Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/31 17:08:01
Subject: 2 dedicated transports?
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Naperville
|
As the subject thingy said, can one unit buy two different dedicated transports. For example, can a SM tactical squad buy a rhino, start the game it in, but ALSO buy a drop pod, have it empty, and use it for locator beacon goodness
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/31 17:11:48
Subject: 2 dedicated transports?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
Ireland
|
I highly doubt it. I don't have the Space Marine codex near me but in the Necron Codex, a Necron warrior squad:
May select either a Ghost Ark or Night Scythe as a dedicated transport
So one or the other, and I imagine it is the same in SM.
|
By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!
- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/31 17:28:37
Subject: Re:2 dedicated transports?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
There was a debate about this on here quite some time ago.
The SM codex does say either a rhino or a razorback, but then goes on to say if the squad numbers 10 models may take a drop pod.
This has been interpreted to mean you can't take a drop pod unless you have 10 models, and that the tac squad may only take 1 dedicated transport, but it could have been locked in by adding the phrase, "...if the squad numbers 10 models may instead take a drop pod."
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/31 17:59:51
Subject: 2 dedicated transports?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
I don't have SM to hand but the BA says that a unit can take "any dedicated transport (pg 90)". SM codex may be up for grabs but the rest I think are covered.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/31 18:00:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/31 20:57:39
Subject: Re:2 dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I would say no because the rules use the singular "A Razorback, A Rhino, A Transport" and use doesn't list the the transports as a plural. It refers to the choice as "Or" not " and/or".
I don't know if i'm sounding harsh, just trying to be clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 01:14:33
Subject: 2 dedicated transports?
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
Yeah, I think that all though the lack of Complete clarity may be defined as a loophole and therefore debatable, I would probably take issue with my opponant taking advantage of it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|