Switch Theme:

Lords in borrowed CCBs?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut







Hey Dakka,

I have been working on a Zahndrekh/Imotekh list. One of its downsides is that there seems to be no way to do double CCB carnage to vehicles, because both named ones do not have warscythes and have other things to do in the list anyway.

So, it occurred to me that both can buy barges and then let them be occupied by little lords from the courts. So, we have:

Zahn + CCB
Imo + CCB
Imo court: lord with scythe and chronotek
Zahn court: lord with scythe

Then the chronotek, Zahn and Imo join a unit, e.g. 10 immortals with blasters, which leaves each lord technically being each a squad of one, as each counts as a separate royal court. Therefore, they can embark on the barges and go slice some vehicles.

Note that even though the lords are smaller versions, they still have the scythes with the same 7+2d6 against pen roll, while the number of sweeping attacks is determined by the speed of the CCB, not its passenger. So, this is a great way to get the 2x CCB on the cheap and still have the named guys!

I see nothing in the rules preventing this list/strategy. Am I right it is legit?



Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ah, crud. I double-checked the codex. The CCB rules say it can only transport independent characters. While a little lord by himself is still a character and alone, technically he is not an independent character.

Ah, well, back to the drawing board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/28 23:57:46


5k 5k 6k
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high

Well, the thing is you can't use symbiotic repair to keep the barge moving is all. Yes, i suppose that would, but they'd be much more fragile.

Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts

MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





United States

No. You may only transport Independent Characters in them. Obyron would fit the bill, though he cannot start out in one. Lords in a Royal Court are not Independent Characters, they are simply Infantry (Characters), basically upgrade characters for any unit they are attached to.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K Army Lists
Go to: