Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 22:04:32
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Yep. Searched first. MAssive crap-load of related stuff, but not this specifically.
Established stuff we agree on:
1. Chrono can be used once per phase.
2. Phases are - Movement. Shooting. Assault.
3. The Chrono can be used in the enemy's M, S & A, too.
4. Rule Book states there are 3 phases per Turn, M, S & A.
Got it. No Problem. Here's the problem:
Fran decides to reroll the Imo Storm at the beginning of Turn 2 because the first die came up '1'. She does the reroll and it's lights out for now (not important). Then Bob, her opponent, proceeds to start moving his units as it's his Turn. He tank rams one of Fran's Ghost Arks, in which the cryptek is embarked. She misses the Skimmer's Dodge roll.
Can she use the Chrono's reroll for the dodge or has the roll been used for Night-fighting? Or maybe a re-roll on Morale for a unit if it got Tank Shocked.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 22:15:06
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
No, as "the start of the turn" is still part of the Movement phase. Chrono was already used during the current Movement phase.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 22:21:10
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
And furthermore how could she ever use that chrono re-roll for a vehicle's dodge roll?!
That re-roll is strictly for the cryptek and his unit. Not the unit's transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 22:31:33
Subject: Re:Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
Also, just for clarity, Imotekh must be joined to the unit with the Chronometron in order to benefit from it. You didn't say he wasn't, but...
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 22:54:41
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
copper.talos wrote:And furthermore how could she ever use that chrono re-roll for a vehicle's dodge roll?!
That re-roll is strictly for the cryptek and his unit. Not the unit's transport.
It's a stretch on my part ... I was just looking for a re-rollable situation in the enemy's phase, like a Morale Check for Tank Shock.
To make things clearer, I'm not hunting for Easter eggs. I don't play 'Crons. My opponents do.
This was just an instance that came up against a Necron opponent. Automatically Appended Next Post: ToBeWilly wrote:Also, just for clarity, Imotekh must be joined to the unit with the Chronometron in order to benefit from it. You didn't say he wasn't, but...
Sorry. I posted with the assumption that Imo & Chrono-tek would be in the same unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/28 22:56:02
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/28 23:03:55
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
As above; the start of the turn is the same thing as the beginning of the movement phase.
Note also that a 2d6 roll (like Morale) is a different thing from a d6 roll; a Chronometron only allows you to re-roll the latter, not the former.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 02:31:50
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Mannahnin wrote:As above; the start of the turn is the same thing as the beginning of the movement phase.
Note also that a 2d6 roll (like Morale) is a different thing from a d6 roll; a Chronometron only allows you to re-roll the latter, not the former.
Good point!
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 02:37:35
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Except that I, among others, contend that a 2d6 roll, per the rule book, is two 1d6 rolls added together, and you can of course use chronometron on a 1d6 roll. Not trying to derail the thread, but that is a seperate rules issue with chronometron that features heavily.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/29 02:38:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 03:17:20
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
DevianID wrote:Except that I, among others, contend that a 2d6 roll, per the rule book, is two 1d6 rolls added together, and you can of course use chronometron on a 1d6 roll. Not trying to derail the thread, but that is a seperate rules issue with chronometron that features heavily.
So ... if I roll a 5 and a 6 for a Morale Check I fail. Then, per the Chrono, I can pick up one of them and reroll it?
I call shenanigans on that.
A 2d6 roll is not two d6 rolls.
Don't bother trying to convince me.
32 years of gaming (D&D basic!, Chainmail! Arduin Grimoire!) experience says no-way to your brand of ... well. I say 'no'.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 03:33:24
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
DON'T DO IT!!!
In all seriousness, question has been answered.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/29 03:34:27
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 03:53:43
Subject: Re:Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
So then Sezeras is able to reroll his augmentation effect if included with a Chronotek?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 03:59:49
Subject: Re:Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
NecronLord3 wrote:So then Sezeras is able to reroll his augmentation effect if included with a Chronotek?
Szeras roll happens before deployment, which means, he could not be in a unit with an attached Cryptek in order to benefit from it's Chronometron. So, no Szeras could not.
If you were, in fact, being serious, which I don't think you were, but answered anyways.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 04:00:09
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Kitzz wrote:In all seriousness, question has been answered.
How can you post a pic of Mr. Wilder as Charlie and then write, "In all seriousness" ?
I got a DVD of Young /fronk-en-schteen/ that says you can't do that.
But, yes, I agree. Q has been answered.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 04:01:25
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Edit: Please excuse this post, it is wrong. Everything about it was wrong, and you are wrong for reading it. Please, look away, or the things you type may turn out to be wrong as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/29 04:14:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 04:07:17
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
McNinja wrote:Yes, Szeras may re-roll the aug roll.
I do not believe he can. The Mechanical Augmentation roll happens before deployment, which means Szeras would not be in a unit that has an attached Crytek with a Chronometron.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/29 04:13:03
Subject: Chronometeron & Start of Turn
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
ToBeWilly wrote:McNinja wrote:Yes, Szeras may re-roll the aug roll.
I do not believe he can. The Mechanical Augmentation roll happens before deployment, which means Szeras would not be in a unit that has an attached Crytek with a Chronometron.
You are correct, I am wrong. I totally forgot when Szeras rolls for the Augs, so, as the roll happens before deployment, the Augmentation roll may not be re-rolled, as the roll doesn't happen in any phase.
|
|
 |
 |
|