Switch Theme:

Combat reform to a smaller frontage?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




if i had a horde of ogres get charged in the front by any 5 wide cheap unit of goblins, skaven slaves, marauders, etc, could I reform to a 3 wide formation, or must I keep the 4 guys that were in contact there and be forced to do a 4x4ish reform? Also, could I reform and move a character in base with another character?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

This is the 40K forum.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




My understanding of the rules governing reforming a unit while in a combat is that no model that is already in base contact with an enemy model can be moved.

I could be totally wrong; don't have the rulebook at work with me.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






You are correct; models in base contact may not be removed from base contact during a reform. They can, however, be removed from base-to-base when a character "makes way" to a fighting rank, or if moved as part of a challenge.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





If you've maximized base contact properly, then 4 Ogres will be in B2B with a 5-wide unit of 20mm infantry like Skaven. Remember, the Ogre on one side that is only in contact diagonally is still in contact.

Now if external factors like terrain have prevented maximum contact between units, then it is perfectly legal for the models that are NOT in base contact to rank up behind the models that are... or even swing around to the other flank to get INTO combat, if there is room.

CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




ok, folks! thanks for the reply! It will help greatly with my scheming, muahahaha!
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: