Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:04:31
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Basically, a standard Psyker (E.g Space Marine Librarian) can only use one psychic power per turn, correct?. However if for example, with my Libby I cast Rage in close combat, could I then take the test for a force sword in that same turn, or is that classed as using a second power in the same turn, thus being illegal. This is something I have been wanting to do in game for a while, but in the name of fairness I haven't tried to avoid any heated debates etc. as to whether or not this is a legal move. So I thought I'd ask the wise people of Dakka?
Thanks for your help in advance
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:07:56
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Are you asking if you can use a force weapons Psychic power in the same turn that you use a different Psychic power?
If you are asking that then the answer is:
If you can cast 2 powers in the same turn then that is allowable, if you can only cast one power, you must choose which power to use.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:08:02
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Activating a force sword is a use of a psychic power, so unless the model can cast multiple psychic powers every turn you can't.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:08:50
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Eldercaveman wrote:Basically, a standard Psyker (E.g Space Marine Librarian) can only use one psychic power per turn, correct?. However if for example, with my Libby I cast Rage in close combat, could I then take the test for a force sword in that same turn, or is that classed as using a second power in the same turn, thus being illegal. This is something I have been wanting to do in game for a while, but in the name of fairness I haven't tried to avoid any heated debates etc. as to whether or not this is a legal move. So I thought I'd ask the wise people of Dakka?
Thanks for your help in advance 
Activating a Force Weapon is using a Psychic Power. If you can only use one/turn and have already used that one...
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:09:01
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch
|
...which is why you should play Thousand Sons.
In fact, it's just about the only reason to play Thousand Sons.
|
text removed by Moderation team. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:10:13
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ok that clears it up then, so basically activating a force weapon is classed as a Psychic power? I figured this would be the case, but it never hurts to ask.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
biccat wrote:...which is why you should play Thousand Sons.
In fact, it's just about the only reason to play Thousand Sons.
Meh, I think I'd rather pay the extra 50 points to upgrade to an Epistolary, than give up my whole BA codex
Thanks for the quick responses everyone
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/20 18:14:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:16:34
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
So Grey Knights never actually get to use their force weapons? Assuming they're going to be casting their spell each turn...
|
Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 18:19:12
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Joey wrote:So Grey Knights never actually get to use their force weapons? Assuming they're going to be casting their spell each turn...
They do if they don't Hammerhand every turn.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 20:46:37
Subject: Can a Librarian force sword the same turn it powered?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote:Joey wrote:So Grey Knights never actually get to use their force weapons? Assuming they're going to be casting their spell each turn...
They do if they don't Hammerhand every turn.
Rig is correct, either Hammerhand, or force weapon activation for the squad with the BoP rule.
Add in a Librarian and the Libby can cast Hammerhand (And Might of the Titan, if he is mastery 2, cant remember) while the squad uses the force weapon activation, that is allowed.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|