| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 18:48:59
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So with grey knights does special rule "The Aegis", does it stack? The aegis says if an enemy psyker targets a unit with the aegis special rule or a unit with a model that has said special rule they are at -1 Ld for the psychic test. Example blood angels player casts blood lance that hits 3 units with the aegis is he at -3 Ld for his test? Also, if an independent charater joins an unit and they both have the aegis is that -2 or just -1?
|
2012 tourney record:
Eldar 18W-2L-5D Overall x4
Deathwing 21W-7L-6D Overall x4 Best General x1 Best Appearance x3, 19th place Adepticon 40k Champs.
Space Wolves 2W-0L-1D Best Painted x1
Armies:
1850+ pts. 3000+ pts. 2000+
40k bits go to my ebay... http://stores.shop.ebay.com/K-K-Gaming-and-Bits |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 18:53:51
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Old Man Ultramarine wrote:So with grey knights does special rule "The Aegis", does it stack? The aegis says if an enemy psyker targets a unit with the aegis special rule or a unit with a model that has said special rule they are at -1 Ld for the psychic test. Example blood angels player casts blood lance that hits 3 units with the aegis is he at -3 Ld for his test? Also, if an independent charater joins an unit and they both have the aegis is that -2 or just -1?
With Blood Lance only the first unit is the "target", so only the first one would apply.
I don't have the wording in front of me for any of the other scenarios.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 18:55:18
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It does not stack, even powers like blood lance and jaws that hit multiple units still only target one unit (the other units hit are colateral). When an IC is in a unit that still counts as one unit - otherwise you could pick out the IC with shooting. You could even argue that blood lance does not target since you just pick a direction and roll distance but I wont get into that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 18:55:44
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks, I'm asking for a local GK player.
|
2012 tourney record:
Eldar 18W-2L-5D Overall x4
Deathwing 21W-7L-6D Overall x4 Best General x1 Best Appearance x3, 19th place Adepticon 40k Champs.
Space Wolves 2W-0L-1D Best Painted x1
Armies:
1850+ pts. 3000+ pts. 2000+
40k bits go to my ebay... http://stores.shop.ebay.com/K-K-Gaming-and-Bits |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 19:14:13
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
bagtagger wrote:You could even argue that blood lance does not target since you just pick a direction and roll distance but I wont get into that.
You could try and argue that, but you'd probably be shot down relatively quickly.
Jaws uses the same mechanic (pick a direction, lay down a line) and has a target.
You can only charge what you target with a PSA (which Blood Lance is) and the BA FAQ says:
Q: Blood Lance is a psychic shooting attack that can hit
multiple units. If the Librarian wishes to assault after
using Blood Lance, which unit(s) is he permitted to
assault? (p63)
A: Only the first unit hit by the Blood Lance.
Put all that in a blender and you get a useless jumble of letters and symbols. But read it and you'll figure out that Blood Lance targets the first unit you hit.
Now... you don't actually have a target until after you make the test and roll the distance... which means Aegis wouldn't affect you. But you do have a target.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 19:54:59
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Now... you don't actually have a target until after you make the test and roll the distance... which means Aegis wouldn't affect you. But you do have a target.
Technically that is true of ALL psychic powers. Obviously, GW sucks at writing rules. Anyway, unless you want to suggest that Aegis doesn't work at all, ever, then it has to work against blood lance.
Now whee it gets real fun is trying to figure out which powers are "targetting" the GK. Force weapons and Heroic Strike provoke a lot of arguments on this.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 20:05:56
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sir_Prometheus wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Now... you don't actually have a target until after you make the test and roll the distance... which means Aegis wouldn't affect you. But you do have a target.
Technically that is true of ALL psychic powers. Obviously, GW sucks at writing rules. Anyway, unless you want to suggest that Aegis doesn't work at all, ever, then it has to work against blood lance.
Not true - Warp Lance would get hit by Aegis because you pick a target then roll to hit.
Blood Lance draws the line and THEN gets the target.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/22 22:25:04
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Sir_Prometheus wrote:Now whee it gets real fun is trying to figure out which powers are "targetting" the GK. Force weapons and Heroic Strike provoke a lot of arguments on this.
At least Ork Weirdboyz and Warpheads care not for it - they are forced to succeed on the Psychic test before randomly rolling what power they have to try using. So there's no target until several steps after the test. ;-)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/23 14:15:32
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Spetulhu wrote:At least Ork Weirdboyz and Warpheads care not for it - they are forced to succeed on the Psychic test before randomly rolling what power they have to try using. So there's no target until several steps after the test. ;-)
True, it's all good for Orks.
Until their head explodes...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/23 14:35:09
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
It doesn't stack and it isn't that good to be honest.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/23 14:48:45
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
rigeld2 wrote:Sir_Prometheus wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Now... you don't actually have a target until after you make the test and roll the distance... which means Aegis wouldn't affect you. But you do have a target.
Technically that is true of ALL psychic powers. Obviously, GW sucks at writing rules. Anyway, unless you want to suggest that Aegis doesn't work at all, ever, then it has to work against blood lance.
Not true - Warp Lance would get hit by Aegis because you pick a target then roll to hit.
Blood Lance draws the line and THEN gets the target.
No. It's test THEN target, look it up.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/23 14:52:44
Subject: Grey Knight Aegis
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sir_Prometheus wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Sir_Prometheus wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Now... you don't actually have a target until after you make the test and roll the distance... which means Aegis wouldn't affect you. But you do have a target.
Technically that is true of ALL psychic powers. Obviously, GW sucks at writing rules. Anyway, unless you want to suggest that Aegis doesn't work at all, ever, then it has to work against blood lance.
Not true - Warp Lance would get hit by Aegis because you pick a target then roll to hit.
Blood Lance draws the line and THEN gets the target.
No. It's test THEN target, look it up.
Right, which means Aegis never works.
Giving it the benefit of the doubt, Warp Lance would get hit by Aegis.
Blood Lance has tested, picked a direction, rolled a distance, laid the line and only THEN gets a target. Significantly different from many other powers. That was my point.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|