Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/10 21:57:09
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
On a tactic forum I was pointed towards using a librarian which has now brought up a couple of questions.
1. if a libby can normally use 1 psychic power, does having a force weapon automatically allow 2 psychic powers (3 if Epistolary)
2. how does Null zone (re-roll successful invuls) work with Fateweaver(re-roll failed saves)
ta
|
4000
2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/10 22:10:57
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Nope, if you use a power in the movement phase, assault someone later on, you cannot use another power unless you have epistolary. Making use of the force weapon counts towards your maximum use of power, the additional power is the force weapon psychic attack. You need to wait for the second round of combat to get your next chance to use a power as that is a new turn.
Pg 50: Force weapons box.
The normal rules for using
psychic powers apply (remember that a psyker
may normally use only one power per turn).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/10 22:11:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/10 22:12:37
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
#1 the force weapon only allows access to a different Psychic power. you can still only use one power per turn, (2 if Epistolary)
#2, if you are under Null zone and Fateweaver, you roll all the dice, then re-roll the successful ones because of Null zone, and re-roll the failed ones because of Fateweaver. (Not sure how this is confusing.)
Alternately you could just roll once to save time, as the odds are the same if you roll once and keep the results, or roll once, ignore the first result and re-roll all of the dice. (The FaQ says this as well).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/10 22:21:25
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
DeathReaper wrote:#1 the force weapon only allows access to a different Psychic power. you can still only use one power per turn, (2 if Epistolary)
#2, if you are under Null zone and Fateweaver, you roll all the dice, then re-roll the successful ones because of Null zone, and re-roll the failed ones because of Fateweaver. (Not sure how this is confusing.)
Alternately you could just roll once to save time, as the odds are the same if you roll once and keep the results, or roll once, ignore the first result and re-roll all of the dice. (The FaQ says this as well).
Yep, the FAQ says just roll them once and be done with it.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/10 22:28:07
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
K a quick re-read of page 50 means in the below examples my libby could either. And again im new so grit your teeth.
a:
1. Move normally
2. Use smite (ass kick a bit)
3. Assault and use force weapon = possibly ID someone
b:
1. Move normally
2. Use smite (ass kick a bit)
3. assault and not use force weapon because of 1. (epistolary would allow this or a different extra psychic power)
ta
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/10 22:28:36
4000
2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 00:04:12
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
B. Very clearly B. The rulebook specifically tells you that activating the Force Weapon counts as using a psychic power, and that your normal limits apply.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 07:23:39
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
k last one.
Using B can I still use the force weapon for the benefits of power weapon?
|
4000
2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 07:49:55
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Force weapons are power weapons at all times. They simply allow a psychic test for applying ID.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/11 07:50:08
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 08:12:20
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
grr wrote:k last one.
Using B can I still use the force weapon for the benefits of power weapon?
Do you own a copy of the rule book? This is spelled out fairly clear in the book, not to insult or anything but if you are using this forum as a substitute for a copy of the brb then you are going to end up getting more rules wrong the right.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 14:48:15
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
As brought up in another thread, what can you do in the opponent's assault phase?
Whatever you did in your own turn, can you still use the Force Weapon's power in their's?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 15:10:43
Subject: noob vanilla marine librarian.
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Whatever powers you have that can be activated in your opponents phases can be used in them.
So in an opponents assault phase I could cast SS, Might of Heroes or use my force weapon.
If I was a BA player I could cast sheild of sanguinius in the shooting phase to give me a save against your fire.
The rules usually state clearly when a power should be taking a psychic check and if they can be used in the opponents phases.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|