Switch Theme:

Skimmer Bases  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





Is there any reason or rule that states you can't play a skimmer without it's base? I want them as low as possible to the ground and just putting them on the ground of glueing the base directly to the bottom would be ideal.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Rules state that that models must be used with the bases they come with.

Not using you base could be grounds for modeling for an advantage because there is obvious benefits to laying something like a Wave Serpent on the table without a base.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





BlueDagger wrote:Rules state that that models must be used with the bases they come with.

Not using you base could be grounds for modeling for an advantage because there is obvious benefits to laying something like a Wave Serpent on the table without a base.


Well I guess what I mean is, skimmers can come with a variety of base heights allowing you to make it as tall or short as you want. Why would gluing it to the base, like any other model, not be ok? It will still be on the base.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

There is no clear guideline on the size of the post, so yes you could glue the base to the vehicle with no post, however expect to get flack about it anyone involves a TO.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/22 19:05:43


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






That is playing with a model, modeled for gaming advantage. 40k uses "true line of sight", if your skimmer is laying on ground, that is an cover/LOS advantage. Ask your local players for their opinion.

2012 tourney record:
Eldar 18W-2L-5D Overall x4
Deathwing 21W-7L-6D Overall x4 Best General x1 Best Appearance x3, 19th place Adepticon 40k Champs.
Space Wolves 2W-0L-1D Best Painted x1

Armies:
1850+ pts. 3000+ pts. 2000+

40k bits go to my ebay... http://stores.shop.ebay.com/K-K-Gaming-and-Bits  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





dabupp wrote:
BlueDagger wrote:Rules state that that models must be used with the bases they come with.

Not using you base could be grounds for modeling for an advantage because there is obvious benefits to laying something like a Wave Serpent on the table without a base.


Well I guess what I mean is, skimmers can come with a variety of base heights allowing you to make it as tall or short as you want. Why would gluing it to the base, like any other model, not be ok? It will still be on the base.

A flight base is the flat part against the table and the post.

Use the short post and the base and you're fine. Using just the flat part that lies on the table is not using the base as provided.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





The other reason I am asking this is because the thing part of the base's never fit my Eldar tanks properly, and they always sagged, as such I had to glue them originally and now many of them have snapped off. I'm getting tired of buying new ones.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Where can I read the rule about this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/22 19:20:57


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Page 3 says you have to use the base.
Page 71 for skimmer rules referencing the base numerous times.

GW's website to verify that a flight stand is in fact the transparent circle part plus the stand.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





rigeld2 wrote:Page 3 says you have to use the base.
Page 71 for skimmer rules referencing the base numerous times.

GW's website to verify that a flight stand is in fact the transparent circle part plus the stand.


It also says "The skimmer's base is effectively ignored" for everything but assaulting, which would make no difference for the Wave-Serpent/Falcon/Etc. I still don't see how you are allowed to choose the height you want, but just having it on the clear base itself would not count as being "glued to the base". Also becuase though you are getting a benefit, you also cannot see over things easily and as such its a given and take.

Are all vehicles considered height 3 still? Or did they get rid of that measurement? Just curious if I can match the height up to my Leman Russ model and call it a day (which would be pretty much glued to the base).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/22 19:36:29


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





dabupp wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:Page 3 says you have to use the base.
Page 71 for skimmer rules referencing the base numerous times.

GW's website to verify that a flight stand is in fact the transparent circle part plus the stand.


It also says "The skimmer's base is effectively ignored" for everything but assaulting, which would make no difference for the Wave-Serpent/Falcon/Etc.

As far as measuring, yes.
For things like Line of Sight, you can't draw LoS to the base (because it's ignored) but the vehicle will be higher than "on the ground".

I still don't see how you are allowed to choose the height you want, but just having it on the clear base itself would not count as being "glued to the base".

You were supplied with multiple heights. You're required to use a base. There's no requirement as to which base.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
dabupp wrote:Also becuase though you are getting a benefit, you also cannot see over things easily and as such its a given and take.

Nine times out of 10, being able to hide a tank is better than it not being able to shoot.

Are all vehicles considered height 3 still? Or did they get rid of that measurement? Just curious if I can match the height up to my Leman Russ model and call it a day (which would be pretty much glued to the base).

Height measurements are gone - everything is True LoS. If you can see it, that's all that matters. Hence the reason the base matters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/22 19:38:49


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





rigeld2 wrote:
dabupp wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:Page 3 says you have to use the base.
Page 71 for skimmer rules referencing the base numerous times.

GW's website to verify that a flight stand is in fact the transparent circle part plus the stand.


It also says "The skimmer's base is effectively ignored" for everything but assaulting, which would make no difference for the Wave-Serpent/Falcon/Etc.

As far as measuring, yes.
For things like Line of Sight, you can't draw LoS to the base (because it's ignored) but the vehicle will be higher than "on the ground".

I still don't see how you are allowed to choose the height you want, but just having it on the clear base itself would not count as being "glued to the base".

You were supplied with multiple heights. You're required to use a base. There's no requirement as to which base.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
dabupp wrote:Also becuase though you are getting a benefit, you also cannot see over things easily and as such its a given and take.

Nine times out of 10, being able to hide a tank is better than it not being able to shoot.

Are all vehicles considered height 3 still? Or did they get rid of that measurement? Just curious if I can match the height up to my Leman Russ model and call it a day (which would be pretty much glued to the base).

Height measurements are gone - everything is True LoS. If you can see it, that's all that matters. Hence the reason the base matters.


I wish they would FAQ or Errata that the heights actually mattered. I just don't get how you can choose your height but you couldn't choose like a 1cm base or the base the comes on a GJB.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





dabupp wrote:I just don't get how you can choose your height but you couldn't choose like a 1cm base or the base the comes on a GJB.

You can't do either of those things because that's not the base that was supplied.
You were supplied with the choice of what, 2 bases (difference being post height)?
Those are your options.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





rigeld2 wrote:
dabupp wrote:I just don't get how you can choose your height but you couldn't choose like a 1cm base or the base the comes on a GJB.

You can't do either of those things because that's not the base that was supplied.
You were supplied with the choice of what, 2 bases (difference being post height)?
Those are your options.


So the fact that the this is never brought up in the big book (the height of the base) or never clarified means nothing? RAW is I just have to have it glued to the base, no?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/22 19:51:46


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





dabupp wrote:RAW rule is I have to have it glued to the base, no?

Yes.
And Flight bases (what skimmers use) include the post.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





rigeld2 wrote:
dabupp wrote:RAW rule is I have to have it glued to the base, no?

Yes.
And Flight bases (what skimmers use) include the post.


Where is that clarified?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also some googling has found most people say that you can change the height to a minimum of just the base itself. You have to understand though that you are penalizing yourself as you will not be able to shoot under-neath the Skimmer anymore due to LOS. *shrug* And that was found looking for tournament rulings on the matter.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/22 20:01:11


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





dabupp wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
dabupp wrote:RAW rule is I have to have it glued to the base, no?

Yes.
And Flight bases (what skimmers use) include the post.


Where is that clarified?

Go to GWs site and buy flight bases.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also some googling has found most people say that you can change the height to a minimum of just the base itself. You have to understand though that you are penalizing yourself as you will not be able to shoot under-neath the Skimmer anymore due to LOS. *shrug* And that was found looking for tournament rulings on the matter.

Sure - the TO can make whatever rulings he wants. You're asking in YMDC which debates RAW.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Skimmer bases come in 2 parts, the disk and the stand. You have some leeway choosing which stand to use.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





rigeld2 wrote:
dabupp wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
dabupp wrote:RAW rule is I have to have it glued to the base, no?

Yes.
And Flight bases (what skimmers use) include the post.


Where is that clarified?

Go to GWs site and buy flight bases.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also some googling has found most people say that you can change the height to a minimum of just the base itself. You have to understand though that you are penalizing yourself as you will not be able to shoot under-neath the Skimmer anymore due to LOS. *shrug* And that was found looking for tournament rulings on the matter.

Sure - the TO can make whatever rulings he wants. You're asking in YMDC which debates RAW.


If I'm going off RAW, than I will be going off "The skimmer's base is effectively ignored, except when assaulting a skimmer, in which case models may move into contact with vehicle's hull, it's base or both. Considering everything but Jetbikes and Vypers cover their base with the hull, I see it as insignificant. I still have a base on it, and it is glued down according to the other RAW rules. Until 6th Edition (where hopefully they address it directly) I see no RAW that would effectively invalidate this thinking at all. *shrug* Thank you for the helpful pages in the rulebook though, as that was most importantly what I was looking for.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

The rulebook doesn't outlaw Modeling For Advantage at all. It is perfectly within the rules to modify your models to gain in-game advantages.

