Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 11:49:14
Subject: Lords, Crypteks, ICs?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The necron codex lists all HQ as characters. The lord and Crypteks are listed as characters. My question is if you attach a lord to say a squad of warriors as per the necron codex rules, can he be targeted in CC the same as an independant character? If so, does this mean that they can detach from the unit and wander off on their own? Also, can you not attach a lord or cryptek to a unit and make it wander independently on its own?
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 12:48:53
Subject: Lords, Crypteks, ICs?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Basimpo wrote:The necron codex lists all HQ as characters. The lord and Crypteks are listed as characters. My question is if you attach a lord to say a squad of warriors as per the necron codex rules, can he be targeted in CC the same as an independant character? If so, does this mean that they can detach from the unit and wander off on their own? Also, can you not attach a lord or cryptek to a unit and make it wander independently on its own?
Thanks!
No, they count as upgrade characters. Only those models who have the Independent Character special rule can (and must, if you want to hit them) be targeted separately in CC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 12:52:00
Subject: Lords, Crypteks, ICs?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Sioux Falls, SD
|
No to all three questions
1-Targeting is limited to Independent characters only, not characters.
2&3:
-A Royal Court can ONLY be taken with a HQ choice. They MUST be part of that HQ choice and MUST be deployed with the specific HQ that they are chosen with.
-Since the entire royal court is all infantry, they do not have any base rules that allow them to split off from it (just like a squad of Warriors or Immortals)
-They DO have a special rule that allows them to join at the beginning of the game to a list of specific models.This allows you to place a Lord or Cryptek with the listed squads, but it then becomes part of that squad FOREVER. Even if the rest of the squad is wiped to a man and they EL back, they cannot join any units, even the original Court - they are basically a Sergeant running around alone.
Not having the word INDEPENDENT has a lot of impact.
|
Raver Tau: Just Started; Record (WLD): 0-0-0
 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 14:17:40
Subject: Lords, Crypteks, ICs?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Amaraxis wrote:-A Royal Court can ONLY be taken with a HQ choice. They MUST be part of that HQ choice and MUST be deployed with the specific HQ that they are chosen with.
A Royal Court acts like a Space Marine Command Squad. The HQ unit (i.e. Necron Overlord) unlocks the ability to field the unit but there is no requirement that they be fielded together during the game.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 19:14:18
Subject: Re:Lords, Crypteks, ICs?
|
 |
Commanding Orc Boss
|
Educational.
|
KoW Ogres/Basileans/Elves
WHFB Orcs & Goblins
WH40k Necrons
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'Lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/01 20:27:36
Subject: Re:Lords, Crypteks, ICs?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
OHHHH ok its listed under SPECIAL RULES for independant character....ok...DUH me! Jeez *facepalm* I was looking at unit type!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|