| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/24 13:30:49
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Fate-Controlling Farseer
|
Didn't see anything on this recently, so I just wanted to make sure I was up to speed on Teclis. Three points below, am I right or wrong.
- Teclis casts irresistably on any doubles, doesn't need the succesfuly cast.
- Teclis knows the 6 spells, but is not a loremaster, so does not know the signature
- Teclis chooses his lore after Deployment, not at army list creation
Thanks for the help.
|
Full Frontal Nerdity |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/24 14:26:27
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
djones520 wrote:- Teclis casts irresistably on any doubles, doesn't need the succesfuly cast.
Wrong, his rule says the cast must have doubles and be succsesfull, so he must meet the value.
djones520 wrote:- Teclis knows the 6 spells, but is not a loremaster, so does not know the signature
Oddly enough yes, currently.
djones520 wrote:- Teclis chooses his lore after Deployment, not at army list creation
Yup, his rule is more specific and thus overrules the normal rule.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/24 14:33:24
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Auspicious Skink Shaman
|
In other words, Teclis is kinda broken. Lol.
|
Skaven: 3000 pts
Daemons: 3000 pts
Lizardmen: 4000 pts
Rohan: 2000 pts
Retribution: 70 pts (1-2-1 so far)
Jesus: check
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/24 15:01:09
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Yes, when only one magic deffence in one army has a better than 0% chance of stopping you, you become kinda broken.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/24 15:01:33
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/24 15:30:10
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Assault Kommando
|
HoverBoy wrote:djones520 wrote:- Teclis knows the 6 spells, but is not a loremaster, so does not know the signature
Oddly enough yes, currently.
Remember that you may switch one of the spells for the signature after he chooses his lore.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 13:25:42
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
djones520 wrote:
- Teclis casts irresistably on any doubles, doesn't need the succesfuly cast.
Wrong, his rule says the cast must have doubles and be succsesfull, so he must meet the value.
Just to clear this up it means it has to be successfully cast to count as irresistable. This means you must meet the casting value AND your opponent must fail in his dispell attempt. The rulebook defines a spell as successfully cast after dispell attempts.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 15:17:34
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Assault Kommando
|
FlingitNow wrote:djones520 wrote:
- Teclis casts irresistably on any doubles, doesn't need the succesfuly cast.
Wrong, his rule says the cast must have doubles and be succsesfull, so he must meet the value.
Just to clear this up it means it has to be successfully cast to count as irresistable. This means you must meet the casting value AND your opponent must fail in his dispell attempt. The rulebook defines a spell as successfully cast after dispell attempts.
Not exactly. The HE Faq states:
Page 66 β Teclis, High Loremaster
Change the last paragraph to βIn addition, any spell cast by
Teclis will be cast with irresistible force on any successful
casting roll that is a double, however it will only be considered
a miscast if the roll includes a double 6.β
This means that the dice used to cast the spell will cause an irresistible force if the total is greater than the casting value and it includes a double. There is a difference between successfully cast and successful casting roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 20:42:05
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hellstorm wrote:HoverBoy wrote:djones520 wrote:- Teclis knows the 6 spells, but is not a loremaster, so does not know the signature
Oddly enough yes, currently.
Remember that you may switch one of the spells for the signature after he chooses his lore.
You can swap a spell if you roll for spells.
"...a Wizard can always choose to substittue one of the spells he rolls with the signature spell..."
He never rolled for spells.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 00:10:45
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
Payson Utah, USA
|
FlingitNow wrote:djones520 wrote:
- Teclis casts irresistably on any doubles, doesn't need the succesfuly cast.
Wrong, his rule says the cast must have doubles and be succsesfull, so he must meet the value.
Just to clear this up it means it has to be successfully cast to count as irresistable. This means you must meet the casting value AND your opponent must fail in his dispell attempt. The rulebook defines a spell as successfully cast after dispell attempts.
USE LOGIC DUDE. If what you said were true, then Teclis' power would be the most useless thing ever. You were given the ability to reason, use it.
|
I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.
KI-YI
Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!
GO UTES!!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/30 09:46:05
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Easy now. He was just asking and not everyone is familiar with all the rules.
But yeah, if it also had to withspell dispell to be considered IF it would basically do nothing. Because all spells are IF (without miscast) if no one dispells them. IF means you can't dispel.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/04 02:47:57
Subject: Teclis Clarification
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Bro read the faq, its on the website, clears up just about every question you have.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|