But, almost everyone views this as entirely against the spirit of the rules. People will refuse to play you, and tournaments will disqualify you.

Stick them on the bases they were meant to be on. If them breaking off is a problem (I play Eldar, I know your pain), simply make the hole in the bottom of the vehicle a bit larger so that you can fit a bit more of the flight stand inside.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





dabupp wrote:If I'm going off RAW, than I will be going off "The skimmer's base is effectively ignored, except when assaulting a skimmer, in which case models may move into contact with vehicle's hull, it's base or both.

Yes - the base is ignored.

You're missing the fact that even the short post adds height which is NOT ignored.

A TO or your buddies can rule what they like. The RAW says you need the posts.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Grakmar wrote:But, almost everyone views this as entirely against the spirit of the rules. People will refuse to play you, and tournaments will disqualify you.

And ultimately, since 40K is a game that you play against other people, this is what matters.

Regardless of what the rules appear to allow here, (and I would disagree that leaving the flight stem off satisfies the requirement to put the model on the base it is supplied with) deliberately lowering the height of your skimmers is going to annoy people, since they're just going to assume that you're doing it to give them a lower LOS profile... and that almost universally makes people grumpy.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Facts:

- Rulebook states to use the base that comes with the model
- The skimmer base comes with post an circle just liek the GW site sells the bases
- The rules state that modeling for advantage is agaisnt the rules
- Having a skimmer on the ground is an advantage for cover
- If your posts are snapping, you can magnetize them and never have to worry about it again.

You may not think that it is a big issue to Model for advantage for your Wave Serpents. However ask someone if they have an issue with a StormRaven glued to it's oval base to get cover all the time when it typically can never get cover without fullouting.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





Rulebook is irrelevant...if you try to run a skimmer on a base smaller than the one supplied, your opponent will laugh in your face.

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

"The skimmer's base is effectively ignored" does not equal "The skimmer's base is removed". Ignoring the base doesn't mean that it goes away, nor does it mean that your skimmer is now laying on the table.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Ottawa Ontario Canada

If you look on ebay, you can find metal posts identical the plastic ones, They fit the base and the vehicle and will not break.



http://www.ebay.ca/itm/1-1-2-X3-Aluminum-Flight-Stem-Battlefleet-Gothic-40k-/220863297939?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item336c7a7993

As most have said, do what you feel but you won't have many people wanting to play you.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/23 04:33:50


Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did.  
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






The OP seems to fighting tooth and nail to defend his modelling for advantage. Here's a big tip: if you think you are getting away with something, you are.probably doing something you shouldn't. And if women's pulled this on you, how quickly would you cry foul? Especially after you were denied shots due to blocked LOS...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dallas Texas

the shortest post is like an inch high, just make everyone that high lol.

5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.



 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Ottawa Ontario Canada

I would also like to point out that the base is important for more than los, it's important because it's much harder to end your movement in/on impassable terrain with the flying base than without it. I've seen people using skimmers without bases try and pull all sorts of s**t. In addition to los for those wishing to fire on the skimmer, in the case of skimmer transports, it might mean the difference between being able to target infantry units that disembark and not (completely obscurred). .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/23 07:34:56


Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did.  
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

There's a company out there that makes attachments for the skimmer bases. They are small metal pieces that glue onto the plastic and glue into the hole of the model then they have sharp teeth that rotate into place and hole the model so that it will not rotate. I forget who makes them but my one friend who plays them had them and suggested I get them for my Tau since my devilfish kept breaking. They really don't add height to the post and if you are that concerned about height the small post is about half an inch I believe shorter than the other one.

Even if there are issues with the base that is sold you are only permitted to change bases if you use a custom base AND you hav your opponent's permission. I have Astorath on a 40 mm base because it is a custom hero base that looks sweet. Now if my opponent has a problem with it I also bring a standard 25 mm base that I can switch him over to to prevent any problems there might be.

Easy solution - if you are set on playing without bases then bring them along so if someone has an issue then you can put them on the bases. Just know that by not using the bases you are in fact going against the rules that state you must use the base that came with the model which is RAW.

Ignoring the base does not say remove the base. If you go by RAW all of your skimmers without a base will be immobilized at the beginning of the game because you remove an immobilized skimmer's base.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

That or they are Wrecked.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: