Switch Theme:

Skimmer movement question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

Morning, I will try to be as clear as I can. This example involved a Dark Eldar Razorwing.
This is turn 6 of a game of Orks vs Dark Eldar. Where the Razorwing is sitting in the Ork player deployment zone, its rear armor is facing the right table edge, the side is facing my table edge, sitting on a objective maker. There is a unit of grots hugging the table edge in front, within 3 of the objective, and a big mob of ork boys in front. Boys are spread out, so they are covering lots of room.

Dark Eldar player declares he will advance 3 inches into the boys, so his base covers both the boys and grots, then move 3 inches back to the exact same spot. His reasoning is by doing this, he will be able to drop a void bomb covering both units, and claim that his vehicles has moved 6 inches so he will only be hit on 6's. Reason: he is moved over a unit and moved back so this is allowed.

I indicated I did not agree for several reason: firstly he is moving his model where there is no room to places his base within his declared 3 inches, then hoping back. As a result he has not moved at all. There was also not enough room to move 6 inches, then move 6 inches back. Lastly, my thoughts were: if you could do that, then every skimmer in the game would never move if there was a threat of combat and simple declare "i moved 3, then 3 back."

End result. My opponent retracted. Skimmer got assaulted and destroyed.

Was I correct? Is movement of that type allowed? I know how tanks move normally, but this made no sense IE declaring a move / stop somewhere that the footprint of the vehicles does not fit, then declaring you moved? Just didn't sit right.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

It's legal by RAW.
The skimmer rules do not require that the model move any minimum distance to have "moved" and the skimmer can indeed move over friendly or enemy models, but may not stop on top of either.
OTOH, turbo-boosting reqires a minimum movement distance.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




He can move X" forward and X" back and drop the voidbomb on a model under that path, but in the end he would count as not having moved at all and it would be hit automatically in the next assault phase.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Correct, fot the assault the actual distance traveled from the original position is used.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Agreed. i am pretty sure i read somewhere that the kind of movement descirbed above is perfectly legal, but does nothgin for as the vehicle will not count as having moved.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





copper.talos wrote:He can move X" forward and X" back and drop the voidbomb on a model under that path, but in the end he would count as not having moved at all and it would be hit automatically in the next assault phase.

He'd count as moving for whatever shooting he was going to do, but otherwise 100% correct.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Very true.
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






But if he moved forward 3" then back 3" and ended 1 mm to the side of where he started, he'd be hit on a 4+ in assault, correct?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





racta wrote:But if he moved forward 3" then back 3" and ended 1 mm to the side of where he started, he'd be hit on a 4+ in assault, correct?

Yes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

racta wrote:But if he moved forward 3" then back 3" and ended 1 mm to the side of where he started, he'd be hit on a 4+ in assault, correct?


Yes, because in that case he would have moved at combat speed.

But in the OPs question, the DE player was simply declaring that the skimmer moved and was not actually moving the model. So in that case it would have ended up exactly where it started, so the actual distance traveled would be 0" and it would be auto hit.

Also, note to njpc, your post said he was declaring that he was moving 3" forward and 3" bck. A 6" move would allow the skimmer to be hit on 4+. To be hit on a 6, it would have to move at cruising speed, which is more than 6".

But as I said above, in your post his skimmer didn't actually move any distance at all, so the point is moot, he would be auto-hit in assault.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

to be clear: he was boxed in, so he wanted to move 3 up, 3 back to the exact same point of origin. So the actual movement would have been 0.

We were trying to figure it out as it had never really come up before. There was nothing shifty being done, just something odd that we hadn't seen and were trying to work it out to know how to handle it moving forward.

I am in agreeing with the if he can position so he technically has "moved" when coming back, then his on 4+, otherwise auto hit. I would be ok with the bombs dropping too on model he passed over.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/14 13:39:13


Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: