Switch Theme:

Does the gun still shoot after gets hot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Does the gun still fires after gets hot?
No, if it's Hot!, it doesn't count
No, it doesn't count; however if it rapid fired, second hit counts
Yes, you get Hot!, but gun still fires

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in lt
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Lithuania

Hey there guys,

So we had this discussion about Gets Hot! rule.. People tend to agree (more or less) that after gets hot you can't allocate wound to other models, but does the weapon still shoot? We had many different opinions (all 3 of them) from experienced players.. So it had to come to this I didin't found this topic in dakka, but if I'm mistaken, please guide me where can I find clear answer to this.

Cheers,
Void

4000
700  
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Well since for plasma guns you are definitly not getting to shoot with the dice that come up for 1. That is your roll to hit. If you roll a 1 and a 6 then one shot hits and one Gets Hot!

With plasma cannons check the rulebook, don't have one to hand but I think it is mentioned.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 12:35:06


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






Well unless I'm mistaken the 'Get's Hot' rule takes effect when you roll a 1. As a 1 is an automatic miss you would fire no shot and take a wound. If you are rapid firing and you get a 1 and another number, say 4, the second shot would hit or miss depending on the BS of the model and the first one would cause a wound. It doesn't say the gun doesn't shoot, it just says the firing model takes a wound for each roll of a 1 with saves allowed.

Obviously this changes if the firing has BS 6 or higher (in which case they can reroll the 1 roll without taking a wound) or its a blast weapon (in which case you roll a D6 before iring to scatter and on a 1 it doesn't fire and the model takes a wound).

After all this the weapon can then fire again in the following turn (unless the bearer fails their armour save).
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

You don't really need a poll on this.

What happens when you roll a '1' with a gets hot! weapon is clearly covered on page 31.

It is different for infantry models and for vehicles, and the rule also goes on to say what happens with blast weapons and re-rolls.

So for infantry, vehicles, blast weapons and re-rolls, the correct answer is; no, no, no, maybe.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 13:53:58


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Gun on vehicle: No issue, you ignore the rule.

Non-blast/template weapon: The gun still fires. You will miss.

Blast weapon: The gun does NOT fire.

Template weapon: Not really covered in the rules. It appears that a template weapon with Gets Hot is immune to Gets Hot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 14:50:44


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

EDIT: Post removed after Grakmar's correction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 14:52:56


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

time wizard wrote:
Grakmar wrote:Yes, the gun still fires even if it gets hot. That shot will miss unless its a template or a blast weapon.


If you fire a gets hot! blast weapon, even though it may hit, you still have to roll. If you roll a 1 the weapon does not fire.

Yup, I double-checked the rules after I wrote that ( ) and was busy editing when you replied.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Grakmar wrote:
Yup, I double-checked the rules after I wrote that ( ) and was busy editing when you replied.


Fair enough, I edited mine as well!

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

IT's not that simple. Rapid fire, assault and heavy weapons do not get any shots if they overheat, yet blast weapons do. Therefore a plasma cannon may still fire if it gets hot, but a plasma gun may not.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Scipio Africanus wrote:IT's not that simple. Rapid fire, assault and heavy weapons do not get any shots if they overheat, yet blast weapons do. Therefore a plasma cannon may still fire if it gets hot, but a plasma gun may not.

That's not true at all.

Having a Gets Hot result on one shot has no effect on other shots from the same weapon.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Scipio Africanus wrote:IT's not that simple. Rapid fire, assault and heavy weapons do not get any shots if they overheat, yet blast weapons do. Therefore a plasma cannon may still fire if it gets hot, but a plasma gun may not.


Main rules, page 31, Gets Hot! and blast weapons (qv), "If you roll a 1, the weapon gets hot, it does not fire..."

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in lt
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Lithuania

Its still not entirely clear to me..

Non-blast/template weapon: The gun still fires. You will miss.


So after rapid fire gets hot! BOTH shots fire?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 15:15:41


4000
700  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Mr. Voidness wrote:Its still not entirely clear to me..

Non-blast/template weapon: The gun still fires. You will miss.

So after rapid fire gets hot! BOTH shots fire?


If firing 2 shots with a gets hot weapon, you roll two dice.

If any 1 is rolled, that shot misses and you take a wound. If anything else is rolled, that shot proceeds as normal, either hitting or missing depending on the roll and BS.

Both shots will fire no matter what (so, if you have limited ammunition, it will use that up).

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Mr. Voidness wrote:
So after rapid fire gets hot! BOTH shots fire?


Rapid fire, fire 2 shots (if in range) roll 2 dice.

For each '1' rolled, that shot misses. ie needing say a '3' to hit:

Roll 1 and 3 - 1 misses, 3 hits.
Roll 3 and 6 - 3 hits, 6 hits
Roll 1 and 1 - both miss

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in lt
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Lithuania

Thank you. Silly me

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 15:24:59


4000
700  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: