Switch Theme:

CSM DP + Black Mace + Combat Familiar  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 hyv3mynd wrote:
Smash doesn't set ap to 2. It resolves all attacks at ap2. Even if its normally ap- there is no conflict so pg7 does not apply.

Just like snap shots resolve at bs1 even if a model has bs7. If you're claiming this is a conflict then every model in a codex resolves snap shots at regular bs.

This was the other tack we tried to convince Fling, but then you get accused of having a "magic" "set modifier" and are condescended to.

THis thread should probably get a lock - its literally one person arguing the you can modify a characteristic that hasnt been generated yet.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





You would follow the rules as written. As you just described, it would make Combat Familiar very powerful by simply giving +2 attack, but still be well within the rules of 6e.

My assertion is that in order for something to be a modifier, if mode first declare what it is modifying. Combat Familiar only says use itself. Thus it can't be a modifier but a profile.

If Combat Familiar read:
"Two additional attacks resolved at S4 AP-" there would be no question. It would define itself as being the last operation. However, it defines itself as a profile, a first or primary operation.


It says 2 additional attacks these would be resolved at the normal S & AP of the melee weapon if not modified to S4 AP-. I'm not convinced at all that the "resolved at" wording would change how the rule works at all. Maybe I'm not fully understanding your point. Please expand why you think modifying the S & AP of the attacks would only be modifying them if using the resolved at language.

If it is a profile. What type of profile is it? If a weapon profile why is it missing information? Also if it is a weapon profile how do you resolve pg51 which tells you that you must choose which weapon profile to use. If it is a different type of profile please tellme which ytype it is and where it is defined?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: