Switch Theme:

Empire detachments taking impact hits  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ground Crew




New York

I saw this posted over on the warhammer empire forums so I wanted dakka's input on the matter.

Page 71 of the rule book "If the model with impact hits is itself charged, or is fighting a second or subsequent round of combat, then this rule gives no benefit"

Page 30 of our army book under counter charge last paragraph " The enemy does not get to make any charge reactions against a counter charge, but otherwise all the normal charging rules and bonuses apply"

Does this mean a detachment immediately counter-charging say a chariot would negate all its impact hits? Cheesy no doubt and I hope we get an answer one way or the other when the faq eventually comes out, but in the meantime what say you Dakka?
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I suspect that it means if the chariot is charged it would not inflict impact hits on the charger. Since a detachment is not technically charging but counter charging the chariot will probably still get it's impact hits on the main unit. Hopefully an FAQ will clear this up.
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Sounds like no impacts on the detachment. But it still charged the main unit.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Duke_Corwin wrote:I suspect that it means if the chariot is charged it would not inflict impact hits on the charger

^ All dukes are smart.

"This move is made after your opponent has moved all of his charging units..." The charge still happens. You've DECLARED a charge, but the enemy gets to actually move, complete a charge and impact. He has not been charged before that time. They don't slow down or take the spikes off their charriots just because you're puffing yourself up and saying "Get ready to charge!"

   
Made in us
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos






Lake Forest, California, South Orange County

DukeRustfield wrote: They don't slow down or take the spikes off their charriots just because you're puffing yourself up and saying "Get ready to charge!"


This visual made me lol.

"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: