Trygon that just DSd it could run and fire its pulse instead of choosing so it can still be used as a gap closer.

"To crush your opponents, see their figures removed from the table and to hear the lamentations of TFG." -Zathras 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

There are no easter eggs in that bush.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard






uk

Cheers- seemed a little too good to be true. Much obliged to your shared wisdom as always everyone!

Masochist: Hit me!
Sadist: No.

Hive Fleet Kronos 3500pts
Craftworld {Insert eldar name} 3000 pts
1000pts and growing fast
P+M blog http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/338826.page

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: