Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 03:30:18
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Can one use Eldrad's Divination rule to place a unit that is in reserve onto the field, within one's deployment zone?
Eldrad's Divination rule states that the player may reposition D3+1 units in the army after deployment.
Uusally, I would say "It says reposition, so I cannot deploy anything from reserve because it doesn't allow me to redeploy" but the Eldar FAQ states:
Q. With Divination, does the redeployment of units
take place before or after the free movement of units
with the scout special rule? (p51)
A. Before. It says 'after both sides have deployed' and
the scouts move happens 'before the first player begins
his first turn'.
And whilst the question itself has no bearing, the wording of it does; it is stated here that Divination is 'redeployment', which gives basis to a claim that 'reposition' = 'redeployment' for Divination.
With this in mind, would I be able to deploy units onto the table from reserve? Or would the wording of the rule itself take precedent over the wording present in the FAQ?
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 03:43:26
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
New Zealand
|
I'm pretty sure you can't use Divination to deploy units from reserve, or pull units back off the table into reserves. I would say that the original wording is what matters here. You have to be very careful trying to apply things from an FAQ question to rulings, in general you should be looking at the wording of the answer not the question.
Compare Divination to Lady Malys' redeployment rules to see how it would need to be worded in order to work like this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 03:47:15
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Avatar 720 wrote:Can one use Eldrad's Divination rule to place a unit that is in reserve onto the field, within one's deployment zone?
Eldrad's Divination rule states that the player may reposition D3+1 units in the army after deployment.
Uusally, I would say "It says reposition, so I cannot deploy anything from reserve because it doesn't allow me to redeploy" but the Eldar FAQ states:
Q. With Divination, does the redeployment of units
take place before or after the free movement of units
with the scout special rule? (p51)
A. Before. It says 'after both sides have deployed' and
the scouts move happens 'before the first player begins
his first turn'.
And whilst the question itself has no bearing, the wording of it does; it is stated here that Divination is 'redeployment', which gives basis to a claim that 'reposition' = 'redeployment' for Divination.
With this in mind, would I be able to deploy units onto the table from reserve? Or would the wording of the rule itself take precedent over the wording present in the FAQ?
Please, for the love of all that is holy never swap between third and first person again.
I would say that the models have to stay on the board or stay off if the situation permits. I don't think Eldrad can bring a tank onto the board because he whims it, especially when telling a guardian squad to feth off.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 06:55:49
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
If the unit is on the table, you can move it (re-position)
If it's in reserve, you can't move the unit.
It only works on units that have already been deployed, so no.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 12:59:54
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Scipio Africanus wrote:Avatar 720 wrote:Can one use Eldrad's Divination rule to place a unit that is in reserve onto the field, within one's deployment zone?
Eldrad's Divination rule states that the player may reposition D3+1 units in the army after deployment.
Uusally, I would say "It says reposition, so I cannot deploy anything from reserve because it doesn't allow me to redeploy" but the Eldar FAQ states:
Q. With Divination, does the redeployment of units
take place before or after the free movement of units
with the scout special rule? (p51)
A. Before. It says 'after both sides have deployed' and
the scouts move happens 'before the first player begins
his first turn'.
And whilst the question itself has no bearing, the wording of it does; it is stated here that Divination is 'redeployment', which gives basis to a claim that 'reposition' = 'redeployment' for Divination.
With this in mind, would I be able to deploy units onto the table from reserve? Or would the wording of the rule itself take precedent over the wording present in the FAQ?
Please, for the love of all that is holy never swap between third and first person again.
I would say that the models have to stay on the board or stay off if the situation permits. I don't think Eldrad can bring a tank onto the board because he whims it, especially when telling a guardian squad to feth off.
Excuse me? If you're talking about 'one' to 'I' then no person change took place, the initial question was simply applying to anyone in general, whilst the second specifically to me. Other than that, i'm not quite sure what you're talking about, since everything there is in first person...
As for the actual replies, only Powerguy seems to have replied to the question as a whole. marv, I was asking since the FAQ states 'redeployment' not 'reposition', which is the entire reason why this thread was created, because it is possible to move a unit from reserve to the table if you are allowed to redeploy parts of your army. As for working on units already deployed, where does it say this? It says that I can reposition (redeploy if you go by the FAQ) D3+1 units in my army, not on the board.
@Powerguy: I agree with pulling back into reserve, because even if reposition = redeployment, moving a unit into reserve is undeploying it, so disallowed either way. But I still don't know why it's so easy to ignore what the FAQ calls it. I know care has to be taken, but why dismiss the wording of the question? In some cases it can be as important, if not moreso, than the answer itself. Lady Malys' rule, however similar, is not Divination, and is from a newer codex made for a more recent edition than the Eldar codex, can we really use her rule as precedent for an older one that is only similar in it effect?
I'm not trying to say you're wrong, because I don't think I can either, but I seem to be advocating the devil a lot recently.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 13:30:41
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Putting items in reserve is not "redeploying" them, as reserves is INSTEAD OF deployment. Same for going out of - you are not "redeploying" the units as they were not deployed in the first place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 17:47:25
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Putting items in reserve is not "redeploying" them, as reserves is INSTEAD OF deployment. Same for going out of - you are not "redeploying" the units as they were not deployed in the first place.
Yup... Eldrad can only redeploy units already deployed on the table.
The DE Lady Malys' ability specifically states that you can place your unit into reserve.
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/03 19:17:44
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
If you want to redeploy a unit, it needs to have been deployed in the first place.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/04 03:36:02
Subject: Eldrad's Divination & Reserves
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Agreed. Placing a unit in Reserves is done instead of deploying it. Eldrad sadly doesn't let you do what Lady Malys does.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|