Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/24 09:41:26
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire
|
Edited for answered by BGB ... thread unnecessary. Thanks!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/24 09:43:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/25 19:36:43
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
|
I would like to know the ruling! if you don't mind.
|
Space marines
:tyranid: Tyranid
and a smattering of chaos |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/25 19:57:32
Subject: Re:Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire
|
In the Universal Special Rules section, it states that units with infiltrate do NOT confer the ability to a vehicle they are embarked in. I wanted outflanking Eldar Waveserpents
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/25 20:01:24
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
If the unit with infiltrate is in a Dedicated Transport, the unit and the vehicle may outflank.
any non dedicated transports can not though, not sure what wave serpents are.
P.94 for outflank rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/25 20:02:13
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
|
Wait it does say if a unit with outflank has a D/transport it can outflank embarked in it. NINJA'D!!!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/25 20:02:37
For the Emperor, our Primark, Death to the UnClean
Grey Knights, making armies run off the board since the new Codex
"Enemies of the Imperium, hear me. You have come here to die. The Immortal Emperor is with us and we are invincible. His soldiers will strike you down. His war machines will crush you under their treads. His mighty guns will bring the very sky crashing down upon you. You cannot win. The Emperor has given us his greatest weapon to wield. So make yourselves ready. We are the First Kronus Regiment, and today is our Victory Day."
– address to enemy forces in Victory Bay |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/25 20:03:49
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
|
that's awesome MUST TELL ELDAR FRIEND
|
Space marines
:tyranid: Tyranid
and a smattering of chaos |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/27 18:06:18
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire
|
No, my point ... it differs from Infiltrate and Scout.
Eldar don't have any units that can take a dedicated transport with Scout, but they do with infiltrate.
P. 75, under Infiltrate: "If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate." :-(
However, P. 76, under Scouts: "If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a DEDICATED transport vehicle, it confers eh scout ability to the transport, too."
Both abilities provide outflank; however, Eldar have no units with scout that can take a dedicated transport. (Rangers cannot have Waveserpents)
Waaaaaah! Automatically Appended Next Post: Wait, it does say on p94 that "Note if such units are picked from their army list together with a dedicated transport, they may outflank with their transport,but if they do so they must move onto the table embarked in it."
Sooooo..... which rule takes presidence? Striking Scorpions have can have Infiltrate; they do not confer Infiltrate to their dedicated transports. However, Striking Scorpions gain the ability to outflank from having infiltrate, and outflank is conferred to transports if the unit inside CHOOSES to outflank.
"If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate. Infiltrate also confers a special outflank move to units of infiltrators that are kept in reserve."
The way I read all of this, I think a Wave Serpent with Striking Scorpions (with proper upgrade giving infiltrators) may outflank. Thoughts? Help!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/27 18:13:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/27 18:58:37
Subject: Re:Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
p75 prevents Infiltrate from being conferred onto transports, but p94 provides an exemption for dedicated transports.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/27 23:04:11
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The Wave Serpent with Striking Scorpions would not be able to be deployed via the Infiltrate rules.
You would be able to put them in reserves and outflank them in their Dedicated Transport or deploy them normally at the beginning of the game.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 01:15:45
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You can't infiltrate in it. You can outflank in it.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 03:21:33
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire
|
Awesome! 1-3 outflanking Wave Serpents sounds fun. Scatterlasers, Emls to back armor anyone? Toss in an Autarch with a meltagun and even more fun shenanigans!
Good thing I just assembled and basecoated 10 striking scorpions. 1 more use for that unit!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 03:42:27
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
evildrspock wrote:Awesome! 1-3 outflanking Wave Serpents sounds fun. Scatterlasers, Emls to back armor anyone? Toss in an Autarch with a meltagun and even more fun shenanigans!
Good thing I just assembled and basecoated 10 striking scorpions. 1 more use for that unit!
Well Side armor, but yes it is legal to have them outflank.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 06:23:52
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
evildrspock wrote:Awesome! 1-3 outflanking Wave Serpents sounds fun. Scatterlasers, Emls to back armor anyone? Toss in an Autarch with a meltagun and even more fun shenanigans!
Good thing I just assembled and basecoated 10 striking scorpions. 1 more use for that unit!
What I wouldn't give for an 'assault-vehicle' wave serpent.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 10:33:54
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I don't think you can outflank with an Autarch attached, the power specidfies it cannot affect an autarch.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 04:36:52
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire
|
The Autarch may not infiltrate with the Scorpions as per the codex, but Outflanking is not Infiltrating, so I think its ok? The codex was written before outflanking was in existence.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 10:04:06
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Actually, let me ask in general. Can a unit that can Outflank (however it may be) still outflank, if an IC is attached who cannot outflank?
I know that in order to DS the whole unit must be able to DS, does this apply to outflanking as well?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 12:17:00
Subject: Re:Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
A unit with infiltrate cannot grant that ability (or outflank) to an IC/Autarch.
But a unit with infiltrate, even with an IC/Autarch, can grant the outflank ability to a dedicated transport.
And a vehicle that can outflank can do so even if the units inside it normally can not. (Valkyrie/Vendetta)
So a unit of Striking Scorpions with an IC/Autarch cannot outflank on foot, but can do so with a dedicated transport.
That is how I see the rules working out.
|
Alone in the warp. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 12:32:45
Subject: Re:Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Dannyevilguy wrote:A unit with infiltrate cannot grant that ability (or outflank) to an IC/Autarch.
But a unit with infiltrate, even with an IC/Autarch, can grant the outflank ability to a dedicated transport.
And a vehicle that can outflank can do so even if the units inside it normally can not. (Valkyrie/Vendetta)
So a unit of Striking Scorpions with an IC/Autarch cannot outflank on foot, but can do so with a dedicated transport.
That is how I see the rules working out.
Except they outflank with their transport, at no point is the ability 'granted' to the vehicle.
The transport doesn't gain scout/infiltrate/outflank, it's mearly allowed to deploy with them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 13:37:38
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
What grendel said. The transport does not gain an ability, it is merely allowed to use the unit's ability to outflank. So no IC unless that IC also has Scouts or Infiltrate.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 14:59:13
Subject: Unit with Infiltrate in Dedicated Transport can outflank?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1, The transport never gains the special rule. There is a rulebook rule that if a squad has Infiltrate or Scouts, they can Outflank WITH their transport.
2. Infiltrate has an *, which means it's lost by a unit if they're joined by an IC who doesn't have it. You attach characters during deployment, which is the same time at which you would declare that a unit is Outflanking. So if you attach a character who doesn't have the ability, the unit will lose its eligibility to Outflank.
3. Autarch powers in general apply to the squad AND to any attached Autarch (see p21 of C:E). HOWEVER, Shadowstrike, the Striking Scorpion power which grants the squad Infiltrate, specifically says it doesn't apply to an Autarch joining the squad. So he ruins it for the rest of them.
As long as the squad's exarch has Shadowstrike, and there is no Autarch attached, they have Infiltrate, and can Outflank in a transport.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|