Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 08:59:12
Subject: Orbital Strike and Fair Play
|
 |
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer
|
GK Codex: Can I use an OS on the first turn? The rules state the OS can't be used if the model moved in the previous turn, but as there was no previous turn, does setting up count as moving?
I have a regular opponent and, with the amount of games we play, fair play is very important. We don't always take difficult terrain tests, We've argued rules and come to fair conclusions to keep everything as equal as possible. But this one stuck in my craw. My opponent thinks it's fine to fire on the first turn. Sometimes I field three or more OS, so I want to be clear on this so I don't win by ignorantly cheating.
|
All praise the Omnissiah! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 09:12:13
Subject: Orbital Strike and Fair Play
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yes you can.
But you have mistaken when you talk about "previous turn".
OSR is talking about the "preceding movement phase" and OSR is used on your own Shooting phase.
This means it doesn't matter what turn it was, because turn
order is
1) Movement phase (can't move here if you want to use OSR)
2) Shooting phase (can only use OSR if you didn't move last phase)
3) Assault phase
So if it's turn 2, it doesn't matter if you moved during turn 1, as long as you haven't moved during turn 2 movement phase,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 09:31:29
Subject: Orbital Strike and Fair Play
|
 |
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer
|
Your right. I read it wrong.
|
All praise the Omnissiah! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 14:01:50
Subject: Orbital Strike and Fair Play
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Wherever the Emperor commands.
|
Luide wrote:Yes you can.
But you have mistaken when you talk about "previous turn".
OSR is talking about the "preceding movement phase" and OSR is used on your own Shooting phase.
This means it doesn't matter what turn it was, because turn
order is
1) Movement phase (can't move here if you want to use OSR)
2) Shooting phase (can only use OSR if you didn't move last phase)
3) Assault phase
So if it's turn 2, it doesn't matter if you moved during turn 1, as long as you haven't moved during turn 2 movement phase,
then... why not just make it a heavy weapon?
them adding this extra rule makes me think that you need to skip two movement phases to shoot it.
IIRC the OSR works the same way as the SM chapter master's OB
i think you need to at least wait untill turn two to shoot the OSR
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/20 14:13:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 14:03:18
Subject: Orbital Strike and Fair Play
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
If it was a heavy weapon, then a model in Terminator Armor could still shoot it after moving. They want to make sure nothing moves when the OSR is triggered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 14:15:47
Subject: Orbital Strike and Fair Play
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
It's like an Ordinance weapon but you don't have to be a vehicle to carry it.
The more logical solution would to update the Ordinance weapon rules to be a general weapon rule rather than vehicle specific.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/20 14:16:34
Tau and Space Wolves since 5th Edition. |
|
 |
 |
|