Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 20:14:29
Subject: Trenches
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Do trenches affect movement in any way? Are they considered liniar objects?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 21:10:17
Subject: Trenches
|
 |
Rogue
|
The entery for Trenches in Prime and Primal does not describle them as being any sort of Obstacle never mind a Linear Obstacle, which I take it is what you meant when you wrote liniar object. The Trench is also not an Obstruction. They are just open terrain with some extra rules regarding Blast Damage and LoS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 21:34:29
Subject: Re:Trenches
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Just seems counter intuitive. But thank you
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 00:11:28
Subject: Trenches
|
 |
Rogue
|
Yeap, counter intuitive.
I too thought there would be a 0.5-1" cost to get in and out or at least out, when I first encountered trenches on a board.
Guess they did them shallow in the Iron Kingdoms.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 18:43:13
Subject: Trenches
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
dripwelquest wrote:Yeap, counter intuitive.
I too thought there would be a 0.5-1" cost to get in and out or at least out, when I first encountered trenches on a board.
Guess they did them shallow in the Iron Kingdoms.
Keep in mind you're always allowed to define a piece of terrain as having any qualities you like, so long as everyone in the game is fine with those pieces. You could easily define them as "Deep Trenches" and say it costs like 3" of movement to get over the edge or something. The rulebook is pretty clear that the terrain rules they provide are really only limited guidelines for the most common things and really don't cover a lot of terrain you'd want to use. So having a different variety of trench would be totally fine.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/18 18:44:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 20:01:57
Subject: Trenches
|
 |
Rogue
|
Chongara wrote:dripwelquest wrote:Yeap, counter intuitive.
I too thought there would be a 0.5-1" cost to get in and out or at least out, when I first encountered trenches on a board.
Guess they did them shallow in the Iron Kingdoms.
Keep in mind you're always allowed to define a piece of terrain as having any qualities you like, so long as everyone in the game is fine with those pieces. You could easily define them as "Deep Trenches" and say it costs like 3" of movement to get over the edge or something. The rulebook is pretty clear that the terrain rules they provide are really only limited guidelines for the most common things and really don't cover a lot of terrain you'd want to use. So having a different variety of trench would be totally fine.
Well, yes, you can change any rule any way you want with your partners agreement. That's sort of ubiquitous with the entre genre isn't it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 16:05:59
Subject: Trenches
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Well, yea and no. The rules say you can give any bit of terrain whatever effects you want it to have before the game. They don't say you can give say Warjacks whatever stats you want before the game. So changing what you want specific bits of terrain to do before the game is still playing Warmachine/Hordes. Changing anything else about the rules means you are playing a different game. Seems like a small distinction, but it does matter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|