| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 07:27:27
Subject: A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yes it's me again xD Trying to get this all clarified as in my circle I try to be the rules lawyer to a point and do not want to be giving misinformation that people argue about the books true meaning. My questions are as follows
1 - Am I correct to assume that if I use a Heavy Warjack for example, it can only boost either it's attack roll OR it's damage roll. Not both on the same attack correct? Providing it has enough focus.
2 - That brings me to fury, according to this links wording (as I don't have Primal MK2 yet and won't until my order this weekend) http://teamcovenant.com/doctormungmung/2012/04/02/the-warcasters-dilemma-focus-vs-fury/ that fury allows you to boost both attack AND damage rolls to get 2 boosted chances on that one attack or more if you have the fury.
Am I understanding this correctly?
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 07:52:32
Subject: Re:A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Squatting with the squigs
|
in regard to warjacks you can boost both if you have enough focus, but only 1 boost per focus.
I havent read the hordes book yet but i would say it is exactly the same mechanic, 1 boost per focus/fury, boost as much as you want till you run out, but only 1 boost per attack roll and 1 boost per damage roll.
boost is a weird looking word...or maybe it's just me
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/26 07:53:30
My new blog: http://kardoorkapers.blogspot.com.au/
Manchu - "But so what? The Bible also says the flood destroyed the world. You only need an allegorical boat to tackle an allegorical flood."
Shespits "Anything i see with YOLO has half naked eleventeen year olds Girls. And of course booze and drugs and more half naked elventeen yearolds Girls. O how i wish to YOLO again!"
Rubiksnoob "Next you'll say driving a stick with a Scandinavian supermodel on your lap while ripping a bong impairs your driving. And you know what, I'M NOT GOING TO STOP, YOU FILTHY COMMUNIST" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 08:00:22
Subject: A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Okay then, because the rulebook says attack OR damage and I see that "or" operator meaning either one but not both. Then from what I've read Hordes has the "and" operator indicating both. I just hope I haven't been playing it wrong! Thanks for correcting me on the first half Bullockist!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 08:05:54
Subject: A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
The Faye
|
It's 1 fury to boost 1 attack roll, it's 1 fury to boost 1 damage roll. This can be done as many times in a warbeast/warlocks activation as there are available fury point on the warlock or free on a warbeast.
Same for Focus, 1 focus to boost 1 attack roll, it's 1 focus to boost 1 damage roll. This can be done as many times in the warjack/warcasters activation as there are focus points available on the warcaster or warjack.
|
We love what we love. Reason does not enter into it. In many ways, unwise love is the truest love. Anyone can love a thing because. That's as easy as putting a penny in your pocket. But to love something despite. To know the flaws and love them too. That is rare and pure and perfect.
Chaos Knights: 2000 PTS
Thousand Sons: 2000 PTS - In Progress
Tyranids: 2000 PTS
Adeptus Mechanicus: 2000 PTS
Adeptus Custodes: 2000 PTS - In Progress |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 08:13:08
Subject: A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks guys! I asked in PP's forum as well but I appreciate he quick responses
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 10:38:52
Subject: A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Skarekrow wrote:Yes it's me again xD Trying to get this all clarified as in my circle I try to be the rules lawyer to a point and do not want to be giving misinformation that people argue about the books true meaning. My questions are as follows
1 - Am I correct to assume that if I use a Heavy Warjack for example, it can only boost either it's attack roll OR it's damage roll. Not both on the same attack correct? Providing it has enough focus.
2 - That brings me to fury, according to this links wording (as I don't have Primal MK2 yet and won't until my order this weekend) http://teamcovenant.com/doctormungmung/2012/04/02/the-warcasters-dilemma-focus-vs-fury/ that fury allows you to boost both attack AND damage rolls to get 2 boosted chances on that one attack or more if you have the fury.
Am I understanding this correctly?
Thanks!
nope. you're misreading it. they write it the way they do as spending one focus will not boost your attack roll AND your damage roll, outside of special rules like powerful shot. . spending a focus/generating a fury for the purpose of a boost is very much a case of 1 focus/fury per boost for your attack roll and 1 focus/fury for your damage roll. outside of the previously mentioned powerful shot or other spells/feats/buffs, it will cost you 2 focus/fury to boost both the attack roll, and the damage roll of any particular attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 18:10:04
Subject: A Question about Focus AND Fury.
|
 |
Crafty Bray Shaman
NOVA
|
The main thing to remember is that each roll can only be boosted once. Anything that has "additional" dice can stack, but you only ever receive one "boost".
I think that may have been contributing to the confusion.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|