| Author | Message | 
				
|  | 
|  | 
|  | 
| Advert | 
 
 | Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you: 
 If you are already a member then feel free to login now.No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
 Times and dates in your local timezone.
 Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
 Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
 Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
 | 
 
 
 
 
 | 
				 
				
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:02:07
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Furious Raptor
 
 
 
 
	
	
	
 Gothenburg, Sweden
 
 
 | 
									In the rulebook it says firing ordnance weapons require  the full attention of all the crew, not even defensive weapons may be fired. But in the walker section it clearly states that walkers can move and may still fire all of their weapons. Since the Defiler is a walker and has a barrage weapon, battlecannon it should be allowed to fire it´s full weaponry including ordnance?
							 | 
						
							| 
 Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon!  | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:03:42
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Loyal Necron Lychguard
 
 
 
 
 | 
									I believe that ordnance is more specific than the walker rule so it would still not be able to fire other weapons other than the ordnance weapon.  
							 | 
						
							| This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/05/03 21:41:37 
   | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:03:56
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Powerful Phoenix Lord
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Walkers can fire all weapons if they move (general).Ordinance cannot be fired if the model moves at all (specific).
 Some models have special rules that bypass this restriction (i.e. Lumbering Behemoth). (more specific)
 
 Specific trumps general.
 | 
						
							| This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/03 21:10:01 
 Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
 Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia
 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:04:18
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Fixture of Dakka
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Luusormi wrote:In the rulebook it says firing ordnance weapons require  the full attention of all the crew, not even defensive weapons may be fired. But in the walker section it clearly states that walkers can move and may still fire all of their weapons. Since the Defiler is a walker and has a barrage weapon, battlecannon it should be allowed to fire it´s full weaponry including ordnance?
  Nope. Ordnance applies to all vehicles, including Walkers.
							 | 
						
							| 
 BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
 
 BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant?
 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:06:55
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Loyal Necron Lychguard
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Happyjew wrote:Walkers can fire all weapons if they move (general).
Ordinance cannot be fired if the model moves at all (specific).
 Some models have special rules that bypass this restriction (i.e. Lumbering Behemoth). (more specific)
 
 Specific trumps general.
 
 Edited to add:
 Kevin, the monolith has a special rue that says it counts as stationary when firing weapons. That means if it fires an ordnance weapon, it counts as having been stationary. However, they do not have permission to fire any additional weapons if they fire ordnance.
  Ya, I know, I edited my post.  Was getting confused in my 3 pound head cavity.  I was confusing the rule of firing the whip after deep striking.  My fault.
							 | 
						
							| This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/03 21:07:31 
   | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:10:26
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Powerful Phoenix Lord
 
 
 
 
 | 
									I added that before the you edited it out. I've now un-edited my original post.
							 | 
						
							| 
 Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
 Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia
 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:13:17
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Loyal Necron Lychguard
 
 
 
 
 | 
									LoLHappyjew wrote:I added that before the you edited it out. I've now un-edited my original post.
  I saw, but no worries, you were still right.  Haha.      | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:19:25
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Happyjew wrote:Walkers can fire all weapons if they move (general).
Ordinance cannot be fired if the model moves at all (specific).
 Some models have special rules that bypass this restriction (i.e. Lumbering Behemoth). (more specific)
 
 Specific trumps general.
  Sorry to be picky, ordnance barrage  weapons can't be used if the model moves, standard Ordnance weapons can be fired on the move (but no other weapons). 
							 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:26:19
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Powerful Phoenix Lord
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Good call, forgot that it was Ordnance barrage that cannot be fired if moving. Yes a walker with an ordnance weapon can fire it, however cannot fire any other weapons.
							 | 
						
							| 
 Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
 Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia
 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:26:21
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Heroic Senior Officer
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Luusormi wrote:In the rulebook it says firing ordnance weapons require  the full attention of all the crew, not even defensive weapons may be fired. But in the walker section it clearly states that walkers can move and may still fire all of their weapons. Since the Defiler is a walker and has a barrage weapon, battlecannon it should be allowed to fire it´s full weaponry including ordnance?
  Point the first. The Defiler does not have a Barrage weapon, it has a direct fire Ordnance weapon.
  Point the second, there is no restriction against moving and firing direct fire Ordnance. 
  Point the third, there is a restriction against firing any additional weapons while firing ordnance. 
 
  Conclusion. A walker can move and fire Ordnance but may not fire any other weapons. 
 
  And for Grendel, Ordnance Barrage weapons cannot be fired if the vehicle moves unless the vehicle is a Fast vehicle and moves 6" or less. 
							 | 
						
							| 
 Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
 Northern VA/Southern MD
 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 21:43:04
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Loyal Necron Lychguard
 
 
 
 
 | 
									don_mondo wrote:Luusormi wrote:In the rulebook it says firing ordnance weapons require  the full attention of all the crew, not even defensive weapons may be fired. But in the walker section it clearly states that walkers can move and may still fire all of their weapons. Since the Defiler is a walker and has a barrage weapon, battlecannon it should be allowed to fire it´s full weaponry including ordnance?
  Point the first. The Defiler does not have a Barrage weapon, it has a direct fire Ordnance weapon.
  Point the second, there is no restriction against moving and firing direct fire Ordnance. 
  Point the third, there is a restriction against firing any additional weapons while firing ordnance. 
 
  Conclusion. A walker can move and fire Ordnance but may not fire any other weapons. 
 
  And for Grendel, Ordnance Barrage weapons cannot be fired if the vehicle moves unless the vehicle is a Fast vehicle and moves 6" or less. 
  Did it lose the barrage aspect in the new codex or something?  My buddy uses a defiler all the time and fires it as barrage, but he doesn't have the new dex.
							 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 22:17:08
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Decrepit Dakkanaut
 
 
 
	
	
	
 
 
 | 
									Yes, it is no longer a sit back and shoot gun platform - no barrage
							 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 23:06:07
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Loyal Necron Lychguard
 
 
 
 
 | 
									nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, it is no longer a sit back and shoot gun platform - no barrage
  Hmm...bummer for them then.  No wonder he doesn't want the new dex.
							 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/03 23:07:55
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Dakka Veteran
 
 
 
	
	
	
 
 
 | 
									Well the new dex will soon be the old dex, so he may as well hang on a bit and jump straight  to the 6E dex when it comes out.
							 | 
						
							| This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/03 23:08:20 
   | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
	
					
						|  | 
					
						| 
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/05/04 00:33:39
	     Subject: Firing ordnance from walkers | 
					|  | 
					
						
						|   Frenzied Berserker Terminator
 
 
 
 
 | 
									Luusormi wrote:In the rulebook it says firing ordnance weapons require  the full attention of all the crew, not even defensive weapons may be fired. But in the walker section it clearly states that walkers can move and may still fire all of their weapons. Since the Defiler is a walker and has a barrage weapon, battlecannon it should be allowed to fire it´s full weaponry including ordnance?
  Walkers can move and fire their weapons...but look at the rest of the sentence (p72): "just like a stationary vehicle." This is also the same rule that allows walkers to fire on the turn they deep strike, while ordinary vehicles cannot.
 
  A stationary vehicle still can't fire Ordnance at the same time as other weapons, so neither can a walker.
							 | 
		
					 
						|  | 
					
						|  | 
		
				
		
				|  | 
				
					|  |