Switch Theme:

Psychic Powers Usage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

Hi-

Found too many conflicting/confusing answers to this question, hoping someone can reference a specific BRB page or FAQ paragraph.

Situation: Blood Angels Libby w/ Epistolary upgrade comes down in drop pod, uses blood lance in HIS shooting phase. In his opponents assualt phase, he and his unit gets charged. He then uses Unleash Rage.

Is this legal? (basicaly, this is a "does-one-power-a-turn mean each players turn, or GAME turn?" question)




Automatically Appended Next Post:
Side note, does he even NEED the Epistolary upgrade to do this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 08:11:45


"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Ok, normal librarian is limited to 1 power per player turn, this included using his force weapon power.

The epistolary, master of the runes etc upgrades for psykers allows you to use a second power in that player turn.

That OP scenario is fine and yes he doesn't need the upgrade. If you want to use it all in the same player turn then you need the upgrade. Or if you want to use unleash rage and a force weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 11:42:11


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Psykers can normally use one psychic power per player turn (Rulebook p50; Codex: Blood Angels p46). Epistolaries can use two per turn.

Note that the term "turn" always means "player turn" (Rulebook p9; Rulebook FAQ p1), in case you ever come across another similar situation.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As noted, the rulebook makes clear (and the FAQ reiterates, for the unobservant) that by default "turn" means "player turn".

A BA Librarian can cast Blood Lance in his turn, and Unleash Rage in his opponent's, and that's just one power each turn, so the Epistolary upgrade would NOT be needed.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

Thanks for clarifying, and thanks to Cheexsta for the page references.

The issue arose at a game at my FLGS last weekend, and we could'nt seem to find the answer. (My libby didn't use his Unleash rage to keep the game moving, and got wiped)

Next time I'll know. Thanks!

"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: