Switch Theme:

Couple of Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Scuttling Genestealer




Ontario

Just got a couple of quick questions that have been bugging me. I have the tyranid and space marine codexs and the rulebook, so if i missed something then can you point me to a page, instead of just saying "check your codex". Thanks

1) Page 69 of the space marine codex says "if a drop pod scatters on top of another model then REDUCE scatter distance by the minimum required in order to avoid the obstacle". I read that as you move the drop pod closer to where you wanted it, since it says reduce scatter, but I've played people who says it goes the minimum distance to avoid the obstacle no matter what direction. The rules look pretty obvious to me, but what do you think?

2) Zoanthropes have a 5+ save, and a warp field save of 3++. Is there any reason why the invul save is better then the regular save? Is it just a fluff thing, or is there some rules where you have to use your normal save instead of your invul?

3) If you have 3 zoans in a group, do you have to do psychic tests for each of them, or just one for the group? Same basic question for a group of carnifexs with crushing claws. 3D3s, or 1D3 for all 3 fexes?

4) with the doom of malan'tai, when he causes a leadership test for spirit leech, it says no armour saves are allowed, i assume invul saves are still allowed, what about cover saves? If they fail the leadership test, do they have to run away?

5) The Parasite of Mortrex causes toughness tests. Maybe I'm blind, but I can't seem to find what these are. I assume that if your toughness is 4, then you have to roll a D6 and get less then 4. What happens if you roll 4, is it a pass like a leadership test is, or a fail. Are toughness 6+ models immune then?

6) Old One Eye has crushing claws and living battering ram. Crushing claws says that you attack at initiative one regardless of modifiers, so do you ignore Living battering ram? Whats the point of him having it then, since crushing claws aren't optional with him?

7) I don't have the Ork codex, but a buddy of mine plays them and says that when using snikrot, he can choose which table edge to come in off of. Does this include the foes table edge, or just left or right?

Salamanders - 4500 pts
Hive Fleet Wendigo - 5000+ pts
Vampire Counts - 2500 pts Sold
Ogre Kingdoms - 4000 pts 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Mongooli wrote:Just got a couple of quick questions that have been bugging me. I have the tyranid and space marine codexs and the rulebook, so if i missed something then can you point me to a page, instead of just saying "check your codex". Thanks

1) Page 69 of the space marine codex says "if a drop pod scatters on top of another model then REDUCE scatter distance by the minimum required in order to avoid the obstacle". I read that as you move the drop pod closer to where you wanted it, since it says reduce scatter, but I've played people who says it goes the minimum distance to avoid the obstacle no matter what direction. The rules look pretty obvious to me, but what do you think?

You reduce the scatter, that means you move closer to where you wanted your drop pod to land.

2) Zoanthropes have a 5+ save, and a warp field save of 3++. Is there any reason why the invul save is better then the regular save? Is it just a fluff thing, or is there some rules where you have to use your normal save instead of your invul?


I recall GK being able to negate Invuln saves at one point. I don't know if it is still true however.

3) If you have 3 zoans in a group, do you have to do psychic tests for each of them, or just one for the group?


Covered in the Tyranid FAQ

Same basic question for a group of carnifexs with crushing claws. 3D3s, or 1D3 for all 3 fexes?


1D3 for each individual Fex

4) with the doom of malan'tai, when he causes a leadership test for spirit leech, it says no armour saves are allowed, i assume invul saves are still allowed, what about cover saves?


Covered in the Tyranid FAQ

If they fail the leadership test, do they have to run away?


It's not a morale test, so no, they would not fall back if they fail.

5) The Parasite of Mortrex causes toughness tests. Maybe I'm blind, but I can't seem to find what these are. I assume that if your toughness is 4, then you have to roll a D6 and get less then 4. What happens if you roll 4, is it a pass like a leadership test is, or a fail. Are toughness 6+ models immune then?


Rulebook Page 8, left side under "Characteristic Tests"

6) Old One Eye has crushing claws and living battering ram. Crushing claws says that you attack at initiative one regardless of modifiers, so do you ignore Living battering ram? Whats the point of him having it then, since crushing claws aren't optional with him?


Covered in the Tyranid FAQ


7) I don't have the Ork codex, but a buddy of mine plays them and says that when using snikrot, he can choose which table edge to come in off of. Does this include the foes table edge, or just left or right?


Outflanking is only the short table edges.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Happyjew - Snikrot does NOT outflank, he Ambushes, which is ANY table edge he likes.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Apologies. I assume everything else is right though?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Scuttling Genestealer




Ontario

Thanks HappyJew, The only one there I'm still not 100% on is number 6. The only thing I see on it in the faq is that he does in fact have living battering ram, but I knew that, the question is does it matter because he has crushing claws? I'm guessing, based on what I read, that he's initiative 1 100% of the time, right?

Salamanders - 4500 pts
Hive Fleet Wendigo - 5000+ pts
Vampire Counts - 2500 pts Sold
Ogre Kingdoms - 4000 pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He has LBR because he is a carnifex, and they are being consistent - for once - but you are right in that he is always I1
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

@ Nosferatu - Old One Eye has crushing claws and scything talons.
Aren't they both special close combat weapons?
And as such, wouldn't the nid player choose which special weapon it would attack with.
If so, if Old One Eye attacked with the scything talons, he would gain the benefits of living battering ram, would he not?

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in ca
Scuttling Genestealer




Ontario

I'm pretty sure that nid players get to use the benefits of all their special weapons, so if they had scything talons and rending claws then they would get to re-roll 1's AND rend on 6. I assume the same applies here.

Ok, one more question. Move through cover. It says "units with this rule roll an extra D6 when moving through difficult terrain." Does this include the running and assaulting phases, or just movement?

Salamanders - 4500 pts
Hive Fleet Wendigo - 5000+ pts
Vampire Counts - 2500 pts Sold
Ogre Kingdoms - 4000 pts 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Running is always just a single D6 (except for dark eldar combat drugs).

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in ca
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





South Korea

nosferatu1001 wrote:Happyjew - Snikrot does NOT outflank, he Ambushes, which is ANY table edge he likes.


Seconded. This has come up in a tournament, and it is important to note that Snikrot does NOT outflank, he ambushes.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

As I said, apologies on the Snikrot. That's what I get for answering without a codex on hand. As it is Old One Eye (I'm wrong about it being in the FAQ, sorry), does not get any benefit of LBR, he has it solely because he is a Carnifex. Also as was pointed out, Tyranids do not have CCW per se,. They gain the benefits of all their weapons, however can not claim bonus attacks for 2 CCW.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




time wizard wrote:@ Nosferatu - Old One Eye has crushing claws and scything talons.
Aren't they both special close combat weapons?
And as such, wouldn't the nid player choose which special weapon it would attack with.
If so, if Old One Eye attacked with the scything talons, he would gain the benefits of living battering ram, would he not?


Page 32 or 33 of the nid codex - Nids dont use CCW, ever, never mind special CCW.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
time wizard wrote:@ Nosferatu - Old One Eye has crushing claws and scything talons.
Aren't they both special close combat weapons?
And as such, wouldn't the nid player choose which special weapon it would attack with.
If so, if Old One Eye attacked with the scything talons, he would gain the benefits of living battering ram, would he not?


Page 32 or 33 of the nid codex - Nids dont use CCW, ever, never mind special CCW.


Page 33 sasy nids "...do not wield close combat weapons as such..." and that they never receive bonuses for attacking with more than one close combat weapon. But they certainly use CCW, and some of them have special rules.

Page 83 lists all the Tyranid close combat weapons. It says on that page that Tyranids with claws and teeth count as having a normal close combat weapon.

So wouldn't that make crushing claws, lash whips, rending claws and scything talons 'special close combat weapons'?

And wouldn't they then follow the rules for special close combat weapons in the main rulebook?

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Anoka County, MN

time wizard wrote:Running is always just a single D6 (except for dark eldar combat drugs).


Also Hormagaunts have a special rule Leaping Bound I think, which allows them 3D6 pick the highest when they run. This combined with their MTC allows them 3D6 for Movement, Running (Fleeting), and assaulting. Hopefully that was OT since the OP was asking multiple questions about Tyranids.

Fighting crime in a future time! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Correct. They have bounding leap.

Interesting to note that bounding leap says when they run, "...they roll three dice and use the highest to determine how far they move."

Doesn't say 3D6 though! So there might be the possibility to roll 3D8 or 3D10 or even 3D20!

Nah...just kidding! It would have to specify anything other than the standard D6!

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




No. Nids have a specific rule that allows them to use all CC weapons but never benifit from the +1 attack in the codex. Ill have to find the exact quote when I get my codex infront of me.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

The rule says they never benefit from the +1 attack and that it is included in their profile, but it doesn't say they use all their CCW in attacks.

I'm just throwing it out here for discussion.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You won't find it in hte codex, because it is in the FAQ:

Q: Do Tyranid models combine the effects of multiple Tyranid Close Combat weapons in an assault? For example, if I have model that has both Scything Talons and Rending Claws, do I re-roll results of 1 To Hit and still have the Rending special rule. (p83)
A: Yes.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Ahhh! Thank you for that Happyjew!

I'll have to re-ead the FAQ.

So then Old One Eye would re-roll as per scything talons, and get the extra attacks for crushing claws but still strike at I1.


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Correct.
   
Made in ca
Scuttling Genestealer




Ontario

PipeAlley wrote:
time wizard wrote:Running is always just a single D6 (except for dark eldar combat drugs).


Also Hormagaunts have a special rule Leaping Bound I think, which allows them 3D6 pick the highest when they run. This combined with their MTC allows them 3D6 for Movement, Running (Fleeting), and assaulting. Hopefully that was OT since the OP was asking multiple questions about Tyranids.


Yeah, i knew about the hormagaunts, I was wondering about others with the moves through cover rule.

Another question, If i use boneswords against eternal warriors, do they have to take a leadership test still? I doubt that they die if they fail, but do they at least take an extra wound?

Salamanders - 4500 pts
Hive Fleet Wendigo - 5000+ pts
Vampire Counts - 2500 pts Sold
Ogre Kingdoms - 4000 pts 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Mongooli wrote:Another question, If i use boneswords against eternal warriors, do they have to take a leadership test still?

As Boneswords only force a LD test or suffer ID, they would not have any effect on Eternal Warriors.
Mongooli wrote:I doubt that they die if they fail, but do they at least take an extra wound?

Why would they/Where are you getting this from?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Scuttling Genestealer




Ontario

^Not getting it from anywhere, just hoping i guess. In my head it kinda makes sense along the same lines as if you're fearless you can't get swept after CC, but you do take extra wounds, or atleast, you can take extra wounds. Anyways, I was just asking. Thanks.

Salamanders - 4500 pts
Hive Fleet Wendigo - 5000+ pts
Vampire Counts - 2500 pts Sold
Ogre Kingdoms - 4000 pts 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